Name : Kris Hack

Age: 26

Where are you from: Dallas, TX

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc  

Kris Hack grew up in Texas and continues to reside there with her husband and their two furbabies, a chiweenie named Sara and a labrador-retriever named Max. She is a full time student hoping to get a degree to help her with her writing career.

As an adult she became an avid reader and always seemed to have her own story to tell. She always had a knack for the creative side and found an outlet she loved in writing. Finally, she took the leap and wrote, and wrote, and wrote, until she laid her heart and soul into writing and told her story.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

Kris: Book two will be releasing November 17! YAY


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I began writing a few years ago. I got stuck in a reading rut, you know the kind, we all have them. I couldn’t find the book I wanted to read based off of the mood I was in so I decided to write the book I wanted to read and it was terrible. Worst thing I ever read but I loved the experience and the outlet so I kept writing.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I’m still adjusting to the title.


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I don’t know that there was any one thing in particular that inspired me. It was more a drive to find the story I wanted to read.


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I honestly have no clue. I just sit down and do it.


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

The Ascension of Laney is about an Ascent who has the ability to manipulate the elements. In order for her to access this ability, her powers have to be activated through ascension. When Laney “ascends” into her powers, they are then accessible to her.


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Second chances exist and everyone deserves a second chance.


Fiona:
How much of the book is realistic?

Almost none of it is realistic, it’s paranormal, but there are scenes or dialogue that is loosely based off of things I have seen or experienced.


Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Pieces of the personalities that I surround myself with in real life, come out in the characters. Not their entire personality but a little tid bit here and there.


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

There aren’t any books that immediately come to mind but there are a few authors who have influenced my author life. Renee Kennedy and Kay Lindy have been extremely helpful and supportive in this business, I don’t know what I would do without them.


Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Love Me ~ Without Regret by Renee Kennedy


Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Renee Kennedy, Kay Lindy, and Maggie Adams (her books are next on my list to read and she seems like a wonderful person!)


Fiona: What are your current projects?

I am currently working on the third book in the Ascent series, The Resurrection of Ryan. It is a standalone about a secondary character in the first two books.


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

The Waking Up Indie Authors group on Facebook. I know I can always go to them for guidance or assistance and they will be right there with me.


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yes, I hope that one day I can be a full time writer.


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

There may be a few minor things I would change but nothing drastic, I like the story the way it is and am happy with how it turned out.


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I was looking for a particular type of book to read but couldn’t find it so I wrote it.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Sure, but beware, it’s not edited. This is from The Resurrection of Ryan.

Ryan stands before me looking as beautiful as ever. Her short black hair hangs almost to her shoulders. Normally she’s dressed in a pair of sweats and a t-shirt for bed but she’s fully dressed today in skinny jeans and a tank top. She’s even wearing shoes which brings my eyes up to hers, quickly ending my appreciative perusal of her slim body.

Her eyes don’t sparkle as they usually do when I come home. I begin to approach her to envelope her in the hug she’s owed. It’s how we greet each other every morning after a long night apart. She holds up her hand to stop me and I see a flash of panic. I quickly assess my appearance, searching for any blood or gunk I may not have washed off. I don’t find anything.

“I’m sorry” she whispers “I can’t do this.”

My eyes dart to hears as she wipes a single tear from her cheek. “What’s going on Ry?” I step toward her again and she takes a step back, her hand dropping from the handle I hadn’t noticed she’d been holding. I don’t know how I missed that. Next to her long beautiful leg sits a rolling suitcase.

 


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

In The Fall of Kass, Kass is broken. The ending of The Ascension of Laney has affected them all but most of all Kass. It was hugely challenging to write a character I loved deeply as a completely broken person.


Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Dannika Dark is my favorite author. I love that the characters in her stories all have a quirk that’s different from all of the rest of the characters. It makes them feel real because you get to see those small flaws in everything they do or say. It’s really beautiful and all of her characters are easy to fall in love with.


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

I have not yet traveled for anything for my books but I do have my first signing in Houston in February so I am excited for that.


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Regina Wamba at Mae I Design


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Breaking my characters down and putting them through hell.


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I learned that writing is hard but every bit worth the challenge.


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Don’t give up. Your writing may be terrible for the first few books your write (I know mine was, those will never see the light of day) but keep going and you will write that fantastic piece and it will blow your mind. Then hire an editor.


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank you. Thank you for giving my book a chance and I hope you decide to stick around to enjoy many more to come.

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

I don’t know the first book I read but the first book that made me really love reading was Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

My husband makes me laugh and those commercials with the sad animals makes me cry. It gets me every time.

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

I would like to meet Colleen Hoover, she seems like an amazing person and I would love to pick her brain.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

I have honestly never thought about this. Loving wife?

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

Nope, between work, college, and writing there is no time for any other hobbies.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

The Walking Dead and American Horror Story

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

I am loving Cajun food lately. Purple is my favorite color and I’ll listen to any music that isn’t screaming at me.

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Well, I’m majoring in Marketing at school so I guess I would have done something with that.

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

Yes! I have a website, http://www.krishack.com

Amazon Authors Page http://www.amazon.com/Kris-Hack/e/B00Z4UUHQ8/ref=dp_byline_cont_pop_ebooks_1

