Name

What do you want it to be? LoL sorry. Couldn’t resist.

June Moonbridge is my current pen-name, but in the past I had many others.

Age

My mind says: “25.” My body answers: “You wish!”

According to my ID the year I was born is 1974.

Where are you from

I’m from a tiny country in the middle of Europe, called Slovenia (not Slovakia – do not mistake it for it). We have it all, the Adriatic Sea in the South-West, the Alps in the North-West and North, beautiful lowlands in the East and magical small hills in South-East. And the important thing: three good wine regions.

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc

I studied economics, and quickly realised I hated it. Afterwards, I found myself working in a mainly male-dominated businesses; at first in automotive and later steel products. I can choose the best steel for your project, but don’t, please don’t, ask me which lipstick to use.

I started to write in high school and was criticised by my teacher. Stubborn as I am, that didn’t stop me. Under different pen names, I had stories published in magazines, and then went on to publish three books.

After having two children, and learning that my second child has autism, I married my children’s father and carried on working. Work and family life left me with little free time. But the desire to write didn’t die. When life somehow sorted itself out, I decided to write a novel in English and my first submission to Safkhet was rejected… For what happened then, re-read the second paragraph, second sentence above…

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I’m currently editing my second novel in English. Still don’t know about the publication day or how it’s going to be published…

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

To be honest, I really don’t know. It seems to be a logical continuation to all the books I’ve read.

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Ummmm… I’m not sure if I consider myself a writer.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

The years of watching F1.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I’m not sure. Perhaps I have a different view of the world and a different voice as I’m not coming from any of the so called ‘western’ countries.

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

I didn’t. My novel had a different title when I wrote it down and submitted it. My publisher suggested it and after I agreed it was changed.

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

I don’t think so. It’s up to the readers. If they find it, it wasn’t done intentionally.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic?

Not much. Except for the places where the story is set, nothing else.

Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

No. Perhaps like all authors (I presume) there is a little bit of me in the story.

Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

I think and believe that every book I’ve read had an influence on me and my writing. With some I thought “This is not how I wish to write.” and with some I thought: “Wow. This is it! This is how I wish I knew how to write.” But every book had a positive impact on me.

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

At the moment I’m in between two books. It’s choosing the moment for me.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

There are many new authors that I enjoy reading so to mention only one would be unfair, to mention all – the blog post would be too long.

Fiona: What are your current projects?

As I said before – I’m editing my second novel in English and there are two more waiting to be finished, although another one – not a word written – is trying very hard to see the world – or at least to get out on a computer screen… 😀

Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

I have two wonderful friends I’ve met on a Facebook. They show their support from the start. Katie and Michele were the ones that persuaded me to keep continuing writing in English. There are also many others, but Katie and Michele ‘suffer’ with me from the start.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I do. And I hope it will come true.

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I wouldn’t agree with the book cover, but I didn’t have a veto on that… so…

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Oh… Ok… Please disregard the grammar mistakes. Bear in mind this is still WIP. This is a section taken out from the end of Chapter One:

When I reached the edge of the pull, I reached up to place my hands on the ledge to pull myself out. Instead of touching the marble, I clung on the hand that pulled me out of the pool. My face was soaking wet and my hair dripping, so I grabbed the towel that was handed to me. Wiping my face, I realised that it had got very quiet. There was still music playing in the background, but the usual chatter had stopped.

I put the towel down, and stared into Salah Ali’s black eyes. We looked at each other and when I finally managed to glance around for Peter, I saw that everyone near was staring at us. The guests, the hotel staff, Peter on the bridge that led to our side of the pool. Everyone. Salah Ali had that kind of charisma.

I caught Peter’s eye and I shrugged my shoulders in answer to the question in his eyes.

“Thank you,” I said. Salah Ali took the wet towel from my hands and gave it to the man behind him.

“You’re welcome.” Then Peter joined us, putting his hand possessively over my shoulders.

“Is she yours?” Salah Ali said to Peter.

“Yes,” Peter answered.

“I’m no one’s possession,” I said and shook Peter’s hand off. I knew I had turned red in anger. Just at that moment, the tea waiter appeared. As soon as he spotted Salah Ali in our company, he turned away. The hotel guests went back to what they were doing. Even the hotel staff returned to their chores.

“Watch over her,” I heard Salah Ali saying, crystal clear.

Suddenly realising I become invisible to the men in my company I shook Peter’s arm off my shoulders and spoke without proper thinking.

“If you two are discussing the price, he is in no title to do it,” I said to Salah Ali. “I’m the only one you should discuss about it and I’m in no mood to do it.”

Both looked at me as though I was some strange species. Salah Ali turned back to Peter.

“Watch over her, very carefully. Al-salāmu ʿalaykum.” Then he left, not saying anything to me.

“What the hell was that?!” Peter turned towards me.

“You are asking me? You two were discussing it.”

“We certainly were not! How could you say something like that? Here?” Peter sat down in front of me. “Who was he?”

I shrugged my shoulders.

“All I know is his name. Salah Ali.”

“And?” Peter’s voice started to tremble and he raked his hand through his hair over and over again.

“And nothing. He accompanied me the first evening when I went riding. You didn’t.”

“So every evening for the past four days you went back there hoping to see him again?” I finally put my sunglasses down and looked straight into his eyes. We were silent for a moment.

“You’re nuts. Do you know how old he is?”

“So what was he doing here?”

“How on earth should I know? He might be a guest here like we are. Geez! Peter! Think!”

I realised I was yelling and I didn’t want to make a scene. I stood up. There was that man again, standing on the edge of the pool, preparing to jump into the water. I could see his sky blue eyes, such a contrast with the colour of his hair and sun-tanned skin.

Contrary to the first time I saw him in the water, this time I had a chance to see all of him. Wide shoulders, lean waist, and muscular legs were a nice touch to the face.

Our eyes met only for a split second and then he was in the water. With a sigh I took my things and left Peter there without saying anything else. Four days of love, peace, and romance were ruined. Again. As though they had never happened.

****************

Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Writing in a language that’s not my first language is one of them. The other is time.

Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Favorite author. I’m strange I know but I don’t think I have one. I read books and it happened many times that I loved one book from the author and the other I didn’t so much. But if I have to pick one I would say Jane Austin. I’ve read every book she has written.

Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

It’s nice to travel, but not always possible… That’s when Google Earth is very supportive.

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

The publisher.

Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Finding time to do it.

Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

Learning is something I love the most when I write. The research is, although time consuming, the funniest part of it.

Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Do it in your own pace and style.

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

Ayrton Senna da Silva. His philosophy of life is very close to me.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

She sure loved and lived! – This is the current one. I’m changing them as time passes by. I had one very funny: “I was forced to come to this world, and I left the same way…!

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Once upon a time – before children – I was horseback riding. Now, I just read. It’s the only hobby I can squeeze into 24 hours.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I enjoy every crime, sci-fi and comedy series. Oh, and don’t forget about GOT (Game of Thrones) books and series. Films, depends on the mood I am in.

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Food: although I’m not a vegetarian, I love fresh fruits – almost any kind

Colours: blue, green, black and yellow

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Actually nothing… No, I’m lying. I would love to sail around the world.

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

Yes I do. It’s: www.junemoonbridge.com

Links to my book on Amazon are here:



http://www.amazon.com/Racing-Heart-June-Moonbridge-ebook/dp/B00ZXRYESO

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Racing-Heart-June-Moonbridge-ebook/dp/B00ZXRYESO

I think the book is still under promotional price of 0,99$ and 0,99GPB and 0,99€ …

And here is my Amazon page too:

http://www.amazon.com/June-Moonbridge/e/B0102BS9MM/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1446989331&sr=8-1

 

You can find me: 
www.junemoonbridge.com
www.facebook.com/JMoonbridge
https://twitter.com/JMoonbridge

 

Fiona, thank you so much for hosting me. I loved the questions and I hope I’ll hear from your readers.

 

 

