Name Julia Sutton

Age 43

 

Where are you from

Wolverhampton in the West Midlands

 

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc  

Married with two children.  Studied English at the University of Wolverhampton.  Had a variety of jobs; secretary, sales assistant, and most currently working with primary school children.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

My debut novel ‘The Lake of Lilies’ is currently available as an E Book through Amazon.  Waiting for the paperback version to be published – watch this space!

 

 


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I have loved creative writing from an early age and have always dreamt of being a published author.  I waited till I was 40 to write my first adult novel.  Prior to that I dabbled with poetry and also children’s stories but never sent anything off until ‘The Lake of Lilies.’

 

 

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

The day my debut novel was available to purchase on Amazon.  It was so exciting.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I was on holiday and literally just thought up the basic idea while sunning myself on a sun lounger.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

Not a specific style but I am definitely more productive during the early morning hours.

 

 


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

I wanted it to reflect the scene of the first chapter and convey a sense of mystery.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

True love is out there!

 

 


Fiona:
How much of the book is realistic?

Not much to be honest.  It is pure escapism.

 

 
Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

No, it is pure fantasy and a product of my over active imagination

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?
My family and friends have influenced my life more than a book has.  Their support, love and encouragement has been amazing!

 

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

‘Unbreak my heart’ by Audrina Lane.

 

 
Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

My friend Michelle Diana Lowe has written a great book called ‘Unshatter Me’.  She is super talented and a lovely person.  I look forward to reading more of her work.

 

Audrina Lane is also one to watch out for.  Her ‘Heart’ trilogy is mesmerising, I am thoroughly enjoying reading it at the moment.

 

 

 

Fiona: What are your current projects?

I am currently writing my second novel which is completely different to my first.  At 90,000 words – the end is in sight.

I have also written a children’s novel, which I hoped to be published in the near future.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

My English teacher at secondary school.  I used to get glowing reports from him.

 

 


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I would like it to be my main career.  But life as a writer can be a lonely existence, it’s nice to have a part time job and other adult company.  It also allows for more experiences and inspiration to help cultivate the creative juices, lol.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No, life is too short for regrets.

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I think that a love of writing has just always been in me.  The urge to write has varied over the years.  Life gets in the way, but at the moment I am happy to say that I am writing every day and loving it!

 

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

My second novel is called ‘Dreams’ and is about five characters who become friends at university – that’s all I’m revealing at the moment – click like on my author facebook page for more information!

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Editing – takes ages and is hard work!

 

 
Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Lucy Diamond – her characters are realistic and relateable.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

No not as yet, but hopefully will one day be able to embark on a book tour!

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Simon Paget from Synaxis.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

The constant re-reading and the editing.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I learnt a great deal from writing my first novel.  To be organized, well planned, to be brave, take a chance and not worry what others may think.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Don’t give up the day job! Be creative, take risks, push boundaries and enjoy it!

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank you for taking the time to read my work, I hope you enjoyed it.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

No sorry, way too long ago lol, but I suspect it may have been an Enid Blyton one.

 

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Cruelty to people and animals makes me sob.  My friends and family make me laugh, also watching old 70s comedy films such as ‘On the buses’ makes me chuckle as they were so politically incorrect.

 

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

I would like to meet Marilyn Monroe, she was super talented, stunning and vulnerable too.  I would like to give her a hug and go on a girlie night out with her.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

Remembered for her kindness, happiness and compassion.  Because life is so precious and short.  I don’t have time for negativity and detest cruelty.

 

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

I enjoy art; drawing and colouring.  I love being outside, taking long walks with my dog or riding my bike.

I am a reading enthusiast, it certainly helps me sleep after a busy day.

 

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

My favourite show is Eastenders, although I do sometimes get frustrated by all the negative storylines.

I enjoy watching all genre of films.  I love the classics; Pride and Prejudice and Jayne Eyre.  My favourite modern film is ‘War of the Worlds,’  Tom Cruise is awesome!

I have just started watching the ‘Amercian Horror Story’ series which I am becoming addicted to.

 

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

My favourite food is Italian and British.  I love lasagna and anything pasta based.  I also love a Sunday roast with all the trimmings and the classic fish and chips!

I have a varied taste in music, from rock to pop and dance.  My i-pod is bursting with hundreds of songs, which I enjoy listening to while taking my dog for a walk.

My favourite colour has always been purple.

 

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I wanted to be a teacher and embarked on a Primary PGCE, but unfortunately had to stop due to ill health.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

Yes I have an author page which you can find on Facebook.  Please like it https://www.facebook.com/julia.sutton.author

 

Amazon Link http://www.amazon.com/Lake-Lilies-Julia-Sutton-ebook/dp/B011EN7AK4/ref=sr_1_3?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1447017774&sr=1-3&keywords=Julia+Sutton

