Name: Cat Mason

Age:

Hmmmm it depends. According to the Oh Mighty Birth Giver, she says I am going to be thirty-two on December 20… However, I am told often I act like a five year old and sometimes I can even seem to come across as an immature teenager because I giggle at words and make everything dirty… I settle on eleventy. It just feels right.

 

 

Where are you from:

I was born and raised in Granite City, Illinois. I assumed that town was small, being that I couldn’t get away with much and that it was so close to St. Louis which seemed HUGE to me, but was I wrong… I live now in Weber City, Virginia. The town literally has like twelve hundred people in it… oh wait someone just moved away for better internet reception… Though I will say I love the mountains and I am still close enough that I can regularly have my Starbucks and mall time where I spend way too much time in Spencer’s giggling and then to Victoria Secret and Bath and Body Works to sniff all the things I end up adding to the massive addiction I call my bath and lotion collection.

 

 

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc:

I am married with three kids. Two daughters who are fifteen and seven and a son who is twelve. My oldest is my mini me. (I am so sorry world, but this is just how it is…) My youngest is her mini me… (so again, I apologize…) My son and husband have to handle the three of us along with a dog and a cat who are both girls too… (Yeah, poor guys. It’s okay, they own it.)

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

The latest book in the Artistic Pricks Ink series comes out on 11/9 and I am so excited. I also started writing the last book in the Shaft on Tour series. Just saying that is so freaking bittersweet. Wow.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I have always written. It’s so therapeutic. It was either that or wash the brain matter out of my curtains daily from my head exploding from all the stories inside it trying to get out. I had all this sitting in my head and once I put it on paper, I didn’t know what to do with it. My cousin began reading them for fun because I knew if anyone would appreciate my sense of humor the craziness that is in my head sometimes, she would. It was the publishing part that took a bit of pushing. Thankfully, my cousin is pushy. HA HA HA

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I still have an issue with this. There are days when I read what I’ve written and say, “What the hell is this? Poser!” ha ha ha Then I had this moment at the Naughty Nashville Author Event a few months back where I was sitting outside just having drinks with some people and hanging out and this sat down in front of me. She was tipsy and staring at me. Then she jumps up and screams, “Holy shit, I know you!” she points and makes her way around the table. “You’re Cat motherfuckin’ Mason.” Yeah, so I totally lost it because then she yells to her friends and tells them I’m over there and yeah… I was totally floored. Messages and stuff like that are my crack. I live for that stuff. Nothing feels better than knowing what you do is appreciated and enjoyed. It’s a high that never ever gets old. I also never really know what to do when this happens because I am a nerd and so awkward at times ha ha ha but yeah it’s amazing!

 

 


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I have always written, but when my husband bought me a kindle and I started reading. Romance novels quickly became a drug to me and I was sucked into the community. I was not only writing, but beta reading for authors who consider me a friend but I have nerdy moments seeing them at signings or when they ask my opinion on their stuff. Though, I wrote several books before Shaft on Tour, I consider it my first book baby.

Escaping me was an idea that came to me while reading a post a friend had made on Facebook. After writing the prologue, I sent it in a chat to my friend’s Jenn and Chelsea and they told me I had to take the idea and run with it. One book turned into what will now be six and other series as well. It’s now a career I love and honestly couldn’t see myself doing anything else.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

Whether it’s sober, or not, I wing a lot of it. Fly by the seat of my ass and hope like hell it’s not going to end up deleted. I have threatened to throw a laptop before so my husband bought me a PC. It will be harder to throw, but I think I got this if needed. HA!

Anyway, I tend to plot out the general idea, add details and plot twists as I go. Problem is the original outline NEVER matches the finished product. I tend to let them tell the story especially Shaft on Tour. My rockers tend to take over.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Since the fairies that could make my entire life easier tend to flake out because they’re bitches… I wing it. When all else fails, brainstorming with my OSGs, Jenn and Chelsea helps a lot. It always seems to be where great things come from. Our sessions in chat are pure gold sometimes. Although the last of the Shaft on Tour books was named by a woman in my Shaft Approved Group on Facebook.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Love isn’t definable. No matter if it is blood relation, friends that are more than family, or the love of your life, love and loyalty are two things that define themselves if you just get out of their way and let them.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic?

There are parts of me in everything I write, but that’s about it. Those who know me should be able to figure them out. I also include friends and etc in my books as well, especially in Artistic Pricks.

 

 
Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

HA HA HA Yes!!!! Kionna in Gravity has a ‘incident’ with an eight legged freak and that was SO me. Several of my characters are based on actual people and even some events are changed and fixed to fit in.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

Not so much books, but I will say several authors in the community have encouraged me. I have made some great friends that are readers, bloggers, and authors that it makes me all the more grateful for what I do.

 

 
Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I literally just finished Baking and Babies by Tara Sivec. I am about to do a reread of Knight by Kristen Ashley because I love his Alpha ass once I finish Tyrant by TM Frazier.

 

 
Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

SO MANY!!!!! I can’t wait to read Alexandria Sure’s debut and am always on the hunt for new Indie authors.

 

 
Fiona: What are your current projects?

I am writing the last Shaft on Tour book. It is so bittersweet to say that but there are so many other things I am excited about that even tie into them. The Shaft guys aren’t going to be gone by any means.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

Chelsea and Jenn rooted me on the entire time I was writing Escaping Me. If they didn’t get a chapter from me every day, they were messaging me with threats of ass kicking to get their daily Shafting. HA!

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

That’s the plan. It’s a way better career choice for my jiggly ass than stripping or working the corner! HA HA HA

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No. Solitude was re-written and I deleted and deleted hahahahaha I made sure it was what I wanted. As much as I love Shelby and Mitch I knew it needed to be exactly as it is.

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

A young author’s contest in second grade. I can remember being so excited about it.

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Getting out of my own head and just writing. I do a lot of second guessing sometimes.

 

 
Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Tara Sivec. No holds barred. She gives you the sexy, the suspense, the funny. No matter the genre she is writing at the time, she weaves a story that grips you and doesn’t let go until the end and still leaves you wanting more.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Katheryn Kiden

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Not deleting it. HA!

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

Shelby is strong and fierce. She is NOT a size four and couldn’t give a shit either. She’s unapologetic and proud of who she is, oozing sass and self-confidence. I find myself wanting to be more like her.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Just do it! Pour your heart out and bleed onto that page. ONLY when YOU love it do you press publish because at the end of the day it’s your name. Be proud of what you did and enjoy the ups and downs of the ride.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank you!!!! There are just no words that say it well enough, but THANK YOU!

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

No, honestly but I’m sure it was probably Dr Seuss and I probably made smart ass comments to my grandmother.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

I laugh at idiotic things. Crying, ugh depends. I am ridiculously emotional at times and it pisses me off. LOL

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

Tara Sivec and dammit I will meet her one day.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

Here’s lies this bitch. She came, she saw, she wrote smut. She probably died because she did something totally stupid after saying, “Here, hold my drink.”

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

I read, whether it’s for fun, or beta reading, which is still fun.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

How I met your mother, Sons of Anarchy, American Horror Story, just to name a few.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

I love Caesar salad and Chinese food. The color Red or Blue. Music… well I listen to everything.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Hmmmm I could be a kick ass comedian I think.

 

 

Facebook page https://www.facebook.com/CatMasonAuthor/?fref=ts

Amazon Authors page

http://www.amazon.com/Cat-Mason/e/B00HV2AMBM/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1447011937&sr=1-2-ent

