Name Ali Parker

Age 34

Where are you from Texas

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc  

I’m a lawyer by trade and am married to the most handsome football coach in Texas. We have no little ones or pets, but I’m sure that will change in the future. I’m crazy close to my mother and my two younger brothers are my best friends.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

Latest news… I’ll be shifting from just writing contemporary romance and romantic suspense into writing paranormal romance in 2016 as well. My best friend, Kate Thomas has been nagging at me to try it out. So I shall!


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

April 2015. I’ve dabbled in story telling in the past, but never really written anything I’d call a novel or a story, so after seeing my buddy have some success with it, I decided to give it a shot. Turns out I love it.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I’d say in June when Jaded did so well on the Amazon charts. I was just messing around before, trying to see if writing was my thing. I’d very much classify myself as I writer now.


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I live through my characters when I write, so my style is very specific. I call myself a sensory writer because if I smell it, see it, touch it or taste it while diving into the lives of my peeps, you will too.


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

I have lots of titles, but when I’m coming up with one, I usually try to think about a boiled down 1 word theme for the book. Once I do, that becomes the title.


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Always. Second chance love is available to everyone. My first marriage ended in a fiery divorce that hurt tremendously. I think in finding my current hubby, and living the best life every, I want women to know that the joy comes in the morning – the sun will rise on your pain – and another special someone will bring a smile to your face and warmth in your heart again. It’s happened to me. It’s going to happen to you.


Fiona:
How much of the book is realistic?

Hmmm… that’s tricky. There is a TON of me in the books, my silly phrases, my cursing, my friends names and their profession, but the actual experiences? Not too many I don’t guess. Every writer will have a portion of themselves in the novel, but like in Blood Money, I don’t own a club, never have I sold drugs, I’m not sexing up a hot drug dealer and I’ve never slept with two guys at once. I need to start living… obviously! J


Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I’m actually reading Kate Thomas’s Equilibrium Series, which I love. It has all of the elements that force me to kick my calendar to the curb and enjoy myself. Romance, suspense, strong characters and some crazy plot twists. I’d like to see how she’s going to get herself out of the depths of where she’s taken the reader by the end of the third book. I can’t wait.


Fiona: What are your current projects?

I’m currently working on Bad Money 3, Hard Money, and Forbidden Fruit 2, Future Investment. I have a 12 book series I’ll be co-writing next year in the Suspect, Mystery, Horror genres. I’m pretty excited about that and have been working with my gal-pal to get the plot solidified, the covers and other fun graphics in place.


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

My PA, Beth Ann Miller is a huge support to me. We talk every day and she’s an absolute jewel in my life. We don’t just talk about books, but life and tribulations too. I can just exhale and be myself completely around her. She’s my bestie too.

 

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yep. It currently is. I’m taking less clients on my plate as a lawyer and have shifted over to writing most days of the week. It’s the marketing that’s a bear…


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

My latest book was Judged, which tells the story of an slightly overweight chef and a Mafia gym owner. I’d do nothing different actually. I love how it turned out and I hope the message was clear that you’re beautiful no matter what size you are.


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Not really. I struggle a little with being a Romance writer who sprinkles sex into my books. I’m not sure writing erotica is my thing. I love sex in literature and real life, but I think the story (for me) is more a matter of the heart. The sex is part of the passion that might drive two people together, but I want their change or turning toward one another to be about many things… including the sex. So I struggle with classifying my books as erotica verse romance, because believe it or not – those marketing platforms look very, very different.


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Nope, though I will be traveling for fun in the future. I have an eight year plan to get this book writing thing to be my mainstay and then… I am picking up and traveling around the world with my laptop in tow!


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I have 6 designers, but the main one I try to stick to is Kellie Dennis from Book Covers by Design. She’s incredibly talented and has done a lot, if not most of my covers.


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

That I’m not an editor. I have to allow myself full freedom to write fast and openly without worrying about spelling or grammar. Some people try to write “clean” as they go or edit as their working through their story-telling. Not me. It stunts my flow and jacks me up nicely. I just write and pay someone to edit the book. I don’t have to be a great writer and a good editor and a kick-ass marketer. I do what I’m fantastical at and get help from those that are fantastical at the other parts.


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Keep at it. Tell your story and then tell another one. I would read and research everything you can on book marketing if you’re interested in making writing your fulltime work, but don’t get lost in it. It’s a black hole. I promise. Keep writing… don’t stop at one book and don’t stop at 5. Stop when the stories stop and not a moment earlier.


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Just a huge thank you for their support. I love to read myself and have always wanted to offer the say “get away” to someone that I find in a book. After reading the hundreds of comments and letters that I’ve received, it feels great to know I’m doing that. So keep reading and tell your friends! I’m writing for you, sister. J

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

Beloved follower of Jesus, wife and mother. Because… my faith comes first, my family next and then all this other stuff. When it’s all said and done, I want those closest to me to know that I love them with a kind of love that makes no sense. And they do…

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Hanging out with my family, swimming, doing anything with my sexy-boy husband, reading, movies and eating! I’m a total foodie.

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

I adore Pizza and could eat it all day long, every day. Actually… it’s breakfast time. I’m going to put one in the oven. I love the color blue and purple and I listen to alternative rock more than anything else.

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I’m actually a lawyer, but I would love to be a broadway dancer, or a rockstar singer. That’s next on the list I guess. 😉 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

Nope. Just FB. Keeps me writing and not blogging. Too many pushy characters to do anything else!

Links:

Amazon Author Page (me and the books):
http://www.amazon.com/Ali-Parker/e/B00W1PEOOK/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_1

FB: https://www.facebook.com/ali.parker.5015

Twitter: https://twitter.com/aliparkerauthor

 

