Name
Kenneth  Tingle

 

Age 48

 

Where are you from:  New England

 

 

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc  

 

I am a former United States Marine. I have been married for 25 years. We have two children. I have been a registered nurse for twenty years. Writing is my second job.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?  

Nothing new or exciting, unfortunately.

 


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

At age forty I just felt an overwhelming urge to write.

 


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I consider myself a nurse who wrote two books. I don’t consider myself “A writer”.

 


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

My first book was my memoir. It did great here in the U.S. However, the British were not kind in their reviews. But the British liked my second book, Strangeville.

 


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

No. I try to read as many classics and great writers as possible, and mold my own style from them.

 

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

 

 

Both novels have a message in them. But  I won’t spoil it for readers by stating it here.


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic?  

The first book is 100 percent realistic, my second is fiction.


Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

The Girl in the Italian bakery is a memoir.

 


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? 

I was influenced by John Knowles book A Separate  Peace,  George Orwell’s 1984, and many others.

 


Fiona: What book are you reading now? 

Imagine Heaven. After that The Trial.

 


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

I feel faith in God has helped me in every area of my life.


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Someday when I retire, or if I find a suitcase full of money.

 

 


Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

There are many great authors. That is why I love all the great works of the last 100 years. Each book has its own little treasures.

 

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

My first cover was done by the publisher. The second was designed by a co-worker’s daughter.


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Remembering everything, and the time line.

 

Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Read a lot.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

Here lies Kenneth Tingle. He made the world a little better of a place. ( Self-explanatory).

 

 

Website http://www.thegirlintheitalianbakery.com/

 

Amazon Authors page http://www.amazon.com/Kenneth-Tingle/e/B0078I5P48/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1446758955&sr=1-2-ent

