Me and my granny

Name Dawn Stanton

Age 44

Where are you from

Boston, Massachusetts

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc  

I have been married to my husband Daniel for 20 years and we have two teenage sons. I was a competitive figure skater in my younger years and a National level competitor. For the past 24 years I’ve been coaching skaters as my job.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

My debut novel Waiting for Us releases on November 17th. It’s a New Adult Romance and hopefully, I’ve achieved the perfect blend of romance, humor and steam factor.


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I’ve always enjoyed writing. When I was a child and teen I would write short stories and I did interviews for my high school paper. As an adult I got away from writing and I didn’t begin again until a couple years ago. I started two completely different books and both times I wasn’t able to move past thirty-five thousand words. I put both of those stories to rest and took a break from writing. It wasn’t until last April that I began to write Waiting for Us and it just seemed to click. I took it chapter by chapter and that really seemed to help me. Once I got past forty thousand words I knew I could do it.


Fiona:

When did you first consider yourself a writer?

People say that if you write, you’re a writer, but for me I think it was when I had completed Waiting for Us. It suddenly hit me that I had accomplished something pretty amazing…something not everyone is able to do.


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

My husband, Daniel Stanton is a bestselling author in thriller/mystery. He is someone that makes his mind up that he’s going to do something and he doesn’t let fear get in the way. I’ve always admired that quality in him and with his encouragement I decided to pursue my dream of publishing a book.


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

 I think my writing style is realistic, romantic fiction with some laughs and some risqué scenes mixed in.


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

It’s a multi-faceted play on words and I promise, once you read my book, you will see all the different ways the title relates to the story.


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Yes, absolutely. In Waiting for Us, Hailey learns that true love is worth waiting for and I believe that with all my heart. You should never settle when it comes to love. Go for everything you want!


Fiona:
How much of the book is realistic?

All of the book is realistic. Everything that happens in it is reality based.


Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

The experiences aren’t based on my life or anyone I know, but Hailey has some insecurities and some awkward moments that I can certainly relate to. Since the story is realistic there are many moments that the readers will connect with.


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

I would have to say that reading Flowers in the Attic by VC Andrews when I was 12 years old, changed my life. My grandmother who I was especially close with, bought it for me and from the moment I finished it, I have been obsessed with reading. I have been devouring books ever since. If reading too much is an addiction, consider me addicted!


Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I just finished reading an ARC of Liar by Lia Fairchild and it was amazing.

 


Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Yes, Kylie Hillman, Renee Kennedy, CJ Martin and ML Preston are all new authors that I enjoy reading.


Fiona: What are your current projects?

I have the next book, Waiting for Love, completed and it will go off to my editor shortly. I’m planning late January as my release date. I’m currently writing the third book, Waiting for Him and I hope to release that one in March or April.


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

The ladies at Dayreader Reviews blog have all been very supportive and helpful to me along this journey. I also have to thank author Ella Emerson and author Olivia Howe for taking the time to help me and my technologically challenged self when they barely even knew who I was. Their kindness is greatly appreciated.


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yes, I’m hoping to continue writing. I’m fortunate that my other job is part time so I can do both.


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Not at this point, but if you ask me this question six month from now, I may have a different answer.  


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I enjoyed the act of reading so much, it seemed like writing was a natural progression from there.


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

It still surprises me how natural writing feels to me. I can have no idea of where I want my story to go and as soon as I place my fingers on the keys, thoughts begin to flow.


Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Colleen Hoover is my favorite author because her stories are so multi layered. Her characters are relatable and flawed and she always makes me cry.


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Not yet, but I’m hoping to do some travelling for author events in the future.


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Letitia Hasser from RBA Designs is my cover artist. She listened to my vision and she took it beyond what I imagined it could be.


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

I don’t outline or plan things out. I know where it starts and the general direction I want it to go in, but that’s about it. I’m a pantser and I let it happen organically, so sometimes it’s hard for me to see where the story is going next.

 


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I learned that it’s okay to take a break for a few days and come back to it with a fresh outlook. I also learned that I will finish the book when the characters are ready to be done telling their story and not a moment sooner.


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

I read an interview a few years ago, it may have been with Stephen King, and the gist of what was said is that if your WIP isn’t working for you, put it aside. The biggest mistake authors can make is to hang on to something they’ve written even when it’s not working. Don’t force it, start something new and move on. These words really helped me, when I scrapped my first 2 attempts. I’m very glad I took his advice.


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

I want to thank them for taking time out of their busy lives to read my words. It’s amazing and I appreciate each and every one of them.

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Not the first, no. But the first that bit me with the reading bug was Flowers in the Attic by VC Andrews.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

My husband is the funniest person I know, followed closely by our 2 teen sons. They make me laugh daily. I’m not a crier in my own life, but if I read a book and the character cries, I will too. If the book is an ugly cry, I’m a complete mess!

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

I never knew my grandfather on my mother’s side and I wish he hadn’t passed when I was a baby. I’m the youngest in my family so all of my siblings remember him and they all have these great stories about him to tell. From everything I’ve heard, he was a really special guy and I wish I could have known him.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

Loving wife and mother, because those are the 2 things that are most important to me. The four of us are a team and the rest is just details.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

I read a lot when I’m not writing, 10-12 books each week. I also enjoy painting.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I love The Voice, The Vampire Diaries, Quantico, Nashville and the Blacklist.

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

I love pub style foods like potato skins and chicken tenders.

Blue is my favorite color. I love all shades of it.

I have really eclectic taste in music. I listen to classical music for my work in skating, I listen to top 40, I love alternative rock and classic rock. I listen to pretty much everything.

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Skating has always been my passion and until I started writing I’ve never been able to find anything that made me feel that same fire. However, the performer in me wishes that I had a beautiful voice and I could be up on a stage wowing everyone with my amazing singing.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

Right now I just have my facebook page.

 

 

