Name: Ashley Moss

Age:27

Where are you from: Memphis, Tn

A little about yourself:

I have two degrees in English, an associate’s and bachelor’s. I also have two siblings, one brother and one sister. I’m the middle child.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I self-published a poetry e-book titled Lessons I’ve Learned: A Collection of Inspirational and Love Poetry a while ago, and am still promoting it.


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I began writing at the age of 12, because I’ve always been misunderstood and rejected by my peers. Even at that age, they didn’t understand me because I was always a loner and liked staying to myself. Writing was a type of therapy for me and way for me to talk about it things I was dealing with.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

A couple of years ago when I had an article of mine published in the local newspaper, and everyone else began to see me as a writer too.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I had always written poetry, and I had tons of poems just laying around not being read. So, I decided to compile them in a book of poetry and use them to relate to other people’s pain and lie experiences.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

Not really, I just write from the heart.

 

 


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Seeing how most of the poems in the book had a title that related to some life or love lesson that I learned I decided to title the poetry e-book Lessons I’ve Learned.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

The message that I want to send readers is that they’re not alone, that they’re human, and that it’s okay to feel sad or heartbroken sometimes. I’ve felt all the things they experience at times as well, and survived heartbreak. This book encourages them in the fact that they can too.

 

 


Fiona:
How much of the book is realistic?

Most of the poems in the book are based on a true story, people, and life events

 

 
Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

If the experience didn’t happen to or affect me, it happened to or affected someone that I knew or loved.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

Matilda by Ronald Dahl, Uncle Tom’s Cabin by Harriet Beecher Stowe,                    and the adventures of Tom Sawyer by Mark Twain

 

 
Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I’m not currently reading a book. The last book I read was by Joyce Meyer.

 

 
Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

No, I mostly like reading classic literature.

 

 
Fiona: What are your current projects?

I’m working on a book of inspirational short stories.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

God

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yes, I’m planning on going to graduate school for creative writing to specialize in professional writing next year.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I would change the editing and spacing of some of the pages in the book as well as the format of the book. I’m proud of my accomplishment though.

 

 


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

No, but I’m guessing it originated from my love of reading. For as long as I can remember after learning to read, I’ve always had a book in my hand.

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

No, it’s top secret. All I can say is that the book will be dedicated to a dear friend of mine who recently past.

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Sometimes it’s difficult to write with the sincere, encouraging, and honest voice that I write with on bad days or when I’m going through something difficult in my life.

 

 
Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

My favorite author would have to be Toni Morrison, because how unafraid she is to explore topics that other writers would stay away from. I also love how she has the ability feel sorry for or fall in love with a character that isn’t so likeable.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

No

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I did.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Compiling the poems in the exact order I wanted them and editing them. I shortened some.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I learned that although the writing and editing stage of the book is long and tedious, a writer shouldn’t rush those two processes because they are two of the most important components of a book.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

I would tell them not to give up on their dreams, no matter how long it takes. Also, I would encourage them to write outside of their specific genre of writing. It’ll sharpen their minds and challenge them to become better writers.

 

 


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Just to give my book(s) a chance.

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

No

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Seeing young children interact with older adults makes me laugh/smile. Disappointments, failures, and sappy romantic movies make me cry.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

I would meet the singer Aaliyah, because her music lives on still today years after her death, and her spirit was beautiful.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Reading, listening to music, etc.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I enjoy watching 80’s and 90’s teen movies. TV shows that I enjoy watching are Friends, Frasier, Gilmore Girls, the Golden Girls, and How To Get Away With Murder

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music:

Pizza, pink, and R&B

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Something with children, I love children. I’m also a teacher.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

Blog: http://pocketsfullofloveblog.wordpress.com

Website: www.ashleymossauthor.weebly.com
Link to poetry e-book: http://leafless.co/?browse&*=info&id=128

 

 

