Name Allan John Lewis

Age 76

Where are you from I live in the Rhondda Valley South Wales UK

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc  

I met my wife Eirlys at a dance and I thought she was the prettiest girl in the room. We got married in March 1961, we still go dancing and Eirlys is still the prettiest girl in the room. We have a daughter and son and they are both married, my daughter has a daughter and my son has a son.

Education? I have got to give in the only classes I was good in was Woodwork and Sports, athletics mainly I was the Rhondda champion for four years in the hurdles, and the high jump. So it was no surprise that in started down the coalmine on my fifteenth birthday.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news? 

My second book have just been released, “Tale of the Inn Keeper’s Niece” and it is a spin-off from my first book “Get out of My Dreams” where two of the characters from the first book goes on an erotic romance adventure. It has adult content.


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

In 1991 just after Iraq invaded Kuwait I wrote a story about an assassin working for the American Government that had to silence those that spoke out against the war. But I could not get it published back then, who knows I might go back to that manuscript and update it. I started writing as a pastime to get the stories I had in my head on to the computer. I wrote a few more stories on my computer and done nothing with them after the first disappointment, and then I wrote “Get out of My Dreams” and thought it was my best work so far. My son read it and said, ‘Dad, this story is awesome and you have got to get it out there.’ So I did last year and I am pleased with the 34 reviews I have had


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I guess when the reviews came in.


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I always wanted to write but never had the time until I retired.


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I guess you would call it, simple and to the point.


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

It was hard decision, my first choice was “Innocence Lost” and my second was “Forbidden Dreams” but both of those titles are well used. The story is about a young woman named Jean whose father was thrown in jail and Jean has to be the bread winner to feed her pregnant mother and younger brothers and sisters. Jean’s uncle Joe offers her a job as a serving wench at his Inn, so the title part explains the story. “Tale of the Inn Keeper’s Niece” And Jean does more than serve ale and changes the sheets.


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

No, the story is fictional and it takes place in France in the 17th century.


Fiona:
How much of the book is realistic?

About as realistic as the “Three Musketeers” that Jean serves in her uncles Inn.


Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

The only ones I know in the story are through history, and that’s Queen Anna and King Louis XIII of France and Cardinal Richelieu.


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

I have read most of Wilbur Smith’s books, and his adventure stories never fail to thrill me.


Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I have just finished reading “Thump Squash” by Robert Pence a scary adventure for the young and old.


Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Yes, John Nicholl he is a retired police officer and he wrote “White is the coldest colour” a story about abused children.


Fiona: What are your current projects?

I have two follow up stories to “Get out of My Dreams” that are still in first draft. And I am writing another erotic romance adventure for Jean and Joe the Magic Man.


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

Friends and a few authors I have met through marketing my books that have encouraged me.


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I am a bit old to think of it as a career.


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I don’t think so, I’ll let you know when the reviews comes in.


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

When I was about thirteen my English teacher told the class that we had to write an essay over our summer holidays, and it didn’t have to be of true events we could write an imaginary holiday. Of course my holiday had to be an adventure, I wrote about four pages of me being kidnapped and how I escaped. After the teacher mark them he held my essay up and said. ‘Allan will not win any prizes for his spelling, but he has written a very imaginative story. That was the only praise I had off my English teacher.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

I would like my next book to be book two of “Get out of My Dreams” it is about two Algerian brothers that wants revenge for the deaths of their father and older brother that was shot dead in terrorist siege of the BP plant. Their father was a member of the ‘Militant Islamist Fighters’ and always hated it when western women like Margaret Thatcher, Condoleezz Rice and Hillary Clinton came on TV; he threatened to kill any western political woman if they came to his country. So the two brothers go to America to kill Congresswomen in honour of their father and brother. The FBI hears about the brothers that are in hiding somewhere in the USA, and they ask Joe the Magic Man to use his gift to track down the terrorist. It will be a Psychological Thriller titled “Kill the Presidents Bitch’s”


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Yes, editing, I have got to have my work proofread by professionals.


Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

There is so many that I like, like James Paterson’s Alex Cross series, and Wilbur Smith’s African adventures.


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

No, I do my research on Google and all the traveling is done in my imagination.


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Cover Design is by Terry Davis Canada. terry@ballmedia.com and the cover photograph is by Cathleen Tarawhiti from New Zealand.


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Writing is the easy part, marketing is the hard part.


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

 

Yes, that the story line you have in mind when you start writing will be slightly different when it is finished. I intended for “Get out Of My Dreams” to be a Psychological Thriller with Joe the magic Man using is gift of dream stalking criminals, to help the FBI to fight crime. But of course someone with Joe’s gift could use it in so many other ways, so I added a couple of sub plots where Joe gets into dreams of young women and takes them on a sexual adventure, to make him a bad boy and make his character more believable. When I started out I had no intention of bring sex into the story, but I am glad I did, some readers enjoyed Joe’s nightly adventures and suggested I do in spin-off about Joe’s “Forbidden Dreams” hence “Tale of the Inn Keeper’s Niece” So I have learned to go with the flow.

 


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

If your dream is to become a writer, then chase that dream.


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank you very much and don’t be afraid to contact me.

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

I believe it was Dick Barton, I can’t really remember.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

I am a jolly old man that laughs at any old thing. A sad film involving kids will bring a tear to my eye.

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

Elvis, I love rock and roll music and I still try to jive.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

He died too young at the age of 101.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

I have been playing darts on a Friday and Sunday night league since I was eighteen, I am not playing nowhere near as good as I used to, but I still love my dart match.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Castle, Game of Thrones and many more.

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Cooked Diner / Blue / 1960’s Rock and Roll.

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

 I work on the coalface for forty-years wishing I was a writer, so I guess my wish has come true for me.

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

I have a website as such but I don’t use it as I should, I haven’t put my new book on it yet. http://allanjlewis.com

 

 

http://www.amazon.com/Get-Out-Dreams-Allan-Lewis-ebook/dp/B00NJ2BSI4/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1411478824&sr=8-1&keywords=allan+j+lewis

 

http://www.amazon.com/Magic-Mans-Forbidden-Dreams-Keepers-ebook/dp/B016CODV8U/ref=sr_1_2?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1446756663&sr=1-2

 

