Name  Louise G White

Age

Forty-seven

Where are you from

Ayrshire, Scotland.

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc  

I grew up on the west coast of Scotland, the third of four sisters. I had a memorable and fairly religious upbringing filled with lots of love and we were infused with traditional values. We were poor – like many families who lived in our area – but happy. When our mum was widowed in her thirties, her factory work did little to make ends meet; my sisters and I took after school jobs in cafés and shops which helped us out.

Leaving school at seventeen, I worked briefly in the local library before I began nurse training. This was followed by a succession of various jobs which kept me working and studying for the next decade. I was married briefly and had my lovely son after which I continued to work, study, and finally began to indulge in my writing.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

My third book in the fantasy ‘Gateway’ series has just been released.


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

As a toddler, I remember using chalk on our garden slabs and asking my mum to read the story. No, I wasn’t advanced for my age – It was scribbles! But that’s not the point. I was writing, and the stories were there already in my head. With three siblings, and being the second youngest, I learned to enjoy the escapism afforded by Roald Dahl and Enid Blyton from an early age. During my school and work life, I always had an active imagination, but never the chance to do much more than compile reports and keep records. I only started writing properly in late 2011 when I was able to reduce my regular working hours to part time.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

When my first cheque came in, my sister said, “That’s you officially a writer then?”


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I like to write in various perspectives which allow the reader to get into the heads of all the characters.


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

I didn’t have to think much about The Calling title. The book is essentially about Carolyn’s ‘Calling’, brought about by the horrible circumstances of losing her mother and brother through the ‘gateways’ to the demon realms. Carolyn is plunged into a dark and violent world where she becomes quite feral and has to partially lose her mind in order to function in her role as the ‘destroyer.’

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

If readers simply enjoy the books as good stories then I’m ecstatic – I’ve succeeding in entertaining them for a while, and that is the ultimate goal of my writing. When readers get anything more from it – and many seem to do just that – then that’s always great for me to hear. There are strong themes to be found in each of my books, one being that we can never be judgmental when all is not always as it seems. Fantasy is an excellent medium for this.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic?

It’s complete fantasy – I know it… but the characters and many of the situations are as real to me as the regular events and people in my life.


Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I’m beta reading the second book in Raymond Boulton’s trilogy, Foretellers at the moment. It’s a great book that captured my interest right away.


Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Absolutely! Kelly St. Clare, Lilo Abernathy, E.B. Hood and Rose Montague to name only a few; all fabulously talented fantasy- paranormal authors.


Fiona: What are your current projects?

I’m hoping to write a series a companion novellas to the ‘Gateway’ series books. The characters are seriously difficult for me to let go.


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

Reader/reviewers have been an outstanding source of support and I can’t thank them enough for their encouragement.


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

It is now. I’ve had a lot of success with The Calling, some of which has trickled into Chasing the Demon (book 2) and hopefully Pledged (book 3) will follow it up nicely.


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

The third book took longest of the three to write. It is admittedly darker than the previous two but each character has evolved so much – and there’s so much potential for even more – that Pledged came to a really satisfying conclusion.


Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Stephen King is my favourite author. His characters are believable no matter how fantastical the circumstances.


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Clarissa Yeo of Yokla designs created the covers for each of my books.


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Editing. Thankfully, I’ve found the amazing Clive Johnson of Daisybank editing services.


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

That I have lot more issues than I would ever have imagined.


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Keep reading And writing.


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

You are the reason I write!

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

No, but I suspect it was an Enid Blyton Famous Five book.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Being with friends and old hammer horror films make me laugh. Injustice and watching the news makes me cry. There’s not enough reporting of uplifting news/events in the world.

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

I’d like to meet the founder/inspirational figure of all the main world religions. I’d like to put them all together so that could watch them interact and listen to what they had to say to each other.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

I’ll be dead so I just want whatever the family decides upon.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

I love to spend time with my family and friends. I’m a fan of holidays, rollercoasters and all things Disney. As a keen swimmer, I’m a member of the local club and I’m there two or three times a week. I also walk a lot and visit/explore the local Islands and mountains.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I don’t watch a lot of TV but I like films, especially the Hunger Games and the Maze Runner movies. I also follow the Vampire Diaries with my sister, Lorna.  We’ve got a little catching up to do with the last series.

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Tomatoes – Since infancy/ Red, yellow and purple/ Snow Patrol, Ed Sheeran, Lady gaga.

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

That’s a tricky one. Forest Ranger? Hairdresser? Both have appeal. 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

Website: www.louisewhitebooks.com

Amazon Page: http://www.amazon.com/Louise-G-White/e/B00GSPJOSK

Twitter: https://twitter.com/LGWhiteAuthor

Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/louisewhitethecalling

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7438156.Louise_G_White

Thanks so much for the interview, Fiona. It’s been fun.

 

