Name Joseph J. Patchen

Age 55

Where are you from

Norwalk, Connecticut, United States of America

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc  

I am currently mired in a divorce after 20 years. I have a Juris Doctor and work as both an attorney and as a Judicial Magistrate for the State of Connecticut.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

This has been a difficult year artistically over the losses suffered this year which have been immense. I am finally sitting down and am committed to writing; committed to my craft again.

I have made a number of anthology appearances, 10 in fact, via Thirteen O’Clock Press, Horrified Press and Rogue Planet Press, since we last met as well as some poetry, short stories and articles have also followed in a number of internet magazines.

I just had an article published today at “Bosley Gravel’s Cavalcade of Terror” titled Now You See Her concerning the iconic ‘unexplained’ mystery surrounding the disappearance of Martha Wright from the Holland Tunnel in 1975.

 

 


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I was 15 when I was first published in a horror/sci-fi fanzine.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

When I was fifteen and saw my name in print and understood that an editor enjoyed my work enough to accept it.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

Rod Serling was my first inspiration to tell stories.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

People say I do, but I don’t know I enjoy experimenting.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Titles come to me in the shower after I have completed my final draft. They sort of hit me.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

In Corpses Don’t Bleed the message is death is always stalking you.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic?

Death IS always stalking.

 

 
Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Experiences as my demented brain interprets them.

 

 


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

Rod Serling, Charles Beaumont, Ambrose Bierce

 

 


Fiona: What book are you reading now?

ROCKS by Joe Perry.

 

 
Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Lee Sykes always comes up with a great work.

 

 
Fiona: What are your current projects?

I am working on two unfinished novellas.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

I have a wonderful group of friends who may not always stomach what I write but they are very supportive.

 

 


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Unfortunately no but like many artists I wish it could be.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No way.

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

From watching the ‘Twilight Zone’.

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Drop by ‘Bosley Gravel’s Cavalcade of Terror’ and read about Martha Wright.

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

No. I don’t think so anymore.

 

 
Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Ambrose Bierce and his ballsy style.

 

 


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

No.

 

 


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Publisher always.

 

 


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Initially finding publishers.

 

 


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

My stories come from my subconscious and need to be cleared out of my head in order for me to attend to my normal day to day life.

 

 


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Write what you want and screw everybody else. If you have the talent you will build a following and history will judge.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank you for joining my nightmares.

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Poe’s Complete Tales.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Tragedy.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

I want to drink with Bierce; have lunch with Serling and sit in a corner with Beaumont – picking their brains.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

I don’t want a headstone on my grave, I want a monument. Thank you Jerry Lee Lewis.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

Not really any more. I love to read.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

TV is out of my house. I am addicted to paranormal radio shows and Wrestling podcasts.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

I love burgers, black, Jerry Lee Lewis and Metallica. I also love Judas Priest and it is a crime they are not in the rock and roll hall of fame.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Play rhythm guitar for Lemmy and Motorhead.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

 

http://josephjpatchen.weebly.com/ is the center of my universe leading readers to everywhere I am. It will lead you to my Amazon Author Page and my column at Lurid-lit.com as well as my blog and twitter pages.

 

Amazon Authors Page http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B0094KM06O

Thank you for having me back Fiona.

