Name Wanda Luthman

Age  51

Where are you from 

I grew up in St. Louis, MO but currently I live in FL

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc  

I’m married (20 years) and have 4 step-children (all grown), 1 daughter who is in college and 1 grand daughter (she’ll be a year in January)

I have a  Masters in both Mental Health Counseling and Guidance Counseling.

I worked 10 years at the Local Mental Health Center and then moved to Guidance Counseling. I work at a High School. I’ve been there 18 years.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I published my first children’s book last year and the second one I’m hoping to have out in January. I’m writing my third right now.

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I’ve always written stories ever since I was 8 or 9 years old. I have written poetry and written in journals all my life. I wrote my first book to be published about 15 years ago.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

When I published my first book last year

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

Largely my daughter but the story is more about me and my personal struggles than hers

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I like fiction and fantasy with some good character ed in there

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

It made sense after writing the book

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

I want people to be more forgiving towards others because we all need forgiveness

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic?

All of it except the fantasy part.  LOL

 

 


Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Based on my own life

 

 


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

My favorite book growing up was Sherlock Holmes mysteries. I was also influenced by Mark Twain because he was also from MO

 

 
Fiona: What book are you reading now?

It is a book about Christian Contemplation

 

 
Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Richard Rohr is a great Christian mystic writer

 

 
Fiona: What are your current projects?

Marketing—I know very little about it and am trying to learn all I can

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

There was a woman when I told her my dream was to publish a book, she told me to go for it. Something in how she said it and believed in me, made me take that first step.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yes, once I retire

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I was shy as a kid and it came easier to me to communicate in writing rather than verbally

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

The next book that I hope to have out in January is about a turtle who doesn’t like his shell because it makes him too slow. The story is about how he comes to realize the value of his shell.

 

 


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

I’m honestly not good with grammar, so I struggle with those techniques

 

 
Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

My favorite writer is anyone who tells a story that moves me

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

No

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

My first one was by the company that I self-published with.  The second one is by someone I met through social media

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

The ending. I struggled over that alot

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I learned that I enjoy the process of bringing my book to print so much that I want to keep doing it

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Just do it. It’s scary and you may not know how everything works but don’t wait, just do it

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Love yourself, be kind to yourself and try to find forgiveness in your heart for others because some day it will be you that needs forgiveness

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

No, I wish I did though

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

I like puns, they make me laugh. Good-bye’s make me cry.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

I would like to meet Helen Keller or Emily Dickinson—both are women that I admire. I think they might say something to me that would take ahold of my heart and inspire me

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

Beloved Wife, Mother, Author.  A lover of people and animals

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

I love cycling!

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

The Big Bang—it’s hilarious!

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

I’m a sucker for chocolate

Favorite color is purple

Country Music (it tells a story)

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Exactly what I’m doing—counseling kids/people

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

www.wandaluthman.wordpress.com

 

www.amazon.com/author/wandaluthman

twitter

@wandalu

Facebook page

https://www.facebook.com/wanda.luthman

 

