Name: S. S. Bazinet

Age? I feel like I’m the “perfect” age!

Where are you from? I live in New Mexico, a beautiful, enchanted part of the American Southwest.

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc.

I started out raising a beautiful family. Before I got into writing full time, I was a web and graphic designer. I still love working with graphics.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

The third book in my vampire series, THE VAMPIRE RECLAMATION PROJECT, was released this past summer. The first book in my series, THE MADONNA DIARIES, came out in August. This fall, a new edition of my children’s book, HURLY BURLY, THE SQUIRREL NEXT DOOR, was released.

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I’ve always loved reading, and the library was a favorite place when I was a child. But I wasn’t serious about writing my own stories until after my children were grown. When I finally took up the pen and began to write, it wasn’t an easy road. In fact, I had writer’s block for years. It was only when I decided to simply have fun that the stories flowed out with ease. After that, I couldn’t write fast enough.

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

After I completed six or seven manuscripts, I realized I was a writer at heart.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I think there’s an inner drive that most writers have deep inside. For me, it was there, urging me on for years, but I didn’t allow it to blossom. I think my inner critic was part of the problem. I had to get to a point where I could simply write for the joy of writing. One summer day, I decided to start a book because it felt like a wonderful, fun thing to do. I’ve been writing ever since.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I love to write about situations where the boundaries of reality are tested and expanded.

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

The title of my first series, The Vampire Reclamation Project, simply popped into my mind just like my stories, unplanned and perfect.

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

I simply hope that my readers feel entertained, satisfied and uplifted when they finish one of my books.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic?

I think the realistic part of my books is that my fictional characters share the same kind of emotions that everyone faces in life.

Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

No, they’re strictly fictional.

Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

It’s interesting. A children’s book stands out. Its title is “Mr. Snitzel’s Cookies” by Jane Flory. The message I got was almost the same as the one Joseph Campbell gave us when he said, “Follow your bliss.”

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

“The Biology of Belief” by Bruce H. Lipton Ph.D.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

There are lots of great new writers, but currently I’ve been so busy writing that I haven’t explored too many new talents.

Fiona: What are your current projects?

I’m really enjoying editing the fourth novel of my series, THE VAMPIRE RECLAMATION PROJECT. This book, “Brother’s Blood,” brings amazing twists and turns into the lives of the characters as they continue to change and grow. I’m also writing the second book in my series, THE MADONNA DIARIES.

Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

That force that we call Source or God has been my support throughout my life.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yes, but it’s more than a career. It’s a passion!

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

After so many revisions, I’m happy with it.

Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I think I simply loved stories and eventually wanted to write my own.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

I’m working on the second book in my series, The Madonna Diaries. The main character is in a coma and is observing life from an out-of-body viewpoint.

Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

When I write, the story reveals itself on its own. I don’t have to think about what’s going to happen ahead of time. My job is to be receptive and enjoy the process. Occasionally, if the airways of information are quiet, I have to be patient.

Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I don’t have a favorite author at this point. I read a wide variety of books on a wide variety of subjects.

Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

No, everything happens right where I sit at my computer.

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Since I’ve done a lot of graphic design and love creating visual products, I’ve designed my own covers.

Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

I don’t have any complaints about writing. For me, it’s a joyful experience!

Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

Writing has given me an opportunity to put aside the critical part of myself and trust the intuitive “me.” That has been a transformative gift for which I’m eternally grateful.

Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Write for the joy of writing. Love your stories. Be proud of yourself. Then no matter what happens, you’ve already given yourself a gift.

Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank you so much for spending time with my books!

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

No, not really.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Cute puppies and happy baby videos can make me laugh. Touching scenes in movies can make me cry.

Fiona: Is there one person past or present you would meet and why?

I’d love to see my mom again. I’d love to tell her how much I appreciate how she believed in who I am. She was such a wonderful person in every way. I couldn’t have had a better friend.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

Perhaps, it could read, “She was happy because she knew how blessed she was!” Why? Because it’s the truth.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

I have fun working with graphic design. I also enjoy being creative around the house. Beauty in all forms is very important to me.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I like comedies because I love to laugh. I enjoy dramas when they have a good ending and the characters find resolution. An oldie that I love is “Groundhog Day.” A new film that I really enjoyed was “The Intern” with Robert De Niro.

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Food: Italian. Colors: Golds and earth colors. Music: Some of the current dance music. I’m also always looking for new bands that have a new sound.

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Raising a family was a privilege that I treasure. My children were and are the best! I also like techie stuff and enjoy learning new techie skills.

A final note to Fiona:

Thank you for this interview, Fiona. And thank you for taking the time to give me and other writers an opportunity to express their views.

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

My Website: http://www.ssbazinet.com/

My Blog: http://ssbazinet.com/wp/

My Author’s page on Amazon:

http://www.amazon.com/S.-S.-Bazinet/e/B0078KS7BO (US)

http://www.amazon.co.uk/S.-S.-Bazinet/e/B0078KS7BO/ (UK)

 

