Name: Megan Linski

Age: 22

Where are you from: Manchester, MI

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc  

I graduated from Washtenaw Community College with an Associates in Liberal Arts and started my publishing company, Gryfyn Publishing, in 2014

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I just released #2 in my Kingdom Saga, Fallen From Ashes. #3, Redemption From Ashes, will be released at the end of November.

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I always knew I wanted to write. I remember being a little girl in the first grade, sitting at my tiny desk and coloring away at pieces of construction paper I had stapled together to make a book, or running around with a tiny notebook, scribbling down nonsense for my “kid-friendly” newspaper. I loved the idea of being a reporter or an author, and I pretended to be one every day. As I got older I tried to put that dream aside, as I never thought I could make money doing what I love. I worked as a reporter in high school and I received several features in magazines before I was twenty years old, but at the time I kept telling myself my writing wasn’t going to go anywhere and to find something more stable. It wasn’t until I was in college that I realized I was trying to force myself into being someone I’m not, and it went disastrously. I finally admitted to myself that I would be a writer, and I’ve been so much happier ever since.

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I think once I finished my first book, it all became real for me. I became a real writer from that point on.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I love reading. Always have. I just wanted to try out being an author, so I sat down and I did it. I wrote a book, and I’ve never wanted to stop since.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

My writing style varies from book to book depending on tone, characterization, and setting.

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Usually for titles I use the names of characters, or I choose sentences directly from the novel. For The Kingdom Saga I chose all of the titles directly from quotes in the book.

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

In Redemption From Ashes, my main character Queen Bennua suffers greatly on her journey to bring redemption both to herself and to her people. I believe the message there is you must always believe in yourself and that true, undying love does not change nor end no matter what horrible things happen in the world.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic?

The book is fantasy, but I try to incorporate real-world themes and issues alongside the magic.

Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Some of my books are based on my experiences, but The Kingdom Saga is not. Each of my three books is more based on an emotion I’ve felt in my life and had to work through, and the results of that emotion.

Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? A mentor?

Sam McClure from Resolution Edits changed my life the most as a writer, as he taught me everything I know. The poet Krystyl Lisoh (aka Krisen Lison) also turned me into the writer I am today. I would not be where I am without those two.

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

The Last Wish, the first book in The Witcher Series by Andrzej Sapkowski

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Constance Roberts is someone to watch. She’s indie, but she got picked up by a publisher for her book Sign in the Sigil. I feel she’s going places.

Fiona: What are your current projects?

Once I’m done with The Kingdom Saga, I’m going to work on a sequel to my bestselling novel, Alora.

Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

My boyfriend Matt was the one who encouraged me to begin publishing and to get my work out there. If he hadn’t pushed me, I would’ve never begun selling books or let people read my work. I owe everything to him.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I more see it as survival. It’s like if I don’t write, I don’t breathe. I have that sort of mentality.

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I wrote Fallen From Ashes in 10 days, and all my fans are saying it’s the best book I’ve written yet. So no, I would’t change a single thing.

Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

My grandma always used to take me to the bookstore each week, and from there I became obsessed with books. When I was little I used to create books out of construction paper and read them to kids in my class. Even back then, I wanted to write books.

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

From Fallen From Ashes:

I come to a halt at the top of the dune and Ahmar rears on his back legs, whinnying out a victory. I raise a hand and let out a wild cry, feeling like the pharaohs of old. No matter how many times Zahid races me, I always win.

My future husband comes trotting up the dune, looking winded. Although it was Aalee who did all the running, he’s gasping for air. He shakes his long bangs out of his shimmering, mischievous eyes, throwing a side glance at me. One stare from him makes me lose my own bearings. Even though we’ve been engaged for quite some time now, nearly six months, Zahid never fails to take my breath away

Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Sometimes you just have to get through it, even when you really don’t want to. There’s rarely a time when I don’t want to write, but when that happens I know I need to stick to it and do it anyway.

Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I love Peter S. Beagle. The way he weaves a story so intricately while still holding your attention fascinates me.

Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Not at the current moment.

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Clarissa Yeo of Yocla Designs

Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Letting that book go and publishing it, and allowing people to read it. That’s the absolute hardest thing, giving your book to people and opening up to them in that way.

Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

From Fallen From Ashes, I learned that something doesn’t necessarily have to be flawless in order to be something lovely and beautiful.

Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

That’s a very long answer, better answered by the FAQ’s on my website at www.meganlinski.com

Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

I don’t usually let people into my life. They see me through my writing. Each of my book carries a personal lesson or story that I want to tell people, so I transmit my life through each novel I write.

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

It had to be before I was 5, so no.

Fiona: What would you do if you didn’t write?

I would really, really love to get into nonprofit work. I love volunteering and helping people, so I feel if I didn’t write I would love working for an organization like American Foundation for Suicide Prevention, World Wildlife Fund, Make A Wish or something similar.

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

www.meganlinski.com

