Name : Lyn Croft

Age: Immortal

Where are you from: California

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc  

I’m from California where I raise my daughter and four dogs. My hobbies include writing, reading, video games and jewelry making. I have a background in multimedia and also minored in English, but spend my days working for a slot machine manufacturing company.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I just released my first children’s book, titled, Fluffy’s Thanksgiving. I also wrapped up the final novel in my Bloodlines Series and am looking to bring that to the public shortly.


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I’ve been writing since I can remember. I loved writing poems and short stories, but never tried my hand at full length novels till my later years.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I was always told growing up that I was a good writer, but I don’t think I believed it till I had my first book contract sitting in front of me.


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I wanted to challenge myself to see if I could create a story and have the courage to share it with the world. There is so much of my writing that has never been seen by other eyes, and I wanted to break out of that shell and change that.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I use a lot of description in my writing. I’m really focused on having the readers feel, taste, and see as much as possible.


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Blood and Lilies popped in my head one morning. I was throwing around the idea of Nephilim/human hybrids with a link between angels and demons. Blood of course is key for this. Lilies is based off of my main character, Cara. She’s pure and innocent, like the white Calla Lily, and it’s also our favorite flower. The two words just fit together and mapped the titles for the rest of the series.


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

It would be my view of the links between good and evil. I don’t see life in black and white. Where most people see the bad in others, I try to find the good in them and also a reason for why they act/seem evil. I don’t think anyone is truly malicious, but instead, has let their pain and suffering control them, because it’s easier for them this way. They can’t get hurt if they don’t care. But they always care, no matter how dark and twisted their souls may become – love can always bring them back.


Fiona:
How much of the book is realistic?

The most realistic parts would be scenes our characters visit as well as some traits of my main character. We like to same dress style and food. I tried to keep everyone and everything as close to our reality as possible, so that they would be believable.


Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

A few of my characters were inspired by people I have known. I wish I could say the events were from my own personal life, but my life isn’t that exciting. No handsome Halfling has swept in to rescue me yet…


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? A mentor?

I’ve been inspired by Stephen King all my life. I always had to have his latest book and couldn’t get enough of his stories. He’s been my mentor by sharing his imagination with me and helping my own imagination to grow.


Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I am currently reading, Bad Moon Rising, by Sherrilyn Kenyon. This is the first I’ve read by her and she’s absolutely amazing!


Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Isobelle Cate, Aurora Zahni, and Heaven Leigh Eldeen are a few that I’ve come to adore.


Fiona: What are your current projects?

I’m wrapping up Blood & Council – the final chapter in Bloodlines. It’s currently in my beta’s hands. I also just started NaNoWriMo for the month of November and am using this to get my next novel (a shifter story…) up and running.


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

My best friend, Kim. She’s been with me through thick and thin and has inspired me in so many ways. She’s a rock and is always cheering me on. I don’t think I could have the confidence I have without her.


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

You betcha! I dream of that day!


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I would like to re-do my last Sci-fi Fantasy novel. I feel it could be refined and extended. I had so much going on, I don’t feel it is as good as it could be. We’ll see once the readers start the feedback. Reviews are welcome!


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I don’t think I could pinpoint a single time, but I would have to give homage to my father for feeding my reading habit and my English teachers who would pick my stories and poems to share and use as examples. I had some amazing teachers that told me I had the gift and I should pursue it. They’re encouragement helped motivate me to challenge myself.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Sure…Here’s a little peak at Blood & Council – Book 3 in the Bloodlines Series –

Bloodshot eyes scanned the room. The barren confines offered no comfort against the cold hard cement and frigid bars. Fear fed the hungry tears that trickled down Kelsey’s soiled cheeks. A silent rage stirred within her, feeding her insanity as the shadows in the room taunted her. Time was lost. She couldn’t tell how many hours had passed, or even days as she was offered only the light of the fluorescents overhead -a small gift from whenever he felt the need to return and torture her for his sick fun.

She ached to rewind the events of the last few days; to a time before Zillah and the twins had disrupted her life. She wished she still stood side by side with the Halflings, fighting for a greater cause, proving to herself that she was a hero, and not the sad, pathetic girl that they left for dead, and who now sat prisoner of a lost and demented soul.

Footsteps echoed from beyond the room. Her eyes traveled up to see the silhouette waiting at the door. His hand hovered on the trigger, eager to begin his daily torment. The sprinklers hissed from above and came to life, releasing the shower down into her cell. Kelsey screamed and writhed against the burning boils erupting on her skin. The cold liquid burned like lava on her flesh as she cowered in the corner, feeling the eternity of each passing second.

“Please… stop.” She wailed.


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Sticking to the plan! I try to map out my stories. I sit down, outline, summarize, give birth to characters. Then, a few chapters in, the characters usually take over and plot on their own, deviating from our original strategy. They’re stubborn!


Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Stephen King. I know; it’s pretty cliché at this point. But, Mr. King has an ability to span across the genres, never runs short on imagination, and also takes time to motivate and coach others. He truly loves writing and wants anyone who has the love to write as well, to just get out and do so. To me, that’s the most inspiriting trait about him.


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

No, not yet. I’m hoping in the future I will be able to. I’m nearing that point in my career. My child is now an adult (though she’ll always be my baby girl) so I will have more opportunity to spread my wings and leave the nest.


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Beau Coup Publishing did the covers on the Bloodlines Series. The Battle for Phang Lore was created by me and Fluffy’s Thanksgiving was illustrated by talented, Rebecca Lyndsey.


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Finishing it! I struggle with my endings, because I also want them to pack such a punch, that it leaves you either remembering the book for life and eager to get the next chapter in the series. Even once I’m done, I have a horrible habit of going through, over and over, and rewriting what I wrote. Most times, I literally close my eyes and hit send, because I know I’ll never be satisfied with what I’ve wrote and my editors will never get their copy.
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

That if you truly put your heart and soul into a project, you can succeed when you never thought possible. All you have to do is get out there and try. And, don’t give up. Even on the days you feel like crawling back into a cave, to never see the light of day, keep going. You never know what tomorrow will bring.


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Write because you love to write. You will never need another reason besides that. It’s not about the fame or fortune, it’s about the journey and the love of the craft.


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank you to everyone that has supported me and has watched my career grow. I still have plenty more to come and I hope to continue this journey with you. You’ve all been so amazing to me. Thank you.

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

I can’t say I remember the first book I ever read, but I do remember being a huge fan of the Babysitter’s Club and The Hardy Boys when I was young. We progressed to Pet Cemetery and It, shortly after…

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Oh, goodness. I’m a huge sap. Pretty much anything that warms the heart or saddens the heart is a tear jerker for me. I’ve always been highly empathetic. But, I always prefer laughing is the best. Jokes, friends, and my daughter’s silly humor make me laugh.

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

I have a second sister out there somewhere. We were separated when she was just a baby and I’ve never been able to track her down.  It’s always left a small whole in my heart, wondering how she grew up and what’s she like.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

“I made some good deals. I made some bad…I really went in the hole with this one.”

We need to still have a sense of humor, even on the other side.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

I am a video game addict. I always have been and most likely, always will be. I’ll be the little old lady in the nursing home with my Xbox controller yelling at the punk kids online, all while annihilating them.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

There are several, but my favorites would be Supernatural, Walking Dead, and my all-time favorite – Buffy the Vampire Slayer.

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

I love Sushi and Mexican food. The hotter, the better! Purple is my favorite color, with green a close second, and my Pandora station is locked onto Pantera. I do listen to a variety of music, but I’ll always be the rocker girl at heart.

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I always wanted to work on video games. I studied graphics and multimedia, and absolutely love the industry. I still dabble in it, from time to time.

 Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

You can find me on Facebook or through my publishers’ web page. If you’re looking to interact with me, Facebook would be the best option.

http://www.beaucoupllcpublishing.com/lyn-croft/

www.facebook.com/lyncroftauthor

Twitter = @lyncroft27

 

Authors Amazon page  USA   http://www.amazon.com/Lyn-Croft/e/B00BPGLDQS

 

UK  http://www.amazon.co.uk/Lyn-Croft/e/B00BPGLDQS/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1446577764&sr=1-2-ent

