Name Robyn Andrew – R.L. Andrew
Age – argh
Where are you from – Shepparton, Victoria, Australia
A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc
I’m a chronically ill Australian writer. I write Horror movie reviews for a leading New York Website (CrypticRock.com), read both fiction and non fiction, or writing.
From youth I’ve been an avid reader,, and was introduced at a young age to the works of Edgar Allen Poe, and Stephen King. This was the beginning of a life long love of horror. I find inspiration from her a love of all things strange, weird, and the funny situations in everyday life.

I write across a number of genres but love horror and scifi. After raising three daughters, I live in rural Victoria with my husband and furry son, chocolate labrador, Max. I am currently revising and editing my first novel science fiction; A Lunatics Guide to Interplanetary Relationships, which I hope to traditionally publish.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?
I have a story titled “The Verge”, in latest release anthology, Sins of the Future:
http://www.amazon.com/Sins-Future-Horror-Stories-World-ebook/dp/B017FHTJSY/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1446342369&sr=8-2&keywords=Sins+of+the+Future


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I began writing short stories and poetry when quite young, but only when I was inspired. As I got older I kept doing it, mostly for special occasions, and in the back of my mind hoped to write a book one day but was primarily focused on being a legal executive until I became chronically ill with autoimmune diseases a few years ago. I’ve always had a curious and busy mind and as my body failed my brain needed more stimulation. I began writing again and it changed my life completely. While it hasn’t changed my being sick its been amazing for my mental health.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

But when I decided that is what I wanted to be doing, then I considered myself a writer. I didn’t consider myself an author until I got my first short story published. Though, everyone is different. That is my experience.

 

 


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I’m writing it now. Being a huge reader and with a big imagination I was always full of great ideas, but I was sick of how main characters were always attractive and perfect and fit and healthy. I wanted a real woman, sick, struggling with flaws and inner demons.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I am not a panster. I have to plot and plan and think. That’s how I am. Once I have an outline and idea where its going then I can be creative and just write. But if I don’t have the outline I end up all over the place wasting time where I shouldn’t be.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title? It just came to me.

Seriously. I was laying in bed one night and bam, there it was.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Yes. But I’m keeping it secret.

 

 


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic?

The characters themselves are real people, with real problems and even finding out you are part God doesn’t make them disappear and life become magical.

 

 
Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

A combination of all of those.

 

 

Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most?

All of Edgar Allen Poe.
a mentor? Yes most certainly. I’ve met and worked with some incredible writers that have taught me and encouraged me and helped me get where I am right now. Its a long list of amazing people.

 

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I actually read a few books at one time, including non fiction and fiction:
Writing a Breakout Novel by Donald Mass;
The Hidden History of the Human Race by Michael A Cremo & Richard L Thompson;
Quantum Jumps by Cynthia Larson;
Slave Species of the Gods by Michael Tellinger;
Touch & Go by Lisa Gardner;
Odd Thomas by Dean Koontz

 

 
Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Lots, most of my friends list.

 

 


Fiona: What are your current projects?

I’m working on my first book, taking an online Novel Boot Writing Camp, and a short story. I’d also like to write a movie script next year so I am tossing around ideas for that.

 

 


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

The Writers Groups that I am in online, predominately facebook. I have met some amazing and supportive writers and editors and if we met in person, we’d still be friends.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yes absolutely. It’s gone from being a hobby to a career in progress.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Not at all. It’s been a long process but its needed all that time. I created another inhabited planet, plus plotted future ones, including animals, plants, time lines, weather, politics, any thing you can think of. That is a process in itself, then you have the character and plot development. I’ve also worked on learning the writing craft in those years to get to the point I am now, writing it.

 

 


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

Not exactly but I’ve always loved to read. I also have a wicked imagination. Now I have somewhere to put all the ideas.

 

 
Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

As I mentioned I’m working on my first book. The main character is Shayne James. She’s a middle aged, chronically ill, broke woman with tenuous relationships with her kids. She can’t seem to get her shit together. After her unit was foreclosed by the bank she moved into an old run down house she inherited. Thinking life couldn’t get any worse, she pushes the relationships with her friends and family to the limit. Shortly after moving in, things get weird. Shayne is pulled into another world through the most surprising of places, her pantry. She’s forced to toughen up, face a new reality or she wont get home.

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

At different times, different aspects have been challenging. But those are the things I learn and practice the most until I get better at it. Dialogue, pace, action tension, character depth, I could go on.

 

 
Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

In many ways I would say Danielle Trussoni. Her debut novel, Angelopolis is a peace of art. The world she’s built is amazing and beautiful. Her character and plot development is outstanding.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Not yet, but having said that I use where I have already travelled in my stories, or where I would like to go.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

For the Anthologies the covers were designed by different cover artists. I hope to be traditionally published, but I’ll cross that road when I get to it.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

The time, effort, plotting, planning, characters, action, pace, dialogue, structure. lol. However those are all fun once you get it worked out.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I’ve learnt a lot thus far and continue to learn each day. I am not someone who is content at being mediocre or like everyone else. I want readers to read the book, burn their dinner, stay up late, and ignore the phone. When they’ve finished they call everyone they know demanding they read it.

 


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Keep writing, make it a routine, and enjoy it. Don’t ever think you are God’s gift to literature, listen to advice, interact with other writers and feed your imagination.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

I hope you enjoy my book once its out!

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Jane and Spot.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Probably things that other people wouldn’t laugh or cry at. I laugh when someones head rolls off in a scary movie, or they get thrown in a woodchopper and stuck. Or I crack a stupid joke, I find myself hilarious. I cry when I’m really sad, or down. Occasionally being chronically ill is too much for one day. Crying makes me feel a little better as long as I don’t wallow. Also when someone I love or care about is genuinely sad about something, not just being a sook, that makes me sad/teary.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

Jesus That man would have some interesting stories. I’m sure he’d shed some light on some dramatic inaccuracies. Plus he could heal me.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

“Abandon Hope All Ye Who Enter Here”. I think the reason speaks for itself!

 

 
Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Yes, reading, horror movies, fishing when I am able, baking and gardening.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows:

Ancient Aliens and the Great British Bakeoff.
/films do you enjoy watching? Horror first and foremost, action, and some scifi.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods:

Due to a medical condition I now have a strict diet. I’m limited to fresh fruit, veggies and fish. However, I love chocolate, and pasta, and meat and pizza and salami and lots of other things.
Colors: Black, blue, green.

Music:

Everything from the Stones to Greenday, to the Hill Top Hoods. I have quite diverse taste.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

An astronaut or a physicist.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

Social Media links:

Amazon Author Page
http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B00R0OY14A

Facebook Page:
https://www.facebook.com/robyn.andrew.9

Blog:
rlandrewauthor.wordpress.com

Twitter:
https://twitter.com/RAndrewAuthor
https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/46603326-robyn-andrew

