Name Kay Lindy

Age 33

Where are you from

I was born in California, but I grew up in Oregon. The setting to Fearing Love is very much my childhood home.

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc  

I have a BA in Legal Studies, with a heavy influence in Legal Writing; which means I am ready for law school. However, I no long plan to pursue that career. I currently work for one of the top 100 wealthiest companies in America and I enjoy where I am at. I have a house full: 4 girls; ages: 24,17,11,and 7. I have been married to my loving for nine years. Plus three Boston Terriers.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I am headed to Disneyland this weekend with my family!

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I have always written, but I never took any of it seriously. It very literally became a suggested form of therapy. I found that submerging myself into fiction was a great way to let out all the anxiety.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I’m a write? Wait… can you say that again?

Really I think the first time I felt validation was when someone other than friends, family, colleges told me what a wonderful story I had written.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I have had personal experiences with domestic violence. I started writing as a method of therapy, but the longer I wrote I began to realize that I was creating a story. Albeit a fictional story, but the emotions is very raw and real. I wanted to show women that they don’t have to fear leaving and the being their own hero is the best type of hero.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I am not sure I would call it a writing style. When I start a new book is know three things. The first, is the issue that need resolving. The second, how is that issue going to be resolved (the finale if you will). The Third, would be the character traits of the main character. The rest of book I let flow freely. I write and see where it takes me.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

I had a hard time with coming up with the title of the first book. I batted a few ideas around, but they were either used by other authors or they just didn’t feel right. I noticed that the word FEAR repeatedly came up while I was writing, but the grand slam of it all was when I wrote a passage towards the end of the book and it hit me like a ton of bricks. “Fearing Love”

Passage: Brandon taught me that love was something that was to be feared. He broke me down until I no longer believed in myself, taking bit by bit of my self-worth and destroying everything I had ever known to be righteous and loving. He completely distorted my view on how someone should love and be loved.

Logan taught me that loving someone means showing that person compassion and risking yourself, not them. He showed me that fear should not be the cost of love.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

To live free of fear and that being a heroine is more important than having a hero.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic?

The book is fiction with some emotional truths.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

Books that influence me… I’m not sure I would you the word influenced me. I love to read books that get me emotional involved with the story.

As an indie writer we have all kinds of mentors. It is a great network to be a part of, but my biggest cheerleaders is Renee Kennedy Holmes.

 

 
Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Book two of Ascent Series “The Fall of Kass” by Kris Hack.

 

 
Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Kris Hack has got my attention. She is a wonderful writer.

Dawn Stanton is set to release her first novel November 17 called Waiting For Us and I am really looking forward to that.

 

 
Fiona: What are your current projects?

I am currently working on the second book Following Love, in the series, Loves of Deception. I hope to release by March. I also am working on a top secret project.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

I have a group I refer to as My Inner Circle. They are five indie authors that I can lean on for anything.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I see writing as a hobby, but would it be cool to write full time! That would be the best.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No, Jessica tells the story that needed to be told. I don’t think it would have had the same effect if it was any different.

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I had an English teacher in school that pushed me. I remember that she kept returning an assignment to me and telling me to rewrite it. I remember being angry, how many times did she want me to keep doing the same work? Finally, I changed prospective of the story. When I turned it in she lit up and told me she knew I had it in me and that I should write that’s that I am emotional connected to because that is where my most effective story telling comes from.

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Following Love is the second book in the series Loves of Deception. This story is told from the perspective of Jessica’s sister Roxy. It’s set in Portland, Oregon. I am really excited about this story. I think it is going to set the tone for the whole series. Where Fearing Love was written in the aftermath of the deception, Following Love brings you back before Jessica’s story. Plus Roxy is a little spicier that Jessica.

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Names are hard. I don’t want to use someone’s name that I know and it also has to fit the character personality.

 

 
Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I am a diehard John Grisham fan. I am not sure what the hook is, but it is there.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

I have not traveled outside of driving distance, yet. Although, I hope that this adventure will give me the opportunity to explore that world a little more.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Cover your Dreams

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Researching the areas I write about that I have never been to.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

The biggest thing I learned is that you need a team that will support you and someone who had worked through this process before.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Write! If you feel you have something to say, WRITE! So often I hear new author say that they have had someone tear them down and tell them there work didn’t meet some expectations. What I know is that stories are much like food. Not everyone likes the same things. We won’t all enjoy reading the same stories.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Follow your dreams. Never let the fear of something hold you back from anything in life. It truly isn’t worth it.

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Little House on the Prairie

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

I cry every time one of my girls perform.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

Susan  B Anthony, I would love to talk to her and see if she know that she was doing something so important.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

Oh NO, lets not talk about death.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

I love to go fishing and camping.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I love crime shows and Royal Pains.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Pizza, Green, and I am eclectic so my music choices change with my mood.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I would love to work for a non-profit organization that helps children, organizing fundraisers.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

My website is: http://kaylindy.weebly.com/

Blog site will be up and running shortly called Indies Rockin Indies.

http://www.amazon.com/Fearing-Love-Loves-Deception-Book-ebook/dp/B0125Q7WRA/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1446373157&sr=1-1

