Name Kim Smith

Age *smile* older than dirt

Where are you from Mid South region of the US

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc

I am the author of Love Inn, The Last Dragyn Slayer, and An Unexpected Performance. I host the podcast, Writer Groupie found on my website.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I recently released The Dread Room, a Warped Mind Collection. Just for Halloween reading!

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I began writing in grade school as most everyone does. I made it into a profession in the early 2000s because I couldn’t make any more excuses not to.

 

 


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

When I wrote The End on my first fantasy book. It has never been published, but I have never stopped writing.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I didn’t like how the Lord of the Rings ended. I wanted it to go on and on, so I wrote what came next.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I think so. I didn’t understand about voice in the early days, but now, I think most anyone would recognize my writing.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

I love titles. I always keep what strikes me the most. I did get help with the title of An Unexpected Performance from my son. He is very talented in art and when he gave me the title, it stuck, but mostly, I come up with my own titles. Love Inn, for example, is about a bed and breakfast where a lonely widower finds love again.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Usually. The Last Dragyn Slayer is all about greed. I wrote it to fit into a contest about the seven deadly sins.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic?

I draw on my life experiences so there is a note of realism in EVERYTHING I write, even fantasy.

 

 
Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Usually something from my own life, but sometimes, it may be something that I heard from someone else. You never know when someone else’s story will wiggle into your thoughts.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

Every book I read influences me in some way. Now that I pay attention to how a writer crafts his or her story, it REALLY does.

 

 
Fiona: What book are you reading now?

The Parting by Beverly Lewis. My first Amish romance!

 

 


Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

I love everything by Kristi Rose, a new and upcoming romance author. Her Second Chances series is great.

 

 
Fiona: What are your current projects?

Currently, working on a YA romance called Puppy Love, and a non-fic project that is so new I can’t even talk about it! And finishing up edits on the first book in my mystery series.

 

 


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

Hmm…. That’s hard. All of my publishers went out of business…

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yes. It is my retirement plan.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Yes, I would make it longer.

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I have always loved writing stories. It’s ingrained in my DNA.

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

 

This is from Puppy Love Brandon Durham stood looking at her with his hands on his hips, and she suddenly wondered when he became such a hottie. He was the beast on the bus. The one who’d recently done a drum roll on her head with his pencil.

The soft winter sunlight fell across his hair turning the average brown into a mass of auburn and blond. And when did he get so tall? He stood next to her while she worked with the sign, and when they stood together to observe it, she’d felt like a midget.

And he was actually being nice to her. What had happened to the mean boy she’d just watched stroll down the bus aisle?

“Yeah, you could come along if you want to,” she told him, grabbing the duct tape roll. They gave the sign one last glance and started down the street. He carried the signs she’d made, and she was amazed once again at his transformation from the hellion on the bus to this nice, polite guy.

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Time. I need time to write and never have enough.

 

 
Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?  

Karen White – she has a voice that always strikes a chord every book.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

No. But would love to do more just to enlarge my horizons.

 

 


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I designed all my own covers with the exception of Dance with Me

 

 


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Knowing when to write The End. I could go on and on.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I always learn something new about the human experience with every book I write.

 

 


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

My best advice is for you to READ. Please, please read. Read on your phone, your computer, and in paper. Read a lot. You will be such a better writer for having done so!

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank you so much for being my fan and follower all this time. You are wonderful.

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Yes. It was a silly story about a boy, a girl, and a dog. Haha. Sounds like my current work in progress!

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

A well written story can evoke either emotion in me.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person past or present you would meet and why?

I would like to meet with J.R.R. Tolkien just to tell him I wrote the REAL ending to The Lord of the Rings.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

My name, my birthdate, my day of death, and Philippians 4:6 – because it has gotten me through a lot of trials.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

I am an avid photographer/videographer and love to design anything graphics related.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Right now, I am stuck on episodes of Empire, and binge watching Dr. Who.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music  

I love pizza, purple, and popular hits.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I would love to be an entertainment journalist. I already podcast interviews with authors, and it would be fun to do likewise with celebs.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it? Yes, it is http://www.kimsmithauthor.com

Amazon Authors page http://www.amazon.com/Kim-Smith/e/B002UCXWCO

 

