Name: Ashlee Taylor

Age: A lady never reveals her age, I will say this though… Old enough to know better, too young to care.

Where are you from: My profile indicates I’m in Paris, France. I am actually from Maryland.

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc:

I’m a mother of three, they’re everything to me.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

Well currently as I type this, I’m getting ready for a party happening next week for a release party for the Christmas In The City Anthology 11/2. I’m so proud of this book and the fact the proceeds go to charity.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

The conversation went like this. A fellow Author once said: “You work full time, you have children, you don’t have what it takes to write.” With that being said, Finding Salvation was born. It was a challenge and we succeeded.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

The moment one person (we didn’t know) bought our book.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

Being told that we couldn’t.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

My writing style is that I try to stick as close as I can to real life situations or as I would hope they would be.

 

 


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Finding Salvation, one of the female main characters needed to find Salvation from her past and her present. Finding Redemption was the male characters need to redeem himself and his past.  Can’t Walk Away came from the photo I chose for the original cover that I fell in love with. And well, in that story you can tell why she would want to walk away and why he wouldn’t let her. And Finding Christmas, ties into the Finding Series and well it’s about Christmas.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

A message, not really. I want them to know that real life isn’t easy, but it can be rewarding.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic?

Probably 10%

 

 
Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

For me, no. Just on things I’ve picked up and imagined along the way.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

Rotten By: JL Brooks,  JL Brooks is one of those women who in one sentence could sum up every problem and make everything right and you feel better about what’s going on in life. And that story, it really pulled and tugged at my heart because I knew how much realness went to it.

 

 
Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Right now, I am currently reading/writing  Finding Absolution and an secret untitled project I’m so excited about.

 

 
Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

You know, I would say that I’m falling in love with the Authors that are attending the Authors In The City signing. That signing happens to be very close to my heart. And of course Kaden Matthews…her books are so good I can’t wait to see where she goes from here.

 

 
Fiona: What are your current projects?

How we came to be releases 12/1. Finding Absolution to finish out the Finding Series coming in March. Super secret project coming in February.  I have several different stories that will make their way out next year.  😀

 

 


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

Team Mom – my girls, I love them like sisters  Stephanie & Lori…  and All the ladies in Jaseland

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Maybe one day, right now I’m just having fun with it.

 

 


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No, but if you were to ask my co-author Elizabeth Hayes she’d say she’d want more people to die.

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

Yes, being told I couldn’t. That was in 2013.

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Finding Christmas is the Finding Series characters enjoying Christmas and playing practical jokes on each other.

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Being able to stay on task. I actually have 6 WIP’s going on at once.

 

 
Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

JR Ward or Kristen Ashley… both amazing women.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Not really, although next year I will be doing more travelling.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I did for the first ones, my publisher did for can’t walk away. Author Shari Ryan did for Christmas In The City.

 


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Making sure it’s cohesive, hoping someone (my editor) understands my vision.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I learned that the funnier is the better.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Try and write what you know, if not research or ask questions. Also, a notebook is key.. stuff will hit you when you least expect it, write it all down.  I actually write faster in a notebook and you may do the same. Also utilize nanowrimo it’s a good way to keep on task.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

I appreciate each and every one of you and look forward to your feedback.

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

The pokey little puppy.  & Harold & The purple crayon.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

My kids. Hands down. They are my greatest joy.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person past or present you would meet and why?

I would love to see my Grandpa again now that I am an adult. I was so young he didn’t know how much he meant to me.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

loving Mother would be what I want.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

I love to read twilight fanfiction.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

NCIS, The Walking Dead, Bones.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music  

popcorn shrimp from Red Lobster, Blue and I like all music except for Country…. Edward Cullen turned me on to Classical it isn’t so bad.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Probably a blogger.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it? http://www.ashleetaylorauthor.com

Finding Salvation

Finding Redemption

Can’t Walk Away

Christmas In The City

Men Of Mayhem

 

