Name: Amy Garrett
Age: 32
Where are you from: born in Springfield, Ohio… raised in Minnesota, now live in Georgia near Atlanta
A little about your self :
I was in the army for 4 years as a truck driver. I did a deployment to Iraq in 2007-2008. Now I am a mom, of Haley (who my first and only book so far is about) who is 3, and I have identical twin boys who are 8 months old.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?
My first book, Oh Haley! was just pulished on October 24! I just started an actual novel though today!

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?
I always loved writing. I used to write poetry when I was younger and even had some published.

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?
Officially not until I had my first book sale! (Which I admit was bought my me, LOL)

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?
Another writer, Nicole Garcia, and I have become friends. She was always commenting on stories I would post on facebook that Haley was doing and would comment Oh Haley! on them…. after a conversation with her I decided that I would go ahead and complile some of the stories into a book! Yes, there are more…and she has done more things now… there will probably be a sequel.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?
Not that I am aware of! lol

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?
Author Nicole Garcia actually came up with the name lol

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?
Yes…that raising a toddler is hard work, and you are not alone. There are other parents who have gone through what you are going through, and have maybe gone through worse!

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic?
All of it!

Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?
Yes! my 3 year daughter Haley!

Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?
There are so many great books… we didn’t have many toys at my grandma on my dad’s side’s house… but she had a library of great books! Little Women, Shakespeare, all the classics. I was reading them in elementary school! High school I really liked the book Ishmael, and that really stuck with me. My favorite all time book is the little golden book Katie the Kitten. I have most of it memorized and I haven’t seen the book in over 20 years! lol If I had to say who my mentor was I would have to say Nicole Garcia. She’s given me some tips along the way! She also is a mommy who finds time to write!

Fiona: What book are you reading now?
I will be choosing a new book to read tonight….so nothing! lol

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?
Not that I can honestly think of right now!

Fiona: What are your current projects?
I have another humorous parenting book about half done… but I JUST started an actual novel 🙂

Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.
Amazon? I have no idea lol

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?
I would love to honestly! It won’t pick up until the kids are a little older…it’s hard trying to balance everything!

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?
I really don’t think Oh Haley could ever be truly finished…. she is always doing something lol. I had some formatting issues I would like to figure out how to fix though

Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?
Nope…as long as I can remember i was writing stories lol
Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?
I literally just started…I have 2 sentences lol.

Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?
Trying to keep kids out of things while i type…

Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?
I don’t really have a favorite author lol

Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?
No

Fiona: Who designed the covers?
I did! that is a real photo of my daughter on the cover!

Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?
Trying to decide when it was done enough lol

Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?
I learned that i really have been through a lot with this child and that I am as strong as people say I am

Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?
Don’t give up! Just get it done! I couldn’t afford an editor or formatter… i had no luck with beta readers… i almost gave up but decided to just do it myself and get it out there!

Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?
Thank you for your support! please review! at the time of this interview i have none lol

 
Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?
Katie the kitten

 

 
Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?
Too much lol

 

 
Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?
Nope 🙂

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?
I want to be cremated so I don’t take up space lol

 

 
Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?
I love to hike!

 

 
Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?
OMG I can not wait for the reboot of X-Files!!!! I’m a total x-files junkie! I also love castle, bones, chicago fire and pd, those kind of shows!

 

 
Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music
food: key lime pie and roast beef! colors: it really depends on my mood! Music: country

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?
I have an Associate Degree in Paralegal Studies

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it? the page for oh haley is: https://www.facebook.com/Oh-Haley-415233028667373/

amazon author page: http://www.amazon.com/Amy-Garrett/e/B0173HSMWK/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1446237251&sr=8-1
book page on amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Oh-Haley-believe-happened-stories-ebook/dp/B0172MQ3IG/ref=asap_bc?ie=UTF8
facebook book page (with funny photos!) : https://www.facebook.com/Oh-Haley-415233028667373/

