Name: Alexandria Sure

Age: 45

Where are you from: Michigan

 

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc:

Currently, I am single and living with my rescue deaf Jack Russell terror.  I have two talented brothers, supportive parents and a niece that is my world.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

My first book, Before Him Comes Me, releases next month of the 19th.  HUGE NEWS!!!  I have a massive online release party scheduled for the same day with twenty authors that have been monumentally helpful in my journey of writing my book.

 

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

All kinds of things inspire me. I would come up with ideas for stories that I would want to read and I would ask my author friends to write them.  When I began talking about the story idea that would become Before Him Comes Me, I was told to sit down and write my own damn story.

It took me awhile to gather the courage to do it but on September 1, 2014 … I sat down and began to write.

 

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I’ll let you know when it happens.

 

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

Fifty Shades was my gateway into the world of BDSM.  Once I finished the series, I wanted to know more and read better.  As I read, I began to wonder how the couples in all these BDSM relationships would impact the relationships of their children. From there I added a couple twists for my own entertainment and, hopefully, yours.

 

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I approach scene from a see, hear, touch, taste and smell point-of-view.  Ninety percent will be edited out but it gives the reader a 360 view of each scene.  I am descriptive in my writing.  The first draft of Before Him Comes Me was 109K words.  My editor cut A LOT!!

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

HAHAHAHAHA … The title.  I had written about 5K words in the two months.  I was surfing during my writing time and I stumbled upon NaNoWriMo.  I started clicking around the site and learned that it stood for National Novel Writing Month and it goal was to inspire people to write 50K in 30 days.  It was totally free and I needed a push.

I called Modern Jake & said I needed a quick cover to enter (cover not necessary but I don’t like to leave anything blank).  He said he needed an image and a title.  As I flipped through images, the title hit me, as did two major scenes.

The title, cover and the scenes all came from me entering NaNoWriMo.  http://nanowrimo.org/

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Yes, you can’t give yourself to someone until you’re whole.

 

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic?

There’s a lot of myself threaded throughout each character.  *WINK*

 

Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Yes

 

Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

“Giving Tree”, “She Can Be Undone”, “Million Little Pieces”, Fifty Shades of Grey”, and  “Of Mice or Men”

Mentor: Kasidy Blake, Noelle Bodhaine, Al Daltrey, Kate Benson, Jason Wylde, J.L. Sins, and Colleen LeHew Lee.

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

“Scene and Structure” by Jack Bickham

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Yes, sooo many!!

New to me: I am looking forward to reading JL Sins, Debbie Zello, CC Genovese, Renee Kennedy.

Lola Fontaine is going to be exciting to read.  Britt Gaines is going to be delicious.  Sadie Bissett’s book is going to be mind-blowing.  DiAnne Sandvik is an amazing storyteller.

 

Fiona: What are your current projects?

I begin writing my second book November 1st … NaNoWriMo!!

My second book will explore the life of a businesswoman not fulfilled in her current situation.  What does one do when the satisfaction you seek requires you give up so much?

Before Him Comes Me has a second book to be written and several novella for secondary characters.

Additionally, there is collaboration that I am extremely excited to start working on.  This author and I have been discussing this idea for a couple of months and it’s a GO!!

 

Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

The indie authors that I have met online and in my community.  Incredibly supportive and generous.

 

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

That is the plan but I have bills & I like to shop.  I’m keeping my day job.

 

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest

book?

Yes, but I can’t elaborate until the book is out.

 

Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I’ve always loved words- they captivate me. My goal is make words dance on a page.

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

I have only begun to outline book two.  I am ill prepared for NaNoWriMo but putting a book out the same month.

 

Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Managing my time!!  I work 40 -50 hours a week.  Add writing, the social media, networking, studying my craft, family, friends, football … there leaves very little time to sit down and breathe.

 

Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

James Frey- “Bright Shinning Morning”. It made me feel like I was there. There was great character development. It made me feel I could write. He writes very, straight forward, to the point. So do I.

 

Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Only in my mind

 

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Modern Jake   He is brilliant!!  He has done all of my graphics for Before Him Comes Me.

 

Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Editing!!  Editing is absolutely positively without a doubt HORRIBLE but necessary.

 

Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

My life entire changed while writing this book. I learned a lot about myself. I found I was stronger, more creative and much more powerful than I ever thought possible. I lost over 135 lbs and I found my passion.

The author that told me to write my own damn story as said that it would not matter if I hit the publish button or put the book in a drawer, the process of writing the book would change me forever.  No truer words were ever said.

 

Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

I’m still seeking advice for myself.  If you have any … tell me!!  I have the answers to about 2 questions. Sit down, write, and don’t give up!  Last year, I was you!  YOU GOT THIS!!

 

Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

I hope Before Him Comes Me is worthy your time. I did my best. Hope you enjoy it as much as I do. I love the story. It IS unconventional. Thanks for giving me a chance.

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

“Giving Tree”

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

I love to laugh. Stupid humor … dirty jokes … my friends.

Tears.  Commercials … any family or friend that is in pain or unhappy … books

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

Princess Diana.  I think she was unique and misunderstood.  She had a great heart. I loved her. I cried for days when she was killed.

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

“She Cared”

Because that is the single most important thing I can do.  I am not rich.  I don’t have all the answers.  I cannot fix much.  BUT … I CAN CARE.

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

I have time for hobbies?

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I have time for TV and movies?

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Music-Kodaline:

Here’s a secret … “Beside You” by Phildel is one of my favorite songs from the book.

Color- Green

Food-Steak and Potatoes

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

T.V. Program Director or running a non-profit

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

www.alexandriasure.com

 

