Name: Shakisha S. Edness

Age: 41

Where are you from: Newark, New Jersey, but partially raised in Atlanta Ga.

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc.

I’m an extension of God’s love without limit; speaking the truth, changing perspective, and gaining lives to Christ.

I am a daughter, sister, mother, and grandmother. I am a daughter of former drug addicts. A sister to two siblings. A single mother of three, having my oldest daughter at age fifteen, youngest daughter at seventeen, and youngest and only son at twenty one. An overcomer of domestic abuse, high school dropout, and welfare recipient.

I am a Speaker, Teacher, Evangelist, and Author.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

My latest news is I am working on a few more books, speaking engagements, and two plays in the year of 2016.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I began writing out of my pain. My pain directed me to my God’s given purpose. I always wanted to write since I was twelve years old.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I began writing in 2005 and I wrote for ten years before published any of my work. I fist am a writer, then I became a Published Author in 2014.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

Women Overcoming Weight-Loss was the first book and again it was my pain that drew me to writing. I wasn’t sure I was writing a book, but then God revealed it to me and I couldn’t put it down.

This book is designed to help women lose weight mentally, emotionally, spiritually, and physically. Shedding the dead weight that they’ve carried from their childhood life into their teenage life, and not realizing they’ve carried it into their adult life and now it is affecting every part of their lives.

I was inspired by the weight that I lost and I had to spread the good news.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

No. However God direct me, I follow.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

It was the journey of forgiveness. And then seeing the physical weight fall immediately after learning how to forgive and let go.

 

 


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

To learn how to free!

 

 


Fiona:
How much of the book is realistic?

Every part of it is realistic.

 

 
Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

This is my life story, all experiences are mine.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

Bishop Dale C. Bronner. His books titled Home Remedies and Check Up from the Neck Up were the first books I read. I wasn’t a reader and because they were short, I decided to read them. But as Bishop says, “Never judge a book by the length because the length doesn’t determine the Strength.”

He has mentored me from the pulpit for ten years. Also, Jamal Bryant is a mentor from YouTube videos lol.

 

 
Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Repeat After Me by Coach Mark Todd.

 

 
Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Yes, indeed. Sean Riley. His book is titled DIABLO!

 

 
Fiona: What are your current projects?

My latest project is SELF!

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

I have a prayer line and the entire line has supported, encouraged, and lifted me through this entire process. Tranisha Hollman, which was the first author that I must say embraced the calling on my life and inspired me to stay the course regardless of not knowing how I was going to do. Her book is such a blessing. It is titled Loving Leah! This book had me on a fast four eight hours, I couldn’t put it down.

Cassandra Hollman was a huge supporter during this process! I must say my daughter, Shanice Edness, my editor, and my God son Jacobie Brown, my cover designer; if it wasn’t them I would still be holding rough drafts in my hand, but God! God paved the way, connected he dots, and He kept me in the late night hours making sure the dream kept me awake.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yes, I know a traditional publisher will find me and the rest shall be history!

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

NOTHING!

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

Having come from a dysfunctional loving family, I felt it was a calling on my life to share what I’ve been through to help others get through.

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

A Man Can Only Do What A Woman Allows, Self-Matters, Men In Transformation, From the Eyes of A Child, to name a few

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

My focus was broken, so to be honest to regain it has been a huge challenge for me.

 

 
Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

TD Jakes, Dale C. Bronner, Michelle McKinney Hammond, Joyce Meyers, and this is naming a few. Ministry, reaching the lost and teaching the found is the root of it all.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

I do as many speaking engagements as I possibly can and looking to more in the future.

 

 


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Jacobie Brown.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Not getting it done sooner.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I learned endurance, perseverance, God’s strength in my weakness, and creativity.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers? Never give up!

Always remember theirs an audience for every book that is published. The one thing that helped me was to hear these words from Bishop Dale C. Bronner, “Do what you can on the level you’re on.” I had to make a decision if I wanted to self-publish or wait until someone notice me. I began to hear those words and I began to RESEARCH because my mentor, my Bishop, my leader says NEVER beg for what you have the ability to attract! I was begging people to just simply give me information on HOW TO, but they wouldn’t! So now I don’t only have eight published books, have been on numerous radio stations from Atlanta to Florida, and Atlanta Live television station, and speaking in churches and at many conferences; I have my own publishing company!

When people give you information they limit your ability to learn more.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Yes, thanks. We all have a story and God’s word says we overcome by the Blood of the Lamb and the SHARING of OUR testimony! Share your story to help others and embrace the stories of others to help you. I would rather learn a lesson through someone else’s mess, than to have to make the same mess of another to learn the lesson.

My point is there are some things you just don’t have to go through because others have already been through it for you.

All of my books are on Amazon.com just simply type in Shakisha Edness. Those that do not read friend request me on facebook, twitter, periscope, and YouTube. I have videos that will be a blessing to you as well.

Author Shakisha Edness is my facebook name and you can also find me there in Women Overcoming Group & Circle Of Love.

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

The first book I read I believe it was TD Jakes Woman Thou Art Loose.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

I laugh easy, but I cry easily. I am very sensitive so seriously I can cry happy tears and tears of sorrow. To make me laugh isn’t the easiest, but I smile to make up for it.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

Oprah Winfrey. I have desired to meet her since I was twelve and my family members were struggling with their drug addictions. I felt she was resourceful and had a heart of God! Not gold, but God.

Iyanla Vanzant because I am her daughter in the Spirit. She is real and I love that about her.

Tyler Perry because I know we have work to do!

Whitney Houston she was someone I loved deeply.

All the above basically learned how to press through their struggles and it has blessed me.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

An extension of God’s Love without Limits because that is who I am!

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Everything Tyler Perry produce. And Alex and Stephen Kendrick! The OWN Network is the very reason I pay for cable.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Seafood, Pasta, Breads, and Vegetables. All Neutral colors. Gospel music.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

A hairstylist or a singer.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it? http://womenovercoming.info/

http://tra-cinc.org

http://shakishaedness.com/

 

 

http://www.amazon.com/Break-Through-You-Beat-Odds/dp/0692255109/ref=sr_1_7?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1445630718&sr=1-7

 

 

 

http://www.amazon.com/Break-Through-II-Condoms-Wearing/dp/0692025391/ref=sr_1_6?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1445630718&sr=1-6

 

http://www.amazon.com/Women-Overcoming-Weight-Loss-Strengthening/dp/0692025383/ref=tmm_pap_title_0

 

 

http://www.amazon.com/Uncovering-through-Poetry-Uncovered-Unashamed/dp/069225515X/ref=tmm_pap_title_0

 

 

