Name CK Dawn

Age Ha! I’ll never tell 😛

Where are you from Born near Chicago and raised near Ft. Hood in central Texas (Hi all you army brats out there! What’s up?)

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc  

I live with the love of my life John and we’ve been together for over twenty years (crap! Did I just giveaway how old I am?) We love our fur babies and traveling the world. I’m a coffee loving gamer girl, Sci-fi enthusiast, and sneaker wearing advocate. I love to snuggle up with my cats and read, but found writing fantasy stories was even better. In writing, I have truly found my bliss. Stay tuned, because there will be a lot more to come in the Netherwalker series. Seriously, things have only just begun.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

 I just released a YA spooky short story anthology with some sweet author friends of mine just in time for Halloween called, Darkness Echoes. It’s currently #1 in two genres on Amazon’s Best Sellers lists and it’s FREE!


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I’ve always loved to write. Probably because I’m not much of a talker (introverts unite, separately 😛 ) but it wasn’t until about four years ago that I started to pursue it officially.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

 I don’t know that I really have yet. It’s all still so new and surreal to be part of the writing world. And I don’t know if I’ll ever be able to look at the likes of Stephen King and say yes, I’m a writer too. But, I’ll always strive to become a better writer in more genres with more stories to tell. I guess if I have to pick a moment though it would have to be when I hit that upload and publish button on the Zon with my debut novel Cloak of Shadows. It was thrilling! I had some of my family around me, my little sister got to read the dedication I made out to her, and we had a nice celebratory dinner with some friends.  It’s one of my favorite memories now.


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

 Hands down I give all the credit to my lil’ sis. She is my inspiration and the driving force with her pride in me.


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

 Lol, I’ve been told that I’m very descriptive. I like to give details in scenes so the reader feels immersed in my world, almost able to taste and smell the things happening in the story. As a reader, I love being consumed by a good book, not just by the characters we fall for, but by becoming part of that world, like it’s our secret place. Don’t you?


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

 First of all, I’m a gamer girl, so I get inspiration from all the cool names of armor and gear. Second, I enjoy titles that have more than one meaning and reveal themselves the farther you get into the story. So, does Cloak of Shadows translate into the shadow creatures that are cloaked from the human world? Am I talking about family members being in the shadows of their spotlighted knight and cousin? Or is what you know about the Netherwalker series going to be turned upside down in book 2, Cloak of Secrets, and you the reader are the one cloaked in the shadows?


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Yes! It’s no coincidence that my hunters’ orbs glow purple or that it’s Lourdie’s favorite color. It’s the color of the anti-bullying movement.


Fiona:
How much of the book is realistic?

It’s set in our modern day world but there is a hidden world full of magic and creatures most humans don’t know about and I’ve taken the stories of King Arthur and Camelot and given them my own unique twists.


Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Nope, I just have a wild imagination. Although all my characters have some aspects of myself in them. And I can’t help but compare the relationship of Lourdie and Abbey to me and my sister’s.


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

 I grew up reading Stephen King and he’s been a big influence on me as of late always inspiring new writers to never give up. I also love George R R Martin and Karen Marie Moning.


Fiona: What book are you reading now?

 I’m reading Travel Glasses by Chess Desalls and I’m loving it!


Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

 Absolutely! I recently read Blood Marked by indie author Lu J Whitley and was blown away. I’m totally a fangirl now. Also, I have to give a shout out to Vaun Murphrey and her novel Chimera. It was fresh, unique, and I love the characters.


Fiona: What are your current projects?

 Books 2 and 3 in my Netherwalker Series: Cloak of Secrets and Veil of Light, a holiday short story anthology with my Darkness Echoes co-authors plus 6 more authors this time, and a new steamy paranormal romance due out next year.


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

 Ugh, just one?!? It started with #IndieBooksBeSeen. I felt so alone after publishing, like a little speck of dust in the vacuum of space, but then I started seeing that hash tag on twitter, and then I started seeing it everywhere. Come to find out it was a whole movement of like-minded Indie authors that now I’m proud to say, I’m one of them. I also have to say that the #Awethors and Author Promo Coop are some of the most supportive groups I’ve ever come across and I’m honored to be with them as well.


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

 It’s my bliss so I’ll always write. I hope however that it never becomes work. But if it turns into a career…hellz yes, sign me up!


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I wouldn’t change a thing (except for the spelling errors I catch from time to time.) I love my characters’ and the Netherworld that they’ve created. I feel like a passenger in their world sometimes, a mere vessel for the story to pour out of, and I love every minute of it.


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

 With poetry when I was little and then fantasy writing assignments in English class.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Here’s a little teaser from my steamy paranormal romance:

He sniffed the air around her.

“What?” she yelled.

“You reek of Ignis Coven,” he smelled the air again.

“I. Am. Not. Fire!” She got defensive. Something in his accusation triggered a flash of a memory from the night the Ignis had invaded, but she shoved the image down. It was impossible. Even if she could use fire she wouldn’t know how.

Kane got closer and inhaled her deeply, “I hunt Ignis scum for a living, princess, I think I know fire when I smell it.”

“Oh yeah? Bulls*t, watch!” Eve was determined to prove him wrong. She walked to the kitchen and rummaged through the drawers. “God, can’t this piece of shit cabin have at least one damn thing I need?” As soon as the words left her lips she felt guilty. She didn’t hate the quaint little cabin she loved it.

Kane’s lip curled into a smirk as he reached into his jean pocket and produced a lighter, flaunting it as if he knew what she had planned.


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

The technical aspects have me wanting to pull my hair out.


Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I love all of Karen Marie Moning’s books. She’s tuff and takes no prisoners. Never one to shy away from the evil that lurks within all of us. I just love her style.


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

 Not yet, but I hope I have to soon.


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Holt Graphic Design is doing all the books in my Netherwalker Series http://holthaleywalker.com/ and Kellie Dennis http://www.bookcoverbydesign.co.uk/  is doing the Darkness Echoes anthologies.


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

 Overcoming the fear of how big the world I was creating had become. But my lil’ sis was there with me every step of the way, calmed my nerves, and I took her advice and started taking one step at a time.


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I can’t even begin to tell you everything I’ve learned and that I’m still learning. I’ve learned everything from how to create my own website to how to imbed html code and everything in between. And every week I strive to learn one new thing and push myself that much harder.


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Write, read, repeat, and never give up! If you love it, do it, period.


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

 Just a great big THANK YOU! Your support, encouragement, and reviews have meant the world to me. Readers are my superheroes!

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

 Gosh, I think it would have to be Curious George with my parents as a child and for solo reading I think it was The Mist by Stephen King.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

My nephews make me smile uncontrollably and laugh like I’m young again. (Crap, I did the age thing again, huh?) Sad movies and bad things happening to my friends and family make me cry.

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

I would have liked to have met Robin Williams. He was a brilliant comedian who left us too soon.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

 Nothing, I’m going to turn into a vampire and live forever. Okay, okay. Here lies CK Dawn. She lived every day and continues to live happily ever after.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

I craft, cook, and love to travel. I’m a world traveler, not a tourist, hello there’s a difference. 😛

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

 I love The Walking Dead and with pretty much anything Sci-Fi you know I’m down. Star Trek, Star Wars, Firefly (Brown coat’s Unite!), The Avengers (Thor!), Agents of Shield, and my guilty pleasure…The Real Housewives on Bravo (What can I say, it turns my brain off. Don’t judge.)

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

 I love my coffee and sweet desserts, sometimes it’s chocolatey sometimes it’s lemony, the desserts, not the coffee.

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I still would love to be an astronaut someday.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

Website: http://www.ckdawn.com/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ck.dawn.cloakofshadows

Twitter: https://twitter.com/CloakedCKDawn

Amazon author page: http://www.amazon.com/CK-Dawn/e/B00NETXDB2/ref=dp_byline_cont_ebooks_1

 

 

