Name Kenneth W. Harmon

Age 54

Where are you from

Fort Collins, Colorado

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc  

I attended the University of Texas at Arlington and joined the Fort Worth, Texas police department two weeks after turning 20. At the time, I was the youngest officer on the force, too long in fact to legally buy bullets for the gun I carried. I’m married and have four daughters who always keep me busy.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

My latest novel, The Devil’s Lament just came out from Winlock Press. It was my second novel released this year following, The Amazing Mr. Howard from JournalStone.

 

 

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

After reading my sister’s copy of S.E. Hinton’s “The Outsiders” at age 11, I knew that I wanted to be a writer. I started to write short stories after high school and moved on to novels.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

As soon as I put the first words on paper.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I wrote my first novel when I was 19. The only thing I remember about it is, the book wasn’t very good.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I write on the computer and try not to go past 2 pages. I find that it is easier to focus when you limit your output. I often come back to the story later that day and will write some more.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Titles have always come easily for me. Usually, I come up with a title about the same time I think of a plot.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

At its core, The Devil’s Lament is a love story. The basic theme is: “It shouldn’t matter who we love, only that we love.”

 

 


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic?

The story is set in the American Midwest during the Great Depression, specifically, Oklahoma, Colorado, and Texas. I compiled over 2,500 pages of research notes, so the book is historically accurate to the period.

 

 

 

Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

No, this one is entirely fiction.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

My favorite novels are, The Great Gatsby and The Grapes of Wrath. I admire Fitzgerald’s use of language and the way he describes his characters. Steinbeck is also great at description and has powerful plots.

 

 
Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Mystic River by Dennis Lehane

 

 
Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

I’m about to read, “Dry Bones in the Valley,” by Tom Bouman. I’ve been told it is an excellent read.

 

 
Fiona: What are your current projects?

I’m wrapping up research/plotting/character sketches for a psychological suspense novel, “In the Light of Darkness.”

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

My first reader was my best friend in school, Darrin Mason. He has supported me for years. I have also belonged to several writer’s critique groups and the members of the groups have always supported me.

 

 


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yes. I take writing very seriously.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No. I don’t look back and play the “what if” game. I try to write the best book that I can. When it’s finished and edited, I move on to the next project.

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I just remember wanting to write when I was boy and I’ve never lost interest in writing.

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

The ancient Jews taught that Lucifer and Eve had a sexual relationship in Eden. As a result, Lucifer lost his place in Heaven and was given the assignment of testing human’s faith. He did however, remain a part of the Council of Angels. I wondered, “What would happen if God brought Lucifer and Eve back together as a way of testing Lucifer’s faith?” Would Lucifer now put his love for his Creator above all else or would his passion for Eve remain too strong. In the book, God does bring them together.

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

No. I always look for ways to improve my writing with each book, but there isn’t any particular area I find more challenging than others.

 

 
Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I have two. F. Scott Fitzgerald and John Steinbeck. Fitzgerald paints with words. He truly has a remarkable way of describing thing. Steinbeck also has wonderful descriptions.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

I wish I could do more on-site research. I was able to do some for The Devil’s Lament and it proved most useful.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

My publisher, Winlock Press hired a cover artist.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Figuring out what research to use and where to use it.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

To push myself to be the best writer that I can be. To not shy away from tough challenges.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Don’t try to get from point A to point D in your career. Once I started to write short stories and have them accepted for publication, and entered writing contests, and made the finals, my career took off. Take all the steps necessary to grow as an author. There are no shortcuts.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

If you are looking for a powerful tale of forbidden love, check out The Devil’s Lament. One reviewer called it, “Elements of supernatural horror and romance through a Depression-era prism. Steinbeck meets Stephen King.”

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

No. I used to love reading Strangely Enough by C.B. Colby, and the Ripley’s Believe it or Not books.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

My daughters.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

John Steinbeck. We are both from California, born about a hundred miles apart. I would love to pick his brain about writing.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

No head stone for me. I will be cremated and scattered to the wind.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Writing takes up most of my time, but I do love to go out with my family to dinner, or movies.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

My favorite TV show is, Mysteries at the Museum. As for films, I enjoy all kinds.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

I am a slave to good pizza. My favorite color is blue. I gravitate toward rock and roll. My favorite bands are Big Country, REM, and Blue October. I recently discovered a new artist, James Bay, and he’s great.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Drummer in a rock and roll band.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

My website is: www.kennethwharmonauthor.com

 

Amazon Authors page http://www.amazon.com/Kenneth-W.-Harmon/e/B005V76HZY/ref=dp_byline_cont_ebooks_1

 

