Name Alison Mello

Age 37

Where are you from: originally from New Bedford MA now living in Shrewsbury MA

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc

I graduated from New Bedford High and a few years later joined the MA Army National Guard where I met my now husband. I have a teenage step daughter and a 9 year old son. My family is my world.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

Well I just published my very first book which has made it into the top 10 for MF romance best seller list on Bookstrand.com. I have written a four book series and book 2 will be released in early November!

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I began writing at the end of June this year. I was working part time and not really happy with hours I had at work and had been toying with the idea of writing so one day I just sat down and started.

 

 


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

When my book was accepted by the publisher in August!

 

 


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I can’t say I had one inspiration but more of an idea in mind. I wanted my series to have all the things I love in a series and none of the things I don’t.

 

 


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I think I am developing one but wouldn’t say it is there yet.

 

 


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

I thought about the direction my book was heading and realized that finding Love is exactly what Abbey was doing so I thought it appropriate.

 

 


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

I think my main message is if you lean on your friends for support you can over come anything. Abbey was dealt a really bad hand but thanks to her friends she over came it, found the man of her dreams and got through dealing with her crazy ex.

 


Fiona:
How much of the book is realistic?

I think my book is very realistic. I hope readers do too because that is what I wanted.

 

 
Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

A little. I know a lot of single mom’s who have had crappy relationships and I wanted to give them hope and a chance for a happy ever after.

 

 


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

Cory Cry is an amazing author. As well as Serena Akeroyd and S.H. Timmins. They have all not only written great books but gave me some great guidance as far as publishing goes and I am grateful.

 

 


Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Rug Burns by Cory Cry. You all need to read it she is brilliant.

 

 
Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Unfortunately I am so busy writing and promoting, it is hard to find time to read but I would like to read some of Andrew Jericho’s books. He writes man love books as he calls them and they look really good.

 

 
Fiona: What are your current projects?

I have a secret project in the works that you will all hopefully hear about in the near future. You can like my fan page at http://www.facebook.com/alisonmelloauthor for updates on that.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

I don’t think I can name just one. There is so much love and support in the author world but if I name one that is not an author I would say my good friend Lynne White. She has helped me with so much promoting and getting Finding Love out there for the world to read. Thank you so much Lynne!

 

 

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yes! Right now I work part time but I am hoping to be so busy that I decide to quite that job in the future to just write.

 

 


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

My latest book no. After reading my first and second book over I definitely  thought about how I would have worded something differently now that I have a little more experience.

 

 


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

Like I said before I pretty much got up one morning and decided I was going to give it a try. I wrote my first book in about 2 weeks.

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Well I can’t share my secret project but I can tell you that the Learning to Love series has been finished. Book 1 is Seth and Abbey’s story. Their story continues in book two however book 2 is Sean and Tracey’s story. Book 3 is Theresa and Chase and then all four books wraps up nicely in book 4 with Sylvia and Michael’s story. One of the things I love about this series is each couple has their own story but they all intermingle as well and in book four you feel like you know them all well and have closure for each story.

 

 


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Starting the book. Once I have it going I can usually roll and I am fine but getting started can be hard.

 

 


Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I wouldn’t say I have one favorite, but more that I have certain things I like about certain authors I’ve read.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Not yet maybe some day

 

 


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

A designer through Siren publishing

 

 


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Trying to decide on an ending that makes you want to read more but isn’t too much of a cliff hanger.

 

 


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I have learned a lot from writing my books. I have learned to be careful about using the same pet name too much. I have learned about pacing and flow. I think every writer learns from their writing and grows from it.

 

 


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Don’t give up. If you truly want to write sit down and go for it because you never know what you will come up with.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Please give all four books in the Learning to Love series a chance. I think I grew as a writer a lot during this series and I love each book for their own personal stories. You will find that although they link each story is very different and unique in its own way.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

LOL! I remember the first book I read as an adult. It was Fifty Shades of Grey. I walked into a meeting I was attending and all the girls were talking about this book, so I came home and told my husband I was downloading it. From there I read the Cross Fire series by Sylvia day. They are both favorites of mine.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

I love flirting and teasing between characters that will make me smile and sometimes laugh. However I am an emotional person so bad breakups, medical situations anything sad will make me cry. I will share that I cried writing two of my own books but I won’t tell you which ones or why! 😉

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

Cory Cyr, Sylvia Day, E.L. James, S.H. Timmins, Serena Akeroyd. There is a huge list!

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

I hope to live a long time so I haven’t really thought about it.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Reading working out, eating healthy, watching the Patriots play during the football season

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

NCIS and football is about all I watch for TV. For movies I watch mainly Disney all though I did go see Fifty Shades of Grey.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music?

Although I mainly eat healthy I do love Chinese food and pizza once in a while. My favorite color is purple and music is pretty much anything R&B or current.

 

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I’m not really sure what I would be doing. I would probably go back to working in the accounting field. I have done many things in my lifetime but this is my favorite.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website?

If so what is it? I do not have a blog as of now. I only have a blog right now because I am so new at this. I will be creating a personal website but right now I have a website through my publisher. www.bookstrand.com/alison-mello

