Name  Michael Linen

Age  Most people think I’m 20 to 25 years younger than I really am. Thank God for youthful genes. That’s all I’m giving up about my age!!! 🙂 

Where are you from   I’m from New York City, and I absolutely love this town. I absolutely love the diversity of it. People of all race, color, ethnicity, nationality, culture, sexual orientation, and religion all living and working together. I absolutely love it!!!

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc   My friends affectionately call me “Smoove”. That’s because I’m on the easygoing, laid back side. You know… Always calm, cool, collected, and not easily stressed or bothered by anyone or anything. I’m very down to earth, and a pretty cool person to know. Basically, to really know me is to love me. And to really love me is to really know me. I’m just a tall, lovable, affection loving chocolate teddy-bear. Yes, that’s right… I said it!!! I love affection!!! 🙂 I have a great sense of humor. I’m a very supportive, understanding, non-judgemental, and very opened minded person. I choose to be me and only me, and I will not let anyone or anything compromise that. If someone can’t accept or respect that… Then maybe it’s them who should not be in my life, instead of the other way around. I know my worth and my value as a person, whether someone else does or doesn’t. I’m the type of person who knows what he wants, and won’t settle for less. I don’t and won’t pretend to be someone or something I’m not, because I think that I’m a pretty cool person just the way that I am. And if someone can’t or won’t accept me and appreciate me for me… Then it truly is their lost.  If I had to sum up myself in a few sentences, I would say that I’m a pretty cool person to know. I’m always calm, cool, collected, peaceful, and I love to have fun. And although I’m one who values my privacy, I am a person’s person. I love meeting people from all walks of life. I respect and get along with everyone, regardless of their race, color, ethnicity, nationality, sexual orientation, or religion. If I had to say what turns me off most about someone, it definitely would be someone who is a liar and all about deceit and deception. As well as someone who has a bad or negative attitude, is all about drama, and someone who is very closed minded. I’m one of the most patient person you will ever meet, but I just don’t have any patience for any of that. Live life, love life, and have fun I say. And finally, when it comes to friendships, relationships, and business relations, there has to be what I call T.L.R. there. Without “TRUST, LOYALTY and RESPECT… We have absolutely nothing to talk about!!!

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?  

 

If I’m not wearing myself out promoting my books, the latest news for me is always thinking and working on my next book. We all know there’s no such thing as a vacation or time off for a writer. I mean, even when we do attempt to go on a vacation or take a little time off, we usually spend the entire time thinking about ideals, story lines, plots, and creating characters for our next book. Yes, as writers we just can’t help ourselves. I always say that the only ones who can understand a writer is another writer. Most people probably think that we’re all crazy and weird because of the things we do, how we get so caught up in the fictional world that we create sometimes, but hey… I love it!!! 🙂

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

Unfortunately I have been fighting a battle against that monster that we all call “CANCER!!!” for the last 12 years, and the moment that my friends and even some of my own family found out about it, they just turned their backs on me with no explanations. When I needed someone there to tell me that it was going to be okay, even if it wasn’t… There was just no one there to support me, or just to say some comforting words to me. For about 2 or 3 years I walked around with complete anger and rage towards those who had just turned their backs on me. Many of whom I had stood beside when they were going thru difficult times in their lives. But one day I woke up and said that I couldn’t do it anymore. I couldn’t continue to carry around the anger and rage that was simmering inside of me for all of those years because it was making me become someone and something that I wasn’t… A negative person with a negative attitude. I needed a place to channel that frustration and anger. So I turned to what I had always known best… Writing!!! And now after seeing all those books covers with my name on it as the author, some of those very same friends and family who turned their backs on me are trying to come back into my life. As that saying goes… Hell will freeze over before I allow that to happen!!!

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I knew ever since I was 11 years old that I had something that was different and unique. Whether it was writing essays in my English classes in school or doing a writing assignment, my work always seemed to have stood out from everyone else to all of my English teachers all thru my school years. Whether it was in elementary school, junior high school, high school, or college, all of my English teachers just seemed to be amazed by my writing skills. It was so funny. At times when the teachers would give us a assignment to do while they checked the essays that the class wrote, I would find myself peeping up at the teachers as they did because I knew when they would be reading mine. They all would get this very intense look on their faces as they read it, then they would glance up at me and catch me smiling at them because I knew that they were reading my work. Anyway, all of my English teachers would try to influence and convince me that I should think about pursuing a career in writing, because they said that I had a unique way of writing. That I had a unique way of getting the readers to feel whatever I wanted them to feel. Of course, I tried to pursue a career in everything but writing. 😦 But it was having all of my friends and even some family members turn their backs on me that finally made pursue what I probably should have pursued a very long time ago.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

My first book titled “Her Silent Screams: A Father’s Betrayal” was inspired by a music video that I had seen 10 years earlier. It just really got to me that the main person who was supposed to be there to protect his daughter was the main person who she actually had to fear the most.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

If you’re referring to the genre in which I write, I’m a multi-genre writer. I can write almost anything. Romance, action, thriller, suspense, urban, love stories, and erotica. Although I can write children’s books as well, I choose not to because when I writing, I just want to be able to open up my mind and just let it flow with no restrictions. I just want to say what I feel, and feel what I say. You can’t do that with children’s books. Everything has to be carefully said, carefully written, and carefully thought out. At one point in my life that was how I would write. But right now I’m at a point where I just want to free my mind and let whatever flows from it flow.

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Finding the right title isn’t hard for me. Sometimes I might see something in a day that will give it to me, or sometimes I will hear a song and it just comes to me. The funny thing about it though is, when it does come to me in that way, the title that I come up with usually has absolutely nothing to do with the song. Or sometimes I could just be feeling a certain mood and it comes to me.

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

I absolutely love diversity!!! Even though most of my books are urban, you won’t see just one race, one color, or just one ethnicity of characters in my books, because the world that we live in is not just black and white. We have to acknowledge and appreciate other races, cultures, ethnicities, and nationalities as well. So my books usually will always have a diverse cast of characters.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic?

I would say that maybe about 5 to 15 percent of my stories might be realistic. I have a very creative mind and heart, so that’s where most of the story comes from. But every now and then when I need something a little special, I might put something that I myself have personally experienced in the story.

Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Whenever I do add any personal experience to the stories, it’s usually from my own experiences.

Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

While I have read some very good books, I can’t honestly say that any have influenced my life or that I have gotten any mentors from any, because what I read is mostly fiction. I get my influences and mentors from everyday average people, or situations in real life.

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

To be completely honest, I spend so much of my time developing and writing my own books, that I don’t really have time to read. I will say though, I have over 500 eBook that I have purchased on my Kindle. One day I have to make time to read at least some of them before my calling comes.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

There are a few who has. Being a Indie writer myself, I’m a big supporter of the indie community. So I have read books mainly by indie authors that I thought was very good.

Fiona: What are your current projects?

I have just recently released a book titled “In Love With An Assassin 1: An Innocence Taken”, but there is just no rest for the weary. I have 4 other titles that I just can’t wait to get started on. When I feel good about a story ideal, I usually can’t wait to get to writing it. But the last book really took a lot of out me, so I guess you could say that I could use a little rest. :p

Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

Wow!!! I am so very grateful to the self publishing companies. There is one in particular, who he and his staff have been great to me. I will always be grateful for being given a break and the chance to live out a dream.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yes, I do see writing as a career. I have just gotten myself caught up into it because it’s just who I am and what I do.

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No!!! My latest book “In Love With An Assassin 1: An Innocence Taken” was written exactly as I saw it in my head and as I wanted it to be, and I wouldn’t change anything about it.

Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

If you’re referring to what made me interested in writing my current book IN LOVE WITH AN ASSASSIN 1, my favorite movie is “Bonnie and Clyde”. I just love the theory of a man and a woman having each others back, and are down for one another no matter what. Pretty similar to “Jason’s Lyric”. I always wanted to write a story similar to that, where both the man and his woman are down for one another one-hundred percent no matter what.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?  “In Love With An Assassin 1: An Innocence Taken” is an urban action-thriller. At the age of 17 years old, Da’Quan Jackson returned home one evening to find that his parents had been murdered in what appeared to be a robbery gone bad. After stumbling upon the bloodied scene and finding the bodies of his mother and father, Quan has a breakdown and is institutionalized for 4 years. During those 4 years, he simmers with anger, fury, and rage inside of him. He feels that the only way to rid himself of that anger and rage is to get rid of the source that’s causing it. While locked away he vows to kill all of those responsible for his parents’ murder. However, after taking them out, it did not relieved him of the rage that still simmered inside of him. Now at the age of 31 years old, Da’Quan has become a ruthless, feared, coldblooded, coldhearted, without a conscious killer. He has become a professional killer. Da’Quan Jackson has become an assassin! However, one day he meets Latasha Grant, who has a immediate affect on him. An affect that no other woman has ever had on him. Tasha has an affect on him that could become detrimental to an assassin. She has an affect on him that could get him captured, if not killed.

Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

The only challenge is the constant flow of ideals that comes into my head, sometimes at the wrong time. I mean, while I’m sleeping I might wake up in the middle of the night with all kinds of story ideals in my head. And I’m the type of person who has to write it down immediately or I will forget them. I remember being examined by the doctor one day, and a load of ideals just filled my head. I asked the doctor can he stop the examination for a moment so I can write them down. Luckily he understood. He said that he had a friend where it’s the same with her. Whenever they’re out, she will stop in her track what she’s doing to write ideals for her book down.

Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Again, to be completely honest, I can’t really say that I have a favorite author. There are authors who I really admire their work, and how they write, and what they write.

Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

No, right now I don’t do a lot of traveling, because I actually am still fighting and dealing with that monster that we call “CANCER” and it just doesn’t allow me to do much traveling . However, I do most of my promoting and communicating online.

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I’ve used a couple of different cover designers, as well as designed a few myself.

Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

The hardest part is when I’m in that deep flow of writing. That’s when everything is just flowing fast and furious. I have stayed up a couple of days in a row, just not wanting to lose anything. Yes, there have been times when I have deprieved myself of sleep in order not to lose any great ideals for my story.

Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

There’s always something that I have learned from writing each book that usually will be helpful to me in writing the next one. Usually it’s about a new technique, formula, or way of doing something. Usually something that will make something easier to me. I think that you should learn something new with each book that you write. The more you write, the better you should become at it. There are different things that you should begin to master as you write more and more.

Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

I definitely have some advice for other writers that I found have worked for me at least. I’m one who absolutely hate that word “Trending” as it relates to writing. I don’t think that a writer should ever want to write like someone else. I think that he or she should create their own trend. You shouldn’t have to write about the same thing that everyone else is writing about. The very same thing that is so-called “Trending”. I have always felt that a good writer could write about anything that he or she wants, and be able to get readers to read it. I think writers should not be afraid to be different and unique, and think outside of the box sometimes. I’ve heard some writers say “I want to be in the same class with him or her”. A writer should want to create a class of his or her own, and then have others want to be in their class. Do you… Not what everyone else is doing!!!

Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

I just want to thank everyone who has message me, text me, email me, and who have come up to me and expressed their very kind words of support and understanding. It means a lot to me and was very much appreciated. Thank You!!!

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

I would be lying if I said yes, because that was just so long ago.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

What makes me laugh are those treasured moments as a child is growing up, usually between the ages of 6 months to the ages of 4 or 5, and the silly and funny things they do that makes all of us laugh. I also love seeing a dog or puppy who’s just a big ham, and is stealing some of the spotlight for his or herself. 🙂 As to what makes me cry… Certain love songs that I have heard. Usually one with very powerful words.

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

If I could have met someone it would definitely have been Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. So much that he stood for and was about, I feel the very same way myself. If he had not gotten assassinated I think that he would have brought this country together racially in a way that no one ever will. There would still be a lot of racism out there, but I believe that it would have been way less for that time.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

“Here Lies Michael Linen… A True Man Of Peace!!!” Because that’s just what I’m all about, peace. Peace between everyone, regardless of race, color, ethnicity, nationality, culture, sexual orientation, or religion.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

I love sports. Basketball is my number one, but I can get into everything except golf. That’s way to slow for me. I love listening to music, watching movies, and I would probably just drop dead if someone took my computer away from me. 😦 I just love my computer. Can’t live without it. 🙂

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I love “Married With Children”, “Good Times”, “Martin”, and a lot of the older shows from back in the day. Well at least my day. And don’t you go trying to figure out my age. 🙂

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music 

I absolute love bar-b-que ribs or pull pork. And if you really want to make me just lose my mind, give me a piece of strawberry shortcake. That is my aphrodisiac! 😉 My favorite color my entire life, all day and all the way has always been burgundy. As for my favorite music, I am just a r & b fool. I can listen to it all day, everyday. But it has to be “REAL!!!” r & b music. Not this watered down junk that we hear today. The best and most meaningful r & b songs are from the 60s to the 90s, which is what I listen to.

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

If I could have done it all over again, I definitely would have pursued playing professional basketball like my high school gym teacher wanted me to. For as good as my English teachers thought I was at writing, I was even better at basketball. 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?   Link To My Blog.  https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/8156604.Michael_Linen/blog

Link To My To My Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/m.smoove1

Link To My Twitter:  https://twitter.com/m_smoove1

Links To Each Of My Books 

“In Love With An Assassin 1: An Innocence Taken”  http://www.amazon.com/LOVE-ASSASSIN-Innocence-Taken-ebook/dp/B015ZA4U6O

“Jasmine’s Fight”http://www.amazon.com/Jasmines-Fight-Michael-Linen-ebook/dp/B00VI1LO0K

“Her Silent Screams: A Father’s Betrayal”http://www.amazon.com/Her-Silent-Screams-Fathers-Betrayal-ebook/dp/B00M1VU8U8

“Her Obsession 1: Tina’s Wrath”http://www.amazon.com/Her-Obsession-1-Tinas-Wrath-ebook/dp/B00M2CY5GO

“Her Obsession 2: The Fiancé”http://www.amazon.com/Her-Obsession-Fiance-Michael-Linen-ebook/dp/B00TRQETA0

“Her Obsession 3: The Final Obsession”http://www.amazon.com/Her-Obsession-3-Final-ebook/dp/B00TRQVWEG

“A Quietstorm Erotic Tale: My Best Friend Aaliyah”http://www.amazon.com/Quietstorm-Erotic-Tale-Friend-Aaliyah-ebook/dp/B00M29GRCC

“A Quietstorm Erotic Tale: My Illicit Acts Of Betrayal”http://www.amazon.com/Quietstorm-Erotic-Tale-Illicit-Betrayal-ebook/dp/B00O93GJMW

“A Quietstorm Erotic Tale: The Sweet Taste Of Chocolate”http://www.amazon.com/Quietstorm-Erotic-Tale-Sweet-Chocolate-ebook/dp/B00O92Q356

Link To My Amazon Homepage:http://www.amazon.com/Michael-Linen/e/B00RVZTU8U

 

