Name: Sarah Marsh

Age: 36

Where are you from: Langley, British Columbia Canada

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc:

I’m single, currently working full time in accounting for a sports equipment wholesaler. I’m a fully trained and certified pastry chef, but had to switch up careers when the drive into Vancouver got too tedious. When I’m not busy seeing my passel of nieces and nephews, I love to paint and knit and do pretty much anything else creative. I read every day and am a sucker for animals of any kind!

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

S- I have a brand new release out in my Coalition Mates series, Surrender. Its number 4 in the series, I really fell in love with these characters, hopefully the readers will too!


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

S- I only began writing about a year and a half ago now. I’m such an avid reader, but even then sometimes my imagination just won’t shut down after I’ve finished a book. So on a random whim I decided to try my hand a my own story and I had such a great time writing it that I decided to continue!


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

S- Lol, ummm I’m not quite sure that I actually do yet. It’s a bit of a surreal experience when people tell you they love your books.


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

S- This is an odd story I’m sure, but it was a random sexting session with an ex that inspired me to really write something down. Lol, it had been so much fun…but I hadn’t been picturing either of us in my head. Erotica is just so much fun to write!


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

S- I suppose every author does, I tend to be a little more graphic and in your face than a lot of the books I read. I certainly don’t like to beat around the bush. 😉


Fiona: How did you come up with your titles?

S-I usually am about halfway through a book before the title makes itself known, I don’t like to force them.


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

S- Just perhaps that life is short and you’ve got to take risks and open yourself up to love at any given opportunity. It’s something I try to remind myself of everyday.


Fiona:
How much of the book is realistic?

S- Well, it is a science fiction erotica series so that’s a tough question. I would hope that the charaters and their personalities come across as realistic.


Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

S- Some of the heroines past issues/and experiences are taken from either my own personal life or that of someone I know.


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

S- I think the author that really made the largest impact in my reading preferences growing up was Anne Rice, she really opened my eyes to the paranormal genre and I was a goner from there. I still love what she does and can only hope to aspire to the world building talents that she has.


Fiona: What book are you reading now?

S- I read quite a bit so I usually have a few on the go to suit the moods I’m in, currently I’m re-reading Laurann Dohner’s New Species (because I LOVE them), I’m also re-reading Viola Grace’s Sector Guard, and I just finished the first book of Travis Leudke Nightlife series.


Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

S- I was really pleasantly surprised with Travis Leudke, I never really thought about it until I began reading Nightlife San Antonio, but most of the authors I’ve been reading are women. So it was a refreshing twist to read a paranormal/ erotica that was written from the POV of a man. I’m definitely going to carry on with the rest of the series and am just itching to check out his scifi Angel series as well.


Fiona: What are your current projects?

S- I’m about halfway through a new paranormal novel called Raven’s Awakening; and the next in the Coalition Mates series; as well as a brand new series which is a twist on the traditional ‘happy ever after’, it’s going to fufill my fetish for villains.

😉


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

S- I have a couple of really great friends who beta read for me, if they hadn’t of been so supportive I’m not sure I ever would’ve submitted my first book.


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

S- Gosh I hope so, I’ve really been enjoying the creative process. I had no idea that I would ever have liked writing this much.


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

S- In my latest book? No. Lol, I will freely admit that I am eager for my 5 yr contract on my first book to be up so that I can revise it however! I’ve certainly learned a great deal since then.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

S- Sure, here is the prologue to Raven’s Awakening. It’s quite a bit different from my current series, darker for sure, but it’s got a lot of exciting elements.

Raven’s Awakening

Prologue:

 

I tried to remember how long I’d been staring out the window, an hour now? Two hours?

 

It didn’t matter. There was nothing else in the house that would hold my interest. So I sat, retreated back into my jumbled head, trying to recall the dreams I’d had last night. Fragments, flashes of familiar scenes played out. Always violent, always passionate.

I both feared and admired the woman I saw in my dreams, half feral, this warrior woman seemed to be driven mostly by instinct, reason playing a much smaller role when she had the luxury of time to make her decisions. My dreams had become more like movies or memories of a time past, full of more magical and interesting things than I had thought I could ever imagine. At times I truly wondered if my life was the dream, even if it was so vague and incomplete. Which would leave the other realm in my imagination to be reality, god how I wished it was.

I’ve lived alone now for the past 10 years, I have a few friends in the small town that I had moved to when my parents had died. Of course I had a few relatives scattered over the country here and there, but rarely heard from them, without the common link of my parents, my other family members kept their distance. I am different from them.

I am different from everyone, I just don’t know why.

 

Every since I was old enough to be aware of my own feelings, I noticed that the other children around seemed to not want to include me. I had felt all my life as though I just did not belong. Not with my family, not with my co-workers and friends, and certainly not with any of the men I had met in my 31 years.

Of course as I got older, I learned how to blend, how to act like everyone else, to pretend that I am just like them. Since most people in this world walk around believing in what they are told and what they see. For the most part completely ignoring the natural instincts they were born with, I was able to fit myself into regular society undetected. Every once in awhile, I can see someone taking a longer look at me than normal, I can almost hear the wheels turning in their head, trying to get a bead on the odd feeling they have when I’m around. But then they just shake their head and carry on with their day.

Humans have a very natural need to congregate in groups with others “just like them”, like calls to like as they say. Perhaps I am more like them than I think after all, as over the years I’ve grown weary of wearing a false face to fit in where I just don’t belong.

What makes me so different you ask? Gods how I wish I knew for certain. All I know is that the instincts inside of me at times are barely controllable and each day I grow less and less concerned with reining them in. My temper has always scared the hell out of me, ever since I was a girl. When slighted it’s all I can do not to lash out in violence and rage. My nails digging into my hands, teeth grinding while I count in my head to try and calm back down.

Who goes to the dentist and has to restrain themselves from hitting the hygienist when they poke your gums and make you bleed? When someone hurts me my first instinct is to hurt them back—immediately and harder. It can’t be normal.

When I see a man that I find attractive, my mouth waters at the thought of biting down on his warm skin, I yearn to dig my fingernails into him and take him mindlessly. So I like my sex a bit rough, lots of people do…to a point. But I feel these things so strongly, I frighten myself at times. These thoughts are simply not socially acceptable, which leads me to believe they are somewhat unique.

 

My name is Raven Ballory and this is the story of who and what I really am.

 

Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

S- Sometimes I find the endings a bit troubling for a series, it’s hard to know where exactly to cut off and go onto the next set of characters.


Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

S- I have lots of favorites! But I’m a huge fan of Kresley Cole and Sherrylin Kenyon; I love Kresley’s sense of humor, her characters are fantastic. Sherrylin’s League novels are so amazingly well written, the action is incredible and it’s almost painful sometimes to have to read what her characters are going through, but I love them all!


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

S- All of my covers have been designed by Siren’s cover artist Harris Channing.


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

S- I learn something every time I sit down to write I think, I get more comfortable in my own style. With my first book I was super paranoid with the world building, I didn’t want to dump in too much information and bore the readers, and I think it was a bit noticeable. But I progressed with each book and got a little more confidence so now I’m much better at pacing myself and the story.


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

S- Stop thinking about it and just DO it. Everyone’s got to start somewhere.


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

S- Just thanks so much for reading and letting me share the crazy things that are going on inside of my brain! J

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

S- The silly things that animals do never fails to make me laugh. As for cry? Well, as much as I hate to admit it, the new season of the Voice has been making me tear up. It’s just so inspiring to see people getting a chance to make their dreams come true.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

S- I suppose it would be that I found my own happy ending, because isn’t that what we all want at the end of the day?

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

S- Oh yes, I have a bit of a hobby problem actually. I have this ingrained NEED to create things, I paint, knit, sculpt, cook, bake, can preserves and garden. If I had the space and the tools I would be all up in some woodworking and sewing as well. I go a bit squirrely if I don’t have a creative outlet.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

S- I love anything sci fi or fantasy. So pretty much anything on the Space Network. Loving some new shows this year, Hero’s Reborn (I cried when they cancelled this the first time), Sleepy Hollow, The Player, Hannibal, American Horror Story (even though it scares the bejesus out of me).

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

S- I love Greek and Italian food, anything with lots of flavor! My favorite colour is green. I LOVE music, I’m a fan of all different types, but I listen to a lot of country these days.

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

S- Well I loved being a pastry chef, if only I had the funds to open my own place I’d probably still be doing that!

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

S- Yes, my blog site is: http://sarahmarshfiction.com/                       

 

Here are my other links!

Amazon Authors Page http://www.amazon.com/Sarah-Marsh/e/B011CRO3IO/ref=dp_byline_cont_pop_ebooks_1

Buy link: http://www.bookstrand.com/book/surrender

Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/sarahmarshfiction

Twitter: https://twitter.com/SM_fiction

Blog link: http://sarahmarshfiction.com/

Goodreads link: https://www.goodreads.com/Sarah_Marsh

    

 

 

