Name  Brooke Williams

Age 35

Where are you from

Iowa/Nebraska

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc  

I have a Bachelor of Arts degree with a double major in Mass Communications and Religious Studies. I spent over a decade in radio as a production director and on-air announcer before my children were born and I left my full time job to stay home. At that point, I went into freelance writing and then began dabbling in fiction writing again.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I am working on a new novel called “The Leftover.” I have no idea what I’ll do with it yet, but I’m enjoying the process.

 

 


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I’ve been writing since I was a child. I used to cut pictures from magazines and tape them to blank paper and write stories around the pictures. I would sell the “newspapers” to my parents for a nickel. I used to LOVE getting assigned papers in school while everyone else was aggravated by it. I’ve just always loved it. Something in me can’t stop the desire to write and I no longer want to.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Actually, only very recently. Within the last year or so. A few aspiring authors asked me for advice and I thought, wow, I’m the one they’re coming to for advice? I must be a real writer now!

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

The first scene for “Someone Always Loved You” came to me and would NOT leave me alone until I wrote it down. It involves an ambulance driver hitting a pedestrian his first official day on the job. Once I wrote the first scene, I had to finish the story and see what happened.

 

 


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I think you can see my personality throughout all of my novels, but they differ as well. I have a tendency to write short sentences to get a dramatic point across.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Titles generally come to me very easily, before the book is officially born. There are a few books I haven’t titled before I’ve written them and then I find the title very hard to assign. I like having it first. Where I get them varies on the book involved!

 

 


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

They have different messages, but overall, I think you will get one big message from me. Be you. Unapologetically. Whether you fit in or not. You are who you are and you should be proud of that.

 

 


Fiona:
How much of the book is realistic?

Well, the things in my books COULD happen, I suppose. And some of the personality elements you’ll see in the books come from me or someone I know. There are also little story bits that are mine from my past. Though much of it is also totally made up! The beauty of fiction.

 

 
Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Some yes, some no. “Accept this Dandelion” is about a dating TV show. I’ve never been on such a show, but I wondered what a show like that would be with someone more like me on it. Someone who is clumsy and doesn’t like to dress up and wear makeup and so on. Wrong Place, Right Time involves a TV traffic reporter and I did that job for a few months several years ago. Accept this Dandelion revolves around a radio personality, a job I also did for a decade. So there are definitely elements of my life in every book.

 

 
Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I just finished Freed to Forgive by Julie Cosgrove and I’m reading a Karen Kingsbury book too.

 

 


Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

It’s hard to keep up with them all. I enjoy Sydney Logan a lot.

 

 


Fiona: What are your current projects?

I’m releasing the second book in the dandelion series Nov. 5th. It’s called “Dandelions on the Road” and is a bachelorette version of the TV dating game show. I am also wrapping up writing a new novel called “The Leftover”

 

 


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Absolutely, yes. At this point, I only have 1-2 hours a day to write because I take care of my young girls. Once they are both in school, I plan to expand and make it a more full time career.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No way no how. I write what the voices in my head tell me to write. I can’t change what they say. 😀

 

 


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Finding the time to write as much as I’d like. I have two young daughters and they don’t allow me much time away from them! And that’s the way I want it, but it’s still hard to satisfy the writing bug.

 

 


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

I do a little. I’d like to do more. I mostly travel around locally, but I’ve been down to Texas a couple times and over to California.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I’ve done a couple. My publishers have done some, with my advice, and my husband has even done a few.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

If you love it, do it. Don’t let others discourage you. Do what you love and the rest will fall into place.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

It’s my goal that you enjoy my novels even half as much as I enjoy writing them. I want to give you a break from everyday life and stress with something that might even make you giggle.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

I like to read, of course! I struggle to find time for it all, but I hope to ramp up on hobbies more someday.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I don’t get to watch TV live so the shows I like, I watch a week behind online. I really enjoy the Bachelor shows. They fascinate me. Hence the dandelion series. I like all kinds of movies. Drama, action, comedy, bring it on!

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Ice cream/blue/Jars of Clay

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Well, I was in radio for 10 years. If I didn’t write now, I’d like to set up a home studio and voice audio books and commercials. But really, I can’t imagine doing anything other than writing these days.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

www.authorbrookewilliams.com

You can get all my links to books there, as well as my blog and more than you’d ever want to know! You can like me on facebook too! I’d love to have you!

 

https://www.facebook.com/authorbrookewilliams

