Name:

I write under two names. I have one book published under my pen name – Marie Booth – Dying for a Bite is a humorous erotic paranormal ménage. Under my real name – Gayle Parness – I write young adult paranormal fantasy and regular paranormal romance. Just show me the magic and I’m in.

 

Age:

Older than President Obama. Younger than Queen Elizabeth. :0)

 

Where are you from?

I was born in Los Angeles, lived in New York City while I raised my daughters, but now live in Northern California near San Francisco.

 

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc :

I have two terrific daughters, two moody cats, a big brother who still teases me unmercifully, a group of girlfriends who are more like my sisters, and a crew of amazing writer friends who inspire me to write what is in my heart. Because of financial reasons, I didn’t finish college, but I’ve learned many lessons simply living my sometimes wacky, sometimes ordinary life and I use those experiences to craft my stories.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.  

My evil twin, Marie, is working on a very sexy werewolf novel. Grrrr.  Gayle is releasing Falling Out, book 2 in the Triad Series, an audiobook version of Rebirth, her first book, and a short holiday story called Winter Solstice Wishes, all in November. Whew!

 

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I began writing paranormal books after reading the Twilight Saga. It annoyed me that Bella was so weak as a human compared to the two guys. I like kick-ass females. My lead characters are never human, at least not for long.

 

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

When I finished my first book. It was crap, but it was a real live finished manuscript that I’d worked very hard on. I took a year to revise it and then self published it. It’s called Rebirth and is the first book in Gayle’s first series. I have 11 books self-published as Gayle and Marie has 1 book – Dying for a Bite – published by Loose Id Publishing.

 

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

My mom was a writer and I always admired her. When I sit down at my computer I always feel like she’s there with me.

 

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I try to inject lots of humor and tons of dialogue. My books are character driven.

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Dying for a Bite just made sense since my lead girl, Estelle becomes a vampire by biting the vampire who’s biting her at the time.  Hey, it could happen.

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

I didn’t write it with a message in mind, but acceptance and compromise are major themes.

 

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic?

Um…the paranormal genre screams out “This is a fantasy!!!!” However, I think we can all relate to hot sex scenes. I hope.

 

Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

No.

 

Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

As far as my writing life, it’s been authors. Urban Fantasy – everything by Ilona Andrews. Paranormal Romance – everything by Nalini Singh. Erotic – Tiffany Reisz.

 

My mentors are my regular writing buddies who I get together with every week.

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Ironically I’m reading a very sexy erotic book by Tiffany Reisz who won the Rita Award for Best Erotic Romance last July in New York City. Her books inspired me to write a ménage and I told her that when I met her. She jumped up and hugged me. :0)

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Loved The Martian by Andy Weir.

 

Fiona: What are your current projects?

Right now it’s just finishing up Gayle’s releases and then getting down to working on Marie’s sexy werewolf. Um… I mean sexy werewolf book.

 

Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

Romance Writers of America and the Silicon Valley Chapter of Romance Writers of America. I am inspired on a daily basis by these women and men who put their hearts on the page. When you tell most people you write romance, you get that look. Well, I say to them, romance sells much better than any other genre for a reason.

 

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

It is most definitely my career. Everything else in my life, except being a Mom, is a hobby.

 

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Dying for a Bite ended up exactly as I envisioned when I started writing, thanks to Loose Id Publishing and my amazing Editor, Karen. In fact they made it better.

 

Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

It started when I watched my mother typing at her old black typewriter.

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

I describe Dying for a Bite as Buffy the Vampire Slayer meets Say Yes to the Dress with some Sookie Stackhouse (True Blood) sprinkles on top. Here’s a paragraph:

 

 

Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

This was my first foray into writing ménage and BDSM. It was difficult but it won’t be my last.

 

Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their

work?

I love Historical Romance and am a huge Outlander Series fan. Diana Gabaldon puts you in each scene as if you’re living it with Claire and Jamie.

 

Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

I’m going to the RT Readers Convention in April, 2016 in Las Vegas and I always attend the Romance Writers of America Conference. This next July it will be in San Diego. Other than that I sometimes travel for research.

 

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Dying for a Bite was designed by the amazing Valerie Tibbs. All of Gayle’s book covers were designed by the equally amazing Tatiana Villa.

 

Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Sometimes the hardest thing is to block out the time you need to put aside to work on it. Life gets in the way.

 

Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

As Dying for a Bite was my first traditionally published book, I learned a lot about the differences between self-publishing and traditionally publishing. The major points being, I didn’t have to pay for a cover designer or an editor, but my royalty percentage is less. However I had a great experience with Loose Id and am happy either way as long as my stories get told.

 

Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Finish your first draft before you edit anything. It will probably be a mess, but don’t give up. Take a break and go back and look at it with fresh eyes. Also, try to reach out to other writers. We should all be supporting each other.

 

Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?  

Thank you for trusting me to tell you a story worth reading. I love what I do, and I appreciate every one of you. Please feel free to leave me a comment any time on my website or Facebook or twitter.

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

The Marvelous Land of Oz by L. Frank Baum

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

I’m always laughing, so I can’t even start listing the things that bring it on. It would take ten pages. I cry when I see suffering people or animals.

 

Fiona: Is there one person past or present you would meet and why?

Oh boy. Does it have to be a real person? Can it be Jamie Fraser? Please? Pretty please?

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

“Why did you waste your money putting up a headstone? I was cremated.”

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

Zumba, dancing, singing, operating a spotlight for my local opera company. Oh yeah, wine tasting in Napa and Sonoma, Calif.

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

TV: Outlander, Orange is the New Black, Game of Thrones, Orphan Black, Arrow (what a hunk), So You Think You Can Dance.  Movies: Anything Fantasy or Science Fiction like Lord of the Rings, Hunger Games, Harry Potter, Star Trek, Star Wars, etc… I also adore Disney and Pixar movies

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music   

Food: New York Pizza, Pasta, Tiramisu, Pumpkin Pie

Colors: Aqua blue like the Caribbean Sea.

Music: Rock and Roll – alternative and classic.  Broadway show tunes. I also love Mozart and other amazing classical composers

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Work on a Broadway Show.

 

 Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

 

Check Marie out here!  http://www.mariebooth.com Sign up for her newsletter to get the latest info.

Check Gayle out here! If you sign up for her newsletter you can instantly download a free copy of Rebirth. http://www.gayleparness.com

http://mariebooth.com

http://Facebook.com/marieboothbooks

http://twitter.com/marieboothbooks

 

Here’s a link to Dying for a Bite on Amazon http://www.amazon.com/Dying-Bite-Marie-Booth-ebook/dp/B013F5B348

Rebirth on Amazon  http://www.amazon.com/Rebirth-Rogues-Shifter-Book-1-ebook/dp/B005IAQ7YU

 

Gayle Parness Authors page http://www.amazon.com/Gayle-Parness/e/B005IODY74/ref=dp_byline_cont_ebooks_1

