Name:  K.L. Kreig

Age: Older than dirt

Where are you from:  Midwest (U.S.)

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc: Married 28 years to my soul mate. 2 grown children, one is married. Writing has recently become a passion of mine, but I have a full-time outside of writing, which I also love!

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

Kelly: Gosh, I feel like I have so much going on. I have released two series within the past year and work continues on both of them, plus a new one that I’ve started.

REGENT VAMPIRE LORDS:

Three books in this series are already available: SURRENDERING, BELONGING and REAWAKENING. At least three more are planned right now, but the next to release will be Mike/Giselle’s Novella, which I’m currently writing. Expected release date will be first quarter 2016. Next up in this series will be Geoffrey/Beth and I will begin work on that later this year. Expect release summer/fall 2016.

 

THE COLLOWAY BROTHERS:

There are four books in this series, each one about a different brother. This entire series is based on family, forgiveness, second chances and rekindling those long-lost loves. I am absolutely IN LOVE with each brother!

 

– FORSAKING GRAY: the first book in this series is already available on Amazon and KU!

– UNDENIABLY ASHER: Gearing up for release on DECEMBER 2, 2015.

– LUKE’S ABSOLUTION: Already in the final stages. Expect release SPRING 2016 (think sometime in March/April)

– DESTINATION CONNELLY: Currently in beta review. Expect release Summer 2016 (July timeframe).

 

NEW Contemporary Romance series:

I’ve had an idea forming in my head for a while for a new (likely two-part) contemporary series that follows the same couple, which I’ve already named, but am not ready to share publicly yet. More to come on this when it really starts coming together. I’m pretty far into my first draft of the book 1 and I tell you, this couple has been consuming my every thought. It’s going to be the most erotic book I’ve written so far. If this all comes together the way I want, it will be released fall of 2016, maybe earlier.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

Kelly: When I was a teenager, I tried my hand at writing song lyrics, but nothing serious. I didn’t even want to write a book until just a few years ago. I started Surrendering almost three years ago now and put it down several times because my daughter was getting married and I needed to focus on that, but when I picked it back up it was like a fire was lit and all of a sudden a year and a half later, I’ve written seven books! What inspired me to write was simply my own personal challenge. I read a lot, I write well and thought I’d give it a go.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Kelly: LOL. Even with 4 published books under my belt and 7 written, it’s difficult for me to wrap my head around the concept that I’m an author. It’s kind of surreal and I’m not really sure I’ll ever get used to it.


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

Kelly: Just my own personal challenge on whether I could accomplish it or not. When people read the beta version, even those I didn’t know, and said how good it was, I grew more confident. I honestly didn’t realize how much I would love it until I started getting into it!


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

Kelly: I suppose I have a certain “voice” when it comes to writing, like all authors do. I’m not really sure what that is, though! J My first series is written from the third person POV and my current series is written from the first. I think I definitely prefer first person POV, but it is a bit harder for me to write that way.


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Kelly: We’ll focus the rest of the conversation on Forsaking Gray, my latest release. My goal is always to title a book something simple and catchy, but which describes the book to a “T” if you knew nothing else about it. With this particular series, The Colloway Brothers, I knew I wanted the title of each book to contain a brother’s name and the other word needed to describe what that book, at the 50,000 foot level, was about. I think you can all figure out then what Forsaking Gray is about without even reading the blurb!


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Kelly: Absolutely. In one word: forgiveness. The entire Colloway Brothers series, while it is an erotic romance series, is really about forgiveness in its simplest form. Humans are imperfect. We make mistakes. We hurt the ones we love, sometimes terribly, but if we were to go through life never forgiving the wrongs done to us, what a sad, lonely and bitter life we’d all have.


Fiona:
How much of the book is realistic?

Kelly: Hmmm…this is fiction! With a contemporary romance novel, the majority of it has to be steeped somewhat in reality. If it’s not, it’s called paranormal or fantasy! My approach with contemporary romance is to try to make the entire premise something that’s plausible, even if it is a stretch. I don’t think any scenario I’ve created throughout the Colloway Brothers series, though, is something that couldn’t possibly happen.


Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Kelly: Funny you should ask. I put a little of myself in all my female characters. My sass. My independence. My strength. My humor. And I also sprinkle in some of my real life experiences throughout every single book I’ve written. In UNDENIABLY ASHER, The Colloway Brothers #2, releasing in December, Alyse is probably the closest character to myself that I’ve written so far, personality wise. I also find myself writing a lot of character traits from my husband into my male characters.


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

Kelly: I know I’m supposed to say something smart here, like Moby Dick or War and Peace, or The Catcher in the Rye, but none of those would be true. I would honestly ~ and embarrassingly ~ have to say Twilight. Until I read Twilight I wasn’t much of a romance reader at all, actually. I stuck to authors like Harlen Coben and James Patterson, but after reading Twlight, even though it wasn’t erotica, it had enough romance and fantasy in it that I was hooked. I needed another vampire book and that’s when I stumbled across One Bite With a Stranger from Christine Warren. That was that. I was sucked into romance.


Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Kelly: Just finished Blow by Kim Carr. Next up is Worshipped by Brie Paisley.


Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Kelly: As I’m a pretty new author myself, I’ve also had the opportunity to meet a lot of great and truly talented authors that just need a chance to be recognized, but I would have to say probably Eve Jagger, Rachel Caid and L.A. Wild are some of the new authors that have released books this year which are simply PHENOMENAL. I wish there was a better way to get names of new authors into the public’s hands, because these women are so talented and, if given a chance, can be break-through romance authors.


Fiona: What are your current projects?

Kelly: Currently writing both my brand new contemporary series (yet to be named) as well as the novella for Mike/Giselle from my RVL series.


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

Kelly: Hands down the blogger community. It took a while to get to know some of these wonderful women who dedicate themselves to blogging simply because they love it THAT much! Without bloggers, the talented new authors that are introduced every day would be dead in the water.


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Kelly: Absolutely, but I’ll be honest…it’s a tough road. The landscape of books has changed significantly over the course of the last 5 years from paperbacks to ebooks. I’m not sure paperbacks will every go away, but there’s no disputing the fact that ebooks, and subsequently self-publishing, have taken off like a rocket. What comes with that is a lot of great authors who didn’t have a venue before through traditional publishing. But as a self-publisher, this is also your business and the single biggest challenge that ALL new business’s have is being seen ~ marketing and word of mouth. I think if you continue to produce solid, well-written products and build your fan base, you can eventually make a great career out of doing something you love.


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Kelly: Nope. I love how FORSAKING GRAY turned out.


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

Kelly: Answered above.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Kelly: I’ll share just a little excerpt from UNDENIABLY ASHER, releasing Dec 2.

She studies me for a few heartbeats like she’s trying to dissect my question. “Is that what this is? A relationship?”

“Is that what you want?” Jesus, please say yes. I have spent the last four years trying to avoid relationships of any kind. One or two “dates” was all I would allow, then I’d move onto the next one. I think I took one woman out three times, and when she asked if I wanted to go away for a weekend…well, I made sure she saw me out with someone else. So the fact that I’m sitting here silently begging her to say yes is not lost on me. I want from her what I’ve denied anyone else for years.

And Christ…I want it badly.

I watch her struggle to speak and I don’t realize I’m holding my breath until after she quietly says, “Yes.”

I nod. We’re silent for a couple of minutes while we enjoy the meal I cooked especially with her in mind.

“Do you?” she asks softly.

“Do I, what?”

“Want a relationship?”

I think about how to respond without scaring her. I want so much more than just a relationship. I want her. All of her. Every fucking part of her.

Every thought.

Every memory.

Every secret.

Every dream.

Every fantasy.

Every breath.

I want every waking and sleeping minute to belong only to me. I want her heart, her very fucking soul. I want it all.

Never in my life have I wanted someone to be wholly mine more than Alyse.

“Yes.”


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Kelly: Every author has challenges. Some days the words won’t come, some days you can’t shut them off. Some times the plot doesn’t work like I think it will and I have to scramble to figure out something different and sometimes the story just takes you somewhere entirely different than you expected.


Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Kelly: Pepper Winters, hands down. That woman is beyond brilliant and deserves every single best seller list she’s made. She has an unbelievable imagination and such an eloquent way with her writing. If I could only be half as good as she is, I’d be happy.


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Kelly: I haven’t yet, but I plan to attend the RT Convention in Vegas April 13-17, 2016 and I’m also looking at Penned Con in St. Louis next September (2016). These events are planned out a YEAR in advance. Crazy.


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Kelly: Clarissa Yeo at Yocla Designs. She’s brilliant.


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Kelly: Finding the time to do it. I’d love to write full time, but it doesn’t pay the bills! (Yet)


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

Kelly: Putting yourself on display for public scrutiny is hard and I don’t think most readers truly understand what an author goes through emotionally when they hit that publish button. But that’s what authors, musicians, actors, politicians, etc, do every single day. There will be people that don’t like your voice, your plots, your writing, your character development, etc, etc. There’s always self-doubt, there always will be, but throughout this process, I’ve learned to truly believe in me and my abilities. I’ve accomplished something I never dreamed I would and not many people do.


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Kelly: Write quality work, keep publishing, make connections with other authors and bloggers ~ true ones out of genuine friendship ~ and SUPPORT your fellow authors and bloggers. The romance community is a great one if we let it be and any authentic reader has multiple authors they enjoy. It’s not disloyal for them to support authors outside of you.


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Kelly: From the bottom of my heart, thank you for your undying support. You’ll never know how much it means to me.

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Kelly: Oh my God, no! Older than dirt, remember?

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Kelly: I’m a highly emotional person, so just about anything!

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

Kelly: I think I’d like to meet the first woman president of the United States. What an accomplishment that day will be.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

Kelly: HERE LIES THE BEST WOMAN I’VE EVER KNOWN. All I want to be remembered for is my love and devotion to my friends and family. I want to be a great wife, sister, daughter, aunt, friend, mother and eventually grandmother. At the end of the day, that’s really all that matters. Not my job, not how many books I write, not making bestseller lists, not the places I travel to, but influencing the lives I know I’m meant to in some positive way.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Kelly: Hahaha…reading! I also love to run and travel.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Kelly: I’m not a big TV or movie watcher any more since I started writing, but I love Game of Thrones, Modern Family, Black-ish, and The Goldberg’s (I grew up in the 80’s, so….)

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Kelly: Favorite Foods: Honestly, fish! I’ve changed my diet considerably in the last two years. Favorite Color: Depends on my mood, but I’m a lover of black and white. They even opened a store after me! White House/Black Market!! Brilliant.  Favorite Music: Alternative, but I also like Top 40 Pop. Some of my favorite bands are Red, Halestorm, Breaking Benjamin and Shinedown.

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Kelly: In my next life I plan to be the lead singer of the biggest, baddest rock band ever! Basically I want to be Lizzy from Halestorm. J

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

Kelly: Website: http://klkreig.com

 

Amazon Authors Page  http://www.amazon.com/K.L.-Kreig/e/B00PPFCFLC/ref=dp_byline_cont_pop_ebooks_1

