Name Rose Nickol

Age  53

Where are you from:  originally from a small town in Illinois, now living in the metro Denver area

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc

I separated from my husband of 14 years several years ago.  I now live on my own with a small shih-tzu and share custody of my 13 year old daughter with my husband.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news? 

Latest news.  I’m continuing to work on the Men in Blue and Dakota Pride series, but there are still books to come in Club de Fleurs and All the President’s Men.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I’ve been writing off and on all my life, but became serious about it 3 years ago.  I was raised with a strong love of all books.  My mother dabbled with her writing and I think she would be proud of what I’ve done.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer? 

I guess after my second book was published.  I’m still in awe every time a book is accepted.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

The voices in my head.  And my mother, even though she is no longer here physically she remains a very strong influence in my life.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? 

I’m not sure, I write what I like to read and what my mother liked to read.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

The voices in my head tell me.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

I write for entertainment.  I usually try to ad an element of suspense to keep the story going.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic? 

My books are all fantasy, I like to tell stories.

 

 
Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

No, I watch a lot of crime shows if anything influences me that would be it.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor? 

No specific book I read everything I can get my hands on and have read every type of book you can imagine.

 

 
Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Lexi Blake’s You only Love Twice

 

 
Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

I enjoy Diana Gabaldon, the Outlanders series is one of my faves, I’ve read almost every book Stephen King wrote, Patricia Cornwell was a past fav.

 

 
Fiona: What are your current projects?

I’m working on expanding the Men in Blue series and the Dakota Pride line.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members. 

I have great friends and a wonderful publisher.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yes, this is what I plan on doing for as long as I can.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No, I’m happy with my work

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

Again, my mother was a great influence

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

My WIP is the second book in the Men in Blue series, I’m about halfway done and hope to have it finished and submitted this month.

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing? 

Some of the BDSM scenes can be difficult

 

 
Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I have had several over the years, but currently I would have to say Diana Galbaldon and all the effort she puts into a book

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

I haven’t had to

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers? 

My publisher takes care of that with my input

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

When the voices go quiet and stop talking to me

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it? 

I do research for every book and learn things from all of them

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Unless you try you will never know.  Don’t be scared of rejection, tell your story, even if you only do it for yourself.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank you for supporting and believing in me.  Thank you for letting me into your life if only for a short time.

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

No, but I do remember reading Gone with the Wind in two days while I was in highschool

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Everything and anything

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

There are too many to list here

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

haven’t though about that one, I hope I don’t have to for many years

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

I crochet and do crafts with my daughter

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Criminal Minds is a fave, but my house usually has the Disney channel for my daughter, when she’s not here the TV is usually and I listen to music.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Fave Food has to be chocolate, can’t live without it.  I like greens and blues, and country music, but also like pop and oldies

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

When I was working I did medical billing and really enjoyed it

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it? 

You can find my blog here:  http://rosenickolwrites.blogspot.com/

Or I’m on Facebook at:  https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100007172799089

Amazon Authors Page http://www.amazon.com/Rose-Nickol/e/B00MOXX2X8/ref=dp_byline_cont_pop_ebooks_1

BookStrand Page http://www.bookstrand.com/rose-nickol

