Name  J A Heron (Jane).

Age 42

Where are you from Burton on Trent, Staffordshire, UK

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc

I didn’t get very many qualifications whilst I was in school, but I made up for it in 1998-99 when I re-took my GSCE and A-level English and Maths.

I’m engaged to Ian, he is the most romantic and loving man I have ever met, he treats me better than all the other dickheads I’ve dated in the past.

I also have a daughter – Shelby – she will be 24 this December.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I’m so excited to tell you that I have a new release called ‘GirlsQuad’, due to be released November 30th 2015.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I’ve always had a passion for the written word, but never thought that I could do it. It took a serious illness for me to finally decide that life is too short, so I took the plunge and went for it. I haven’t looked back since.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I don’t consider myself a writer. I think of it as a hobby. Lot’s of people have hobbies who try to turn those skills into earning a little cash. I’m no different to them.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I watched a program called ‘Secret Diary of a Call Girl. It starred Billie Piper, and she plays a high class call girl working in London. I loosely based my character on her.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I’m not sure, perhaps you’d need to ask my readers. I think I say what’s on my mind, I get to the point and don’t use a lot of flowery language.

 

 


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

With most of my books, the titles comes to me during the writing process.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

With ‘Belleza’ (my debut), the book is about second chances for both lead characters – Mya and Joe. They’re looking for something when they find each other.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic? 

I think my new book GirlsQuad is very realisitic. It’s about four women who laugh and cry together. They lean on each other for support. It’s a story about friendship and I’ve tried to keep the characters very real.

 

 
Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Very much so, with all of my books. There are huge chunks of ‘me’ in those books, but also large portions of loved ones thrown in there too.

 

 


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

I’ve read a lot of Cecelia Ahern, E.K.Blair and Stephen King. I have mixed taste. Sometimes I like to read something gritty and thrilling, other times I like to read something flowery and romantic.

 

 
Fiona: What book are you reading now?

The Domville 2 by CJ Fallowfield (I love her).

 

 
Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Not really, I’m really busy at the moment, but I am looking out for new talent.

 

 
Fiona: What are your current projects?

GirlsQuad ~ A Best of Friends Series: Book One is due out very soon, so now I’m working on book 2 as I’ve left book one on a huge cliffhanger and my readers are angry with me LOL.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

Books! Simply because when I was ill, I had a lot of time on my hands and the physiotherapy sessions took a lot of energy out of me. I found the time to read while I was in recovery.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I’d like to, but I don’t think I will ever reach ‘Legend’ status with my little novels. I have aspirations to make people happy while reading something that I’ve created, anything above and beyond that would be an added bonus.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Every writer says that they would, I’m no different.

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

Through reading. I’ve always thought to myself ‘I can do that’.

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

GirlsQuad as I’ve mentioned is about four women, all different ages, different looks but they are best friends.

This is not the official synopsis, but something I’ve thrown together for you:

GirlsQuad

 

Clarissa (39). She’s looking for love. She’s scared of that ticking noise, you know the one. The sound of a woman’s biological clock ticking. She’s warm, caring and loving. But she doesn’t take any crap.

Brenda (43). Blissfully and outrageously happy in her marriage. She’s so happy it makes people want to throw up. Her husband of twelve years is yummy and they have three children.

Carla (27). No intentions of settling down, it’s not in her vocabulary. Her friends believe that she’s screwed the whole of Berkshire, but Carla insists that she still has a few to go before that record is achieved.

Davina (19). The baby of the group, the ditzy one, the girl with the weight of the world on her shoulders. Yet she’s not even lived yet. Her friends are extremely protective towards her.

 

These four women live their lives with gusto; they work together, they play together and most of all, they laugh together.

Four worlds, four characters, all of them have a tale to tell. This is a romantic comedy that will have you laughing, smiling and crying. The author hopes that your heart will be warmed. She also hope that you will laugh and smile when you read this tale of friendship, love, loss, sadness. This is a story about women who live simple lives, with no frills, but they enjoy the company of one another.

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Most of the whole process is challenging. From writing ‘Chapter One’ to writing ‘The End’, then there is all the promoting, marketing and publishing to deal with. It’s stressful, but it’s soooo much fun 😉

 

 
Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I’d say E.K Blair springs to mind when someone asks me that question. Her work is dark, incredibly well written and she’s bloody fantastic. I love all her books. But in the indie world, I have a few authors who I’ve met at signings and I have to say that they’re books are as lovely as their personalities.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

I wish. I hope one day to promote myself in the USA. I haven’t had the opportunity yet. Never say never!

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Me and my cover designers with Gone Writing Publishing.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Concentration and motivation. These are my biggest obstacles, I’m easily distracted.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I learned to appreciate all the emotions an author feels during the writing process. Happiness, self-doubt, heartache, friendships… the list is endless.

 

 


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Take your time, get it right, find a good editor and be 100% happy with your book before you hit the ‘publish’ button.

 

 


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

You’re all totally awesome and I love you ♥

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

I think it was a Ladybird book, with characters called Jane and Peter. I was probably about six years old, maybe younger. It was a century ago LOL

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Pretty much anything.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

I’d like to shake Winston Churchill’s hand.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your headstone and why?

I WOZ ERE.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

I make my own swag, I crochet and I watch TV when I can.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I watch just about anything. My favourites are SOA, Great British Bake Off, and anything gritty that the BBC throws at me.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

I love Italian, purple and anything other than Justin Beiber or One Direction 😉

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer, what else would you like to have done?

I’d like to continue with my nurse training. I was a student nurse and had completed my first year degree, but I had to pull out due to circumstances out of my control.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so, what is it? Yep here it is à http://janeheron1.wix.com/jaheronauthor

Amazon Authors Page http://www.amazon.co.uk/J-A-Heron/e/B00MJ7UQ7Y/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1444153968&sr=1-2-ent

