Name   Mistral Dawn

Age  30-something

Where are you from   The US

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc  

Mistral Dawn is a thirty-something gal who currently lives in the SE US. She moves around quite a bit, and has lived on both US coasts, but somehow never in the middle. When she isn’t writing fantasy, romance novels or impersonating a graduate student, she rescues cats and kittens out of her home. Please spay or neuter your pets! 🙂

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I’m now editing my third full-length novel, Captivated By The Winter King, and I hope to release it just after Thanksgiving! 🙂


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

If you mean writing fiction outside of school assignments, I began writing my first novel, Taken By The Huntsman in June of 2014.  I woke up from a dream with the plot for it in my head.  I texted a friend of mine with the idea and asked her if she thought it was interesting.  She was kind enough to say that she did think it was interesting, so I wrote the first couple chapters.  My friend read them and said she’d like to read the rest, so I write it. 🙂


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I guess, when I published Taken By The Huntsman.


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I had a debate with an online friend about the nature of consent.  I was also researching European mythology at the time, because I’m a nerd, and somehow the two got tangled in my head while I was sleeping.  The plot for Taken By The Huntsman was the result.


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I’m not really sure.


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

I wanted something that was suggestive of the plot but still catchy.  Taken By The Huntsman seemed to be both.


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

There are many messages in my stories that I’d like for my readers to think about.  I never want to preach or tell anyone else what to think, but I think there are issues that every adult should at least consider.  I love it when my readers tell me that my story made them go hmmm…. 🙂


Fiona:
How much of the book is realistic?

Well, my stories are mainly set in Fairie and are about the Fae, so not much.  I think the personal situations, attitudes, thoughts, and worries are pretty real, but the setting and the specifics are definitely fanciful.


Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

I’m not sure how to answer this.  I think everything in life is colored by the experiences of the one who sees it.


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

There are so many great authors who have helped me, I’d never be able to name them all.  However, Tracy St. John posted a series of blog posts about being an indie author that helped me quite a bit when I was getting started.  Ms. St. John was also gracious enough to answer questions I emailed to her, which I was and am more than grateful for.


Fiona: What book are you reading now?

At the moment I’m reading Touch of the Irish by Savannah Morgan.


Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

I’m not sure what you mean by this.  There are many very talented new authors out there.


Fiona: What are your current projects?

At the moment I’m working to get Captivated By The Winter King edited and ready for publication.


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

A very dear friend of mine named Kate.


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I would love to make writing my career.


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No, but I’ve learned a lot in the last year and there are changes I want to make to my first book.


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I woke up with a story that seemed to want to be told.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

He smiled, “Yes, but most Fae do not walk around advertising their power. They keep their auras suppressed, so that any enemies they may have won’t know exactly how strong they are.”

She thought about it, “That’s reasonable. Is that what you’re doing now?”

Nodding, he said, “Yes.”  He gave her teasing smirk and asked, “Would you like to feel my power?”

Shivering, she grinned back at him, “Yes, but not here and not tonight.”

“Oh? And what is it you’d like to do tonight?” he flirted. The smile she gave him in return scorched him.

“Let me show you,” she invited.
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Getting my characters to cooperate and do what I want them to do. 😉


Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

There are way too many to name. 🙂


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

I haven’t had to travel at all yet.


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Erin Dameron-Hill designed the covers for Taken By The Huntsman, Bound By The Summer Prince, and Captivated By The Winter King.  Julie Nicholls designed the cover for Intrigue In The Summer Court.


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Marketing! 😉


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I learned that some people will like my work, some people won’t, and all I can do is write the story I’d like to read.


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Just do it.  Don’t wait, just start writing.


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank you so much!!! I love you all, and I can’t tell you how much I appreciate you taking the time to read my work! 🙂

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Heir To The Empire by Timothy Zahn

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

My cats. 🙂

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

I’d love to meet Eleanor Roosevelt because she seems like she was an exceptional lady.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

She had a lot of fun and no regrets.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

I rescue cats and kittens and occasionally I crochet

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I enjoy fantasy, sci-fi, forensics, and legal dramas

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Potato soup, purple, all kinds

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

 I’ve done all kinds of jobs.  Life’s an adventure. 🙂

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

Yes, Mistral Dawn’s Musings:  http://mistralkdawn.blogspot.com/

 

Amazon Authors Page http://www.amazon.com/Mistral-Dawn/e/B00NGXETSM/ref=dp_byline_cont_pop_ebooks_1

