Name: Su Halfwerk  

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc  

With a background in Information Technology, I started my career in the IT world but after that I expanded my experience to include insurance, beverages, and event management as well. What can I say, I like to diversify J

Flexibility helped me in adjusting to each career move, and that was a great tool I utilized while writing. Authors should be able to shift between different characters, sometimes even different genres, without coming across as stiff, or worse, sounding the same everywhere including during a gender shift in point of view.

I’m married, have a son, and love to add a touch of creativity to everything I do.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

Earlier this year, I released Aberrancy, a horror novella about a father’s struggle to cope with the monstrosity he (believes) have raised. The story spans over few years of the sinister oddities in their lives.

You can watch the trailer here:

Aberrancy is available through:

Smashwords: https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/540281

Kobo: https://store.kobobooks.com/en-US/ebook/aberrancy

Barnes and Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/aberrancy-su-halfwerk/1121877211?ean=2940151905220

Apple iBook USA: https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/aberrancy/id992269011?mt=11

Apple iBook UK: https://itunes.apple.com/gb/book/aberrancy/id992269011?mt=11

 

 

 

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

13 years ago my focus shifted from my career to my newly born son. At the time, I was into oil painting which involved turpentine, thinners, paint tubes and a whole host of chemicals I wanted to keep away from my son. Since I needed a creative outlet, and at the time there were no new Stephen King books I haven’t read, I started writing, discovered I needed to learn the trade through reference books, then went back to writing.

 

 

 


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Aberrancy is about being different from the norm, not necessarily in a good way. Since the book carries a dark theme and is about how a parent can view his daughter as monstrosity, the word “aberrancy” felt just right.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic?

I might’ve been influenced by traits I noticed on people in the street or in my life, but the plot and characters are all fictional.

 

Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

Stephen King’s “On Writing: A Memoir of the Craft”. The book was an eye opener…even the King changed his mind about elements of his stories, which in turn reduced how much I fussed about that first draft. My focus became to just get on with the writing, finish the book, and save the editing for later. I also learned that perseverance is a trait that can cut both ways.

Having said the above, I can proudly name Stephen King as my mentor as well.

 

 
Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Twisted by Michaelbrent Collings.

 

 


Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Michaelbrent Collings. His book, Darkbound is a treat for horror fans. It is gory but the delivery approach is masterful.

 

 
Fiona: What are your current projects?

Besides writing in the horror genre, I also write paranormal romance. My current WIP is about a witch whose magic has grown so protective of her that it transforms her to another form, especially around the hero. There’s something dark about him, something her magic senses is dangerous. 😀

 

 


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Like a mother who wouldn’t change a thing about her baby, I’d say no. But let this book (kid) grow up in few years, and I might have something.

 

 
Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Sure. Here’s the blurb:

Robert Williamson, esteemed judge, adoring husband, and doting father, has his flawless life snatched away, leaving him damaged beyond repair—damaged by a witch whose taunting presence spells his destruction.

Before exacting his revenge, Robert is hell-bent on digging out explanations.

His demands are wild, his interrogation method peculiar, and what he seeks most might well cost him what remains of his sanity—and he knows it.

Despite horrible odds, Robert refuses to give in.

Aberrancy is a gripping dark tale of lives lost…to a different kind of evil.

 

 

And here’s an excerpt:

Her arms were secured to the wooden chair’s arms with six coils of duct tape. The same was done to her feet and the chair’s legs. Another set of layers—twelve to be exact—secured her midsection to its back.

“I don’t have much,” she said. “Take whatever jewelry I have. Take my bank card and pin code, just let me go.”

He slammed his hand on the table, the solitary candle shook without toppling to the ground. The bottle of fizz did though, and was smashed on the floor. “I don’t want your money.”

“Then what do you want?” Liquid leaked out of her eyes, presumably tears.

“Answers.”

Her glistening eyes shifted sideways. “What?”

“You heard me. Proper and reasonable answers will be your salvation.”

“Answers to what? I don’t know what you’re talking about. I don’t even know you.” Under her breath, she muttered to herself, “This isn’t happening. This isn’t happening.”

“You thought I wouldn’t find you.” He smirked.

She inhaled sharply. “My name is Delia Kane. I’m a—”

“—high school history teacher,” he mocked. “A small town spinster who hasn’t taken a single step out of her little town except to relocate here to teach.” He paused. “Isn’t this the spiel nowadays to connect with your abductor? To humanize yourself by spilling a summary of your bio no matter how fake it is?”

She blinked sweat out of her eyes. “That’s my life you’re talking about. Hold on a second…how come you know so much about me?” She squinted at him, studying his face. “Who are you?”

The night was humid. His borrowed orderly shirt was sticking to his back. “Who am I?” He backhanded her hard enough to hurt his hand. “Stop playing tricks. You might not know how I found you this time but you know damn well who I am.”

She sniffled; mucus ran out of her crooked nose. “I swear to God, I don’t know you. There must be a mistake.”

Surely she could make out his face in the dim light. Then again, maybe she’d lost her memory from the last accident she had. Or, as per her habit, she was lying.

He glanced at the microwave’s clock. Twelve o’clock. It had taken her over four hours to awaken from the drug he’d injected her with, longer than he’d anticipated going by his wake-up record. Unlike him, her body wasn’t used to it.

“Maybe I should tell you a story. You know, to help you remember.” They had time. No one would stop by at this late hour on a school night.

And if anyone showed up, he would introduce their guts to her butcher knife.

 

 

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I design book covers and trailers for authors under Novel Prevue. Aberrancy’s is one of my designs.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Write as much as you can, write every day, but without reading other books beside yours, your learning will be interrupted.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Yes, The Shining by Stephen King.

 

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Cats make me laugh, I love cats.

Helplessness, in other words injustice and oppression, make me cry (and break things.)

 

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Painting and graphic design.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

TV shows: Anything involving mystery. Currently in love with NCIS and Person of Interest.

Films: Horror mostly as long as it’s not gory. I lean more toward psychological or ghostly horror.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Food: Indian and Italian.

Colors: Black and Blue.

Music: Eclectic taste.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

I haunt the following places online:

Website: http://www.su-halfwerk.com

Novel Prevue (My graphic design company): http://www.novelprevue.com

Instagram: http://instagram.com/suhalfwerk/

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/Su.Halfwerk

Twitter: http://twitter.com/SuHalfwerk

Blog: http://www.suhalfwerk.blogspot.com/

 

Fiona, thank you so much for having me on your blog.

