JFwave

Name Jeanne Foguth

Age 64

Where are you from

We currently live in Florida, but have called many places home. For instance, 36 years ago, my husband and I were married in Fairbanks, Alaska and our most recent move was from a home in Panama’s mountains. Prior to that, we called EvenStar, a Gemini 105MC catamaran home.

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc.

I earned a B.A. in English from Calvin College, which is in Grand Rapids, Michigan.

As noted above, 36 years ago I married my husband, who also happens to be my best friend. We have two daughters, one son-in-law, two grandchildren and a wide assortment of feathered and furry characters, who we call ‘family’.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

SBftCVE

The first two books of the Chatterre trilogy are out. In Star BridgeNimri an herbal healer and Chatterre’s new Keeper of the Peace, must safeguard her tribe from their bitter rivals. To do this, she must find her ‘magic core’.

Many light years away, Colonel Larwin Atano, an elite Guerreterre Shadow Warrior, fights to save his intergalactic star-fighter. Despite all efforts, he crashes.

Larwin perceives Chatterre’s resources as a means to gain power and prestige and views the planet’s inhabitants as a minor inconvenience.

 

Nimri believes Larwin is a supernatural Guardian, who will protest her tribe from their rivals.

TM

Thunder Moon is Chatterre’s book 2. Thunder Cartwright dreams that madrox will invade Chatterre and destroy his world unless the star bridge is closed. Meanwhile,
Raine, a Kalamaran Dragon Shepard, must catch a rogue mooncalf and return it to the herd or face possible death.
RedCLAW
In December, 2014 The Red Claw, which is book 1 of The Sea Purrtector Files, debuted. Xander de Hunter, is Catamondo’s Sea Purrtector. During his youth, Xander “The Kamikaze” de Hunter gained fame in Catamondo’s kickboxing tournaments. By age 5, Xander organized techno-savvy cats and created Catamondo’s first interactive website, which was a reowsing success. When, he and his family moved aboard sailing vessel, Whispurring Winds and Catamondo’s Council created a new office and Xander to be the first Sea Purrtector. Thus The Kamikaze organized his new position utilizing all the advanced technology available aboard: single side-band radio; satellite phones, marine radio and of course, the Internet, which he’d become skilled at.
In his official capacity, Kamikaze Xander assists cats wherever he advises his humans to anchor.
Before I learned how much I love writing Sci-Fantasy, I wrote three contemporary suspense-romance books: Deadly Rumors, Fatal Attractions and Passion’s Fire.
mybooks

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I have always enjoyed writing, but IMHO, I officially began writing when I was 17 and Flower and Garden published some tips I sent them.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

See above.


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

After the birth of our second child, my husband and I decided that one of us should be an ‘at home parent’. Since his benefits were better and I could work free-lance, we decided that he would continue working. About this time, we purchased our very first PC a Delta Gold, with a 10 mg hard drive. We thought it had more space for data than we could ever use.

Yeah, we laugh about that, too.

Anyway, while I was an at home mom, I wrote policy and procedure manuals and computer user manuals, but I was also frustrated and needed an emotional outlet. So, I started ‘playing’ with fiction. The first book was dreadful, but I had fun writing it, so in between freelance contracts, I studied and practiced writing fiction.


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

My novels are character driven, therefore, each one seems to take on the protagonists’ character.


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Various ways. For Purr-a-Noia, I saw a T-shirt on Pinterest.

5eb203ade0e5fc8fce7833cb07e5bc57

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

That we should accept others for the individuals they are instead of pigeonhole them according to gender, height, weight, education, religion, coloring, politics, nationality and/or any other superficial pigeonhole people seem to use.

In other words, treat others the way you want them to treat you.


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic?

LOL, that depends on if you believe cats are techno-savvy or that madrox (cosmic dragons) live in the sun’s corona. That said, Nimri’s herbal knowledge is real, ditto for the realistic relationships between characters.


Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

The Sea Purrtector Files were written in memory of Rom, who I think was the best cat ever. In fact, the Siamese cat pictured on the covers of The Red Claw and Purr-a-Noia is Rom.


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

I love the books by J. R. R. Tolkien, James Clavell and Judith MacNaught. While none of them were particularly prolific, they all wrote books that would keep me up all night.


Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I just downloaded Callie by Sharon Srock, but have not actually started reading.


Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

I enjoyed the first three books of F.P. Spirit’s Heroes of Ravenford Series.

I also enjoyed Denise Liebig’s debut novel, Dear Maude and Jennifer Coburn’s quirky characters.


Fiona: What are your current projects?

At present, my time is divided between writing the first draft of Fire Island, which will be book 3 of the Chatterre trilogy and editing Purr-a-Noia’s rough draft. It always amazes me how a story can seem fabulous, as I am initially putting the words on paper, then, when I read it through, after it is complete, I usually wonder what I’ve been thinking when I wrote this or that. I also wonder where I learned to spell, and if I’ve ever heard of grammar… There is a reason the initial draft is call a rough draft.

Purr-a-noia is book 2 of The Sea Purrtector Files is on schedule to come out in June.

BTW, Purr-a-Noia is set in Haiti, land of voodoo and witchcraft and book 3 of the Sea Purrtector Files will be Vam-Purr.

Can you tell that I love cats?


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

My friends, who are great.


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

In one shape or form, writing has supported me for about four decades. The main difference is that initially, I did technical writing, which basically gives facts and shares information. Now, my primary focus is on Sci-Fantasy, which entertains and shares emotions.


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Not any of the ones that are published … a lot will get changed before the two I am currently working on get assigned an ISBN.


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I think it was a natural evolution from my love of reading.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Amazon provides free sneak peaks:

Deadly Rumors – Kelsey MacLennan and Devlin Doran both want to make the world better. Doran believes the rumors about the MacLennans dealing drugs, so his goal is to bring them down. Kelsey MacLennan wants to make the world better, but her senatorial political campaign turns deadly and rumors abound, when the incumbent must win or be killed by his backers. Devlin Doran’s younger sister died of an overdose, so his goal is to prosecute pushers. Rumors abound that the MacLennans are high in the local drug network and he is targeting Kelsey MacLennan.

Will they be able to separate fact from fiction or will the rumors be deadly to them?

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00H7OLLJQ

 

Fatal Attractions – Ariel and Tempest Danner have escaped Tempest’s homicidal father for the sixth time in five years. Armed with new identities and disguises, they are determined that Fairbanks, Alaska will be a sanctuary where they can live in peace.

Stone O’Banyon, their new landlord, has been divorced from a mercenary woman for three years. All his energy is focused on his job and Dolly, who would never hurt him.

The last thing Ariel needs or wants is the attraction she feels for another tall, dark man, who seems hard as the granite he is named for, but the fascination will not go away. Stone isn’t any happier with his obsessive thoughts concerning Ariel.

Things seem calm, then Ariel and Tempest catch sight of the man they had hoped they would never encounter and things turn fatal…again.

Armed with new identities and disguises, Ariel and Tempest Danner are on the run, again. Will Stone O’Banyon, their new landlord and Fairbanks, Alaska be a sanctuary or a trap?

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00JDNBS7O

 

Passion’s Fire – Prior to the blaze that killed her husband, Jacqueline Cardew believed her husband wrote the “fiery messages’ she received. Now she finds a new note inside her locked house. Jacqueline suspects her faceless stalker murdered Adam and she is next. She flees north, where she joins Link Gavallan’s group on a two week long Alaskan wilderness canoe trip. As they float down the desolate river, she receives another message…

Instead of finding a sanctuary, has she made it easier for the unknown person to make her get to her?

Jacqueline Cardew receives messages that combine images of fire and love. Then, there is a deadly fire, she joins an Alaskan wilderness camping trip. And finds another fiery message…

 

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00KOSP2YM

 

Star Bridge – When Colonel Larwin Atano’s star-fighter crashes, he sees Chatterre’s resources as power and prestige. Nimri, an herbal healer, must protect her tribe and planet.

Who will survive the coming conflict?

http://www.amazon.com//dp/B00O2HNL4Y

 

Thunder Moon – Thunder Cartwright dreams that madrox will invade Chatterre and destroy his world unless the star bridge is closed.

 

Raine, a Kalamaran Dragon Shepard, must catch a rogue mooncalf and return it to the herd or face possible death.

 

Who will will win and who will die?

http://www.amazon.com//dp/B00O2HNL4Y

 

 

The Red Claw – Dame Esmeralda, the Purrsident’s littermate, has been catnapped. Xander de Hunter, Catamondo’s Sea Purrtector hurries to Jamaica to help rescue her, even though Jamaica is one of Dogdom’s strongholds.

Could this be a trap?

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00OYAXK6I


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Finding time and space to concentrate.


Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I love J. R. R. Tolkien’s diverse characters and how individuals from such different backgrounds can bond and become allies/friends; James Clavell for the rich texture of his historically based novels; Judith MacNaught for characters who do not limit themselves with social class, etc. Dan Brown, who write a mystery, which I never work out by mid-book.


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

No.


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Kiara Graham.


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Learning to let the characters ‘drive’ the plot.


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

After writing three contemporary suspense-romance books, I wrote Star Bridge and realized that I preferred writing for a younger audience and in an unknown world.


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

If you are writing a book because you love to write, by putting words to paper, you are a success. If you decided to write a book because you wanted to get rich quick, you might want to rethink your plan.

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

The first book I recall my mother reading to me was The Little Engine that Could. The first ‘real book’ that I recall reading myself (3rd grade) was Gone With the Wind.

Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

If you want to be notified when new books become available and/or when titles are on sale, please write to me at j_foguth@yahoo.com and ask to be put on the announcement list. This is a ‘blind list’, so your information will not be shared with others.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Laughter: when I hear the light-hearted sound of children laughing. Crying is easy, just watch/read the news and realize that we humans prefer to fight over differences instead of discover the things we have in common.

Fiona: Is there one person past or present you would meet and why?

Pick one? That is difficult and I do not have a name, but I would love to meet the designer of the Great Pyramid and ask him or her: 1) if there is a deep meaning to the mathematics used in the construction or if pi was simply used to strengthen the structure; 2) if the pyramid was build as a ‘gateway to the afterlife’, as some have theorized and if it was not used as a gateway, did it have some other function; 3) what type of technology was used to cut, move and stack those stones.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

LOL, I don’t want a headstone, I want to be cremated and have my ashes spread wherever the wind takes them.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

Yarn crafts, sewing, gardening and painting.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

On the rare occasion that I watch TV, I like The Big Bang Theory and House of Cards.

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

I don’t have favorites, but there are some I am not fond of. For instance, I am not particularly fond of gray and I avoid listening to opera because when the soprano hits a high C, it feels like a spear in my ears.

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I love painting. Hmmm, perhaps I should clarify, since the last time I made that statement, the individual I was speaking to told me she loved ‘painting walls, too’. While I have been known to paint walls and even do murals, when I say paint, I mean on canvas and with oils.

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

http://www.jeannefoguth.com is my primary web-home. My blog, which primarily gives information for pet owners as well as occasional information on herbs and healthy foods is embedded on my website, but you can also access it at its host-site:https://foguth.wordpress.com

Twitter: Jeanne Foguth@PurrtectorFiles

Facebook: Jeanne Foguth

