10451694_1415739668741475_6486489246001728184_n

Name Jason Dyer

Age 36

Where are you from

Elkhart, IN

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc  

I have lived in Northern, Indiana all my life.  I’m an only child who’s never been married and no children.   I graduated from IU South Bend back in May of ’12 with a bachelors in criminal justice.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

Well, I just had my debut publication in February with Sam Knight’s latest anthology entitled “Freakend Madness”.  I have two stories included.  It’s currently only available in paperback but for only $6.99 and all proceeds going to a women’s shelter in Colorado, you really can’t go wrong.


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

When?  Probably around the age of 8.  Why?  I couldn’t tell ya.  I’ve always had a very active imagination.  I could never draw worth a damn but I could always put ideas down to paper.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Not till lately.  Like I said, I’ve always been writing and telling stories since I was a kid but I feel finally being published and seriously immersing myself into writing communities has made it much easier for me to label myself a writer.


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I don’t have my first book out yet.  But what is inspiring me to do so, is simply telling myself that I can write quality material that is similar to what I often read.


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I often write the way I talk.  And I often catch my own “isms” popping up in my characters, regardless of who they are. By no means am I comparing myself, but with King; you can read any story of his and just imagine him actually sitting there telling you the story.  Anyways, I strive to be as realistic as possible as I feel it’s the best way to connect with readers.


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Honestly, I’m trying to get better at that.  No different than most writers claim they let their characters direct themselves, I usually let the story name itself when it’s ready.  I’ve also been known to let others name a story for me.


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Since one isn’t here yet, that’s hard to answer.  With my short stories, I generally just write to entertain.


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic?

In regards to the two stories I just released, one (“The In Crowd”) could be as it’s just a short tale about an outcast just looking to fit in.  Unbeknownst to him, he’s been watched all this time and is about to be “placed”.  The other story is less realistic as it takes place on an alien planet with a rather primitive judicial system.


Fiona: Are there experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

I suppose I could relate to the protagonist in “The In Crowd”, though I’d much rather be the exact opposite of what he turns out to be.


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

Books such as Dan Brown’s “Angels & Demons” and William P. Young’s “The Shack” were terrific reads that keep me thinking and hoping there’s more going on out there than this little speck of a planet we live on.  I don’t know if I ever had a direct mentor per se in regards to writing.


Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I’ve been picking away at several different ones.  What instantly comes to mind is Louis L’Amour’s “The Sackett Brand, a Brad Meltzer anthology called “The Mystery Box” and Stephen King’s “The Revival”.


Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Too many to list.  But I’ve had the privilege of meeting many new authors here and in the UK in recent years and I’ve been exposed to many new writing styles.


Fiona: What are your current projects?

I always have ideas swirling around but the irony is, as of this interview, I’ve just received confirmation of my second publication coming out this fall.  I’m not at liberty to give details right now, but I am really excited about this one and feel it’s the next step upwards in the literary world.


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

I’m not going to do that for one person in particular as I’ve received insurmountable support from many loved ones from one extreme to the next.  But I can honestly say the unique support I’ve been given certainly helps shape the path I’ve taken.


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Just as much as the next writer.  But at given point, I’d love just to be able to invest myself full-time into the craft.  As someone who has a full-time job, volunteers elsewhere, struggles with ADD and doesn’t even own a laptop, I’d say the odds are stacked against someone in my position!!  But It’s such an empowering feeling knowing I’ve casted aside all of those excuses and simply worked as hard as I could.


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Yeah, I probably wouldn’t be so crazy about publishing “The In Crowd”.  I don’t disown it, but it was written 15 years ago, long before I even sought higher education.  It’s just a rather predictable tale that easily goes from point A. to B.  I just liked the idea of having two stories in one anthology and my editor rolled with it.  But one could definitely read both of them and see the differences in the maturity of my writing.


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

As I’ve said before, I started when I was a kid and just wanted to get these ideas on paper.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

I just had a submission accepted with a prominent publishing house in the UK.  Like I said, I just received this news today, so everything is really in its infancy.  But it’s going to happen for sure and I will release all details as soon as I get them.  Aside from that, I am working on other submissions and all of that effort will certainly be expedited once I get a steady laptop back in my possession.


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Oh, I’m always striving to improve.  I always thought I can do a little better with transition and paragraph structure.  Again, that boils down to being allotted more time to simply spend with my writing.  I’d love to be my own editor so worst case, my publishing editor is only applying finishing touches.  Not to mention, I can always go through older stories of mine, still think they are pretty good but can simply be TOLD better.


Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I’d have to roll with King on that one.  I don’t’ think it’s mentioned often, but I’ve always admired him as a person and I think that’s aided his success.  His mannerisms, how he talks and thinks.  That in itself is a major quality regardless if he wants to talk about a Homicidal Saint Bernard or possessed Plymouth Fury.  Anyone could have come up with those ideas but no one could present him like Stephen King can.


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Not currently. But I wouldn’t mind it at all.  Once this second anthology is released, I’m going to check into some local appearances.


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

That’s a good question.  Maybe it’s because I haven’t hunkered down for a full-length novel yet, but once I’m in the zone with a shorter story, I really don’t face any mentionable challenges.  The process is pretty smooth.  If I hit an obstacle or draw a blank, I just look at the characters involved and sort of ask them what would they do?


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I’m always learning and improving.  Many beginning writers cringe when someone more seasoned criticizes their work.  I welcome it with open arms because that’s the best way I learn and improve.


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Respect anyone and everyone you meet in the industry.  It’s a very big world of people who would love to make a living writing.  Don’t consider them competition as most are facing the same struggles as you or they have already been there.  If your writing is good enough, it will speak for itself.  Just keep your mind WIDE OPEN and always take advice and criticism given as you strive to improve.

 


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Stay tuned.  I’ve finally found the much needed momentum I’ve required for so long.  As long as you keep reading and supporting, I’ll keep writing.  It’s that simple and I can’t thank those enough who have been there.

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

“The Right Hand of Evil” by John Saul.  All up to my young adult years, it was a struggle for me to have the patience to even read a full-length novel.  But one day, I just saw this paperback, bought it (knowing very little about Saul) and committed to reading it.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

I write about too much death as it is.  I try not to think much about my own!  lol

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Love to play drums plus a little guitar.  Poker.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Been keeping up on Professional Wrestling these days.  Other than that I really don’t watch regular tv.  Poker when it was on more regularly.  Love horror flicks, of course.

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Burgers, Pizza, Chinese, yknow, all sorts of health food.

Music phanatic.  Heavy into 80’s Pop/New Wave as well as 90’s grunge and punk rock.

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I’ve always felt I was destined to make a living in some facet of the entertainment industry.  Music, movies, theatre, comic books, on air personality, comedy, wrestling, I’ve dabbled in em all.  Something’s gotta stick!

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

Here are links to my Facebook page, Fan page and an Amazon link to my current anthology, “Freakend Madness”.  I should have a more formal website soon!

https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100009163677371&fref=ts

 

https://www.facebook.com/jldyersbook

 

Amazon Page http://www.amazon.com/Jason-Dyer/e/B00TG9NT6I/ref=dp_byline_cont_pop_book_8

 

 

51RfQHsdMbL51K+eerLWSL

http://www.amazon.com/Freakend-Madness-1-Sam-Knight/dp/1622252527/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1424371674&sr=8-1&keywords=freakend+madness

 

