AuthorPic

Name  Emerian Rich

Age 41

Where are you from?

San Francisco Bay Area, California, USA

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc
I was born in Colorado, the only child of pastors. I lived in thirty-two different places by the time I graduated high school. I spent a lot of time writing or drawing or singing to pass time when we had moved somewhere new and I didn’t have friends yet. In school, I was never good at the hard stuff like math and science. I have a degree in Visual Presentation and Space Design from FIDM, San Francisco, which is basically window design, graphics, and merchandising. I still use these skills in book marketing, making covers, and advertising. I also do consulting.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?
Where to start? I’ve always got four or five projects brewing. My latest novel, Artistic License, is about a women who inherits a house where anything she paints on the walls comes alive. I am the Horror Hostess for the podcast HorrorAddicts.net and we are about to launch into our 10th Season in March.

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?
With no siblings and no consistent peer relationships (we moved alot), the pen became an integral part of my life, granting me an inexpensive pastime I could take with me anywhere. The characters in my stories became my friends and my journal, my only continuous confidant.

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?
I don’t think it really sunk in until my first book (Night’s Knights) launch party. I was standing in front of a crowd, in a real bookstore, gripping my work in print, and it just hit me. The people sitting and standing there wanted to listen to me speak.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?
My first book ever was an 86-page, handwritten in bubbly writing, teen novel about movies stars and a plane hijacking. It definitely won’t be seeing bookstore shelves. I started writing shortly after I started a diary. I realized my life was depressing and boring, so I started writing how I wished it would be.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?
Not sure. I write a lot of different things, so I think it depends on what I am writing. For instance, if I’m writing horror, I try to make it darkly beautiful, whereas if I’m writing SciFi or Fantasy, I try to get into those mindsets.

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

(for the most recent book?)Titles just come to me. Often they are the first thing I think of. Artistic License describes not only the book filled with art, and how the main character relates to art, but my skewing reality in the story itself.

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?
“It’s never too late to believe.” The main character, Leslie, is a jaded bookstore clerk who is bitter about her family’s artistic ability. She feels she doesn’t have the gift and it takes a lot for her to let down her walls. She thinks it’s too late for her. She find out, it’s not, if she believes.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic?
Well, if you’re asking if the walls in my house come alive when I paint on them, no. But Leslie is someone real people can relate to. Even the fantastical beings in the book have human weaknesses and strengths.

Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?
No matter how much I want to claim they are fictional, everything I write comes from some part of me. The stories are often made up, but the people and places are things I have either experienced or witnessed. That said, my imagination can weave a world full of elaboration on just the simplest conversation.

Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?
Anne Rice’s books have been the biggest influence on my adult life. Her books helped me through some rough patches of my life, if only allowing me to live in a fantasy world for awhile to allow my brain to rest from emotional stress. Books like Cry to Heaven, Feast of all Saints, Interview with a Vampire, and Pandora are my favorite. As a child, S. E. Hinton spoke to me the most with Outsiders and That was Then This is Now.

Fiona: What book are you reading now?
My close friend’s zombie sequel. Heather Roulo is a great friend who inspires and challenges me every day. I’m excited for her first book Zombie Dome to hit shelves in April.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?
Tonia Brown is a really talented up and comer. I’ve got her on my radar. Also, on the national set—not so new, but new-ish—the awesome Shana Abe’ with her Drakon Series. I’ve never liked Dragons, but she manages to make them mysterious, modern, and sexy… if you can believe that.

Fiona: What are your current projects?
Like I said, I usually have multiple things going on, so here’s the list. I am writing a modern take on Jane Austen’s Northanger Abbey, I have a book of WWII letters I am compiling for a non-fiction book project, I have a hand full of short stories coming out soon, and at HorrorAddicts.net our newest publication, Horror Addicts Guide to Life, will be out this Spring.

Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.
Books. I feel that whenever my life was topsy-turvy, I turned to heroes and heroines in books to take me away from it all without needing permission to leave the house.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?
I do now. It’s taken a long time to get here.

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?
Sure. I don’t think you can be a writer without wanting to change things every time you read your work. At some point you just have to let it go and move on, or you’ll be editing, reworking the same title for a lifetime.

Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?
Yes, the wish to live a life outside of my own.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?
Right now, I’m working on a collaborative work with HorrorAddicts.net. It is an anthology called Horror Addicts Guide to Life and it is coming out in April. I have several articles in the book about being a horror addict in your everyday life.

Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?
I’m a creator/innovator by nature, so the tedious review, edit, review, edit process is hardest for me to endure. I want to be creating and leave the hard stuff to someone else. When you’re a writer, you unfortunately have to endure both aspects.

Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?
Anne Rice, as I said before is my all time favorite. She knows how to reach into your soul and grasp at the hidden bits. Whether they straighten out or scurry deeper into the shadows is up to you. Also, lyricist Paul Waaktaar-Savoy who is best known for being in the band A-ha. His lyrics have so much depth. I am humbled by someone like that who can put all the feelings bouncing around in my brain into words.

Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?
I haven’t travelled much yet, but I would love to.

Fiona: Who designed the covers?
A Romanian artist by the name of Masloski Carmen did the art for my Artistic License cover. I handpicked her and did the graphics work myself. It’s one of the pluses to being an author and artist.

Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?
Without giving away too much, there is a magical part of my story where time passes more slowly. It was hard figuring out ages versus our timeline here in the real world.

Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?
I find each and every story I write a learning experience. Not just from what I learn while researching, but about people, relationships, and about myself. I am a knowledge-seeker. A full-time life student, sucking up everything around me and storing it for later use, so to pinpoint one thing I learned would be impossible. I am constantly learning.

Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?
Write, read, write, read, rinse, repeat. Sure, there is talent in telling stories, but practice makes you more able to convey that message in more meaningful ways.

Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?
Thank you for coming along with me on my journeys no matter how off the beaten path they troll. I have so much fun going on them and it’s fun to have others along for the trip.

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?
I don’t know if it was the first book I ever read, but I used to love The Sleep Book by Dr. Suess when I was very young. I used to just stare at all the little people sleeping in keyholes, ships, and cups. I loved the art and who can’t like a rhyme like… “I’m going to bed now. So nobody better, Come round with a special delivery letter?”

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?
Wow… Big question. My husband is the funniest person I’ve ever known. I think that’s why we get along so well. We both have a strange, demented, often dark sense of humor. Crying is another subject. I can cry at the drop of a hat if I see or read something that touches me. As a person who is often perceived as taking in everything in stride and coolly, my internal engine is nothing like that. I am often nervous as hell when I act cool. In the same respect, I might seem like I’m not affected by a horrific accident or disaster, but later, I’ll cry about the images I couldn’t fully take in then.

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?
Yes, I’d love to go back in time and meet my ancestors. My great grandmother was an Irish woman who raised many kids. My great grandfather was a mill owner. They were Quakers and worked hard. I don’t think they would necessarily like me hanging around, asking them questions, but to see them and how they lived would be cool.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?
Pretty morbid to think of your own death, but I really would like to have a beautiful etching and for the birth and death dates to be at least 100 years apart. I’ve got so much to do. I’ll never have enough time. This is why I love the vampire myth so much. Just imagine having time to do everything on your wish list!

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?
I am an artist, crafter, and re-design maniac. Give me something I can redo or make “mine” in my style and I will be content for days. I have a naturally nervous disposition, so I must keep my hands busy!

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?
I enjoy well done shows like The Dead Files, The IT Crowd, Flea Market Flip. Anything that spooks me out, makes me laugh, or inspires me to do projects. For movies, they must be well-made horror, even if they are low budget. Classics like Dracula and Suspiria are awesome, as well as new ones with that classic feel like The Woman in Black.

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music
Chocolate, of course, and I love to go out to sushi with my bff and have teriyaki chicken and gyoza.

I love black. I know people can argue that black is not a color, but a shade. Still… black is my favorite non-color color. What I mix it with differs. Halloween orange, blood red, are usual and my new fav is dark teal.

Music is a big and serious question with me. I love everything from Jazz to Darkwave and a little of everything in between.

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?
Probably do more artwork. As it is, I split my time between the two.

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?
www.emzbox.com

Amazon page http://www.amazon.com/Emerian-Rich/e/B0034MMP40/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1424980817&sr=1-2-ent

largefrontcoverArtisticLicense

 

