IMG_3842.33

Name

Oh gosh! I always wanted to say something like: Elizabeth Taylor or something, but you all would know that’s not true! I’m Samantha LaFantasie.

Age

33

Where are you from

Wichita, Kansas

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc  

Well, I almost had a bachelors in education. ALMOST. But life, you know? So, I have three kids who are all special needs and a spouse who is helping me raise them. We have a dog named Fido and two cats (Dottie and Cinnamon). When I’m not busy wrangling children, chances are, they are in school and I’m hard at work with promotions, marketing, writing, or editing for a client.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

My latest news is Heart Song will be re-released on March 17th! It’s been a long time coming and I’m just glad to finally be able to have this chance to bring a fresh new look to the story and also get to know it again myself so that I can work on more books with the characters.


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

Hmm . . . a while ago. I wanna say middle school. I dabbled with songs and poetry, and what I would think would be considered flash fiction, now that I think about it. But nothing of real consequence until after I had kids.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

When I sat down to write a novel and discovered this passion and burning drive to get the story onto paper.


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

My first ever book was inspired by a story me and my spouse tossed around for several years. It never really grew enough to do something with until I decided that I was going to do something that made me happy. That story (of course) came to mind and I changed it three to four times before I actually finished it. It’s likely NEVER to see the light of day.


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I dunno yet. I like to think that I bring something a little different to each story I write. A different voice, different details, etc. I toy around. I’m told I write like Anne Rice and Stephen King.


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

I thought of it by the way the heart dances when someone who shares a heart song hears their loves laugh.


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Love can overcome anything if you give it a try and don’t be afraid to stand up for what you believe in.


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic?

Well, I put Cherokee and Gaelic in the book, plus some of the choreography was researched. So, not much more than that. I mean I tried to stick to real things for food, drink, way-of-life, but beyond the details, it’s pretty fantastical.


Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

 

No. I like to think that I based part of Marren and Relena’s love on my own experience with love, but other than that, nope.


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? A mentor?

The books that pulled me into fantasy was Dragonlance Chronicles by the authors Margaret Weis and Tracy Hickman


Fiona: What book are you reading now?

At the current moment, nothing. I’m getting ready to start another book that I have signed up to review called Summoned by Rainy Kaye. I’m so excited. I recently just read Conner Kressley’s The Breaker’s Code.


Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Noree Cosper with A Prescription for Delirium.


Fiona: What are your current projects?

Loaded question. Ha! I have tons. Currently I’m getting ready to publish the third novella in my Nepherium series and this fall I’ll be publishing my dark paranormal romance, The Dark Ones.

WIPs are working on the second book for Heart Song, a few short stories and novellas to go with that, and I’m still toying with a few of my previous NaNoWriMo projects.


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

That would have to be my BFF Melissa Santiago.


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Writing is a way of life for me. It’s who I am and what I do. Writing is like breathing air. It’s my therapy.


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Nope. I think it works pretty well now. I mean there are things I wanted to explore but they never made it into the book for various reasons.


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

Not really. I mean it just was. My dad used to tell me and my brother stories when we were younger and I always loved the different mediums of storytelling. I’ve always had a big imagination and used to get into trouble for telling stories instead of getting to the point of whatever I was talking about.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Samples of most of my work is on Wattpad (http://w.tt/1pDueTe)


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Yes! Usually figuring out how to start the story or how to work through a block wen I’ve written myself into a corner.

 

 
Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Two of my favorite authors are who showed me the wonder of fantasy and that’s Margaret Weis and Tracy Hickman with their Dragonlance series. I really love the complexity of the plot, the massive world building, the dynamic of the characters, and especially how they wove all these intense elements into the stories. So awesome. HIGHLY recommend those books. Start with the Dragons of Autumn Twilight.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Not really. I’ve done some traveling, but not much. Mainly because I only had one book and I was pretty much unknown, but I’ve gain some notice with my Nepherium and hope to start doing book tours and signings again toward the end of the year/beginning of next.


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

The first and second cover to Heart Song were designed by my amazing partner. The Dark Ones was designed by her too. The covers for my Nepherium series (individually) were designed by Ida of Amygdala design.


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Heart Song? Shutting off that little voice in the back of my head that said the story wasn’t good. No one was going to read it and that I was fooling myself with thinking I could even attempt being an author. Take that tiny voice!

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

Yes. I always learn something about myself and my writing. I learned not only can I write, I can be successful, and people do like my writing. I learned to relax and worry about the editing stuff after the story was written. I gained confidence in my writing and I learned what works and what doesn’t work within each story.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Don’t give up, regardless of what people say (especially the naysayers). Keep going. If this is as important to you as you think it is, you will overcome some pretty amazing obstacles to get the book written. Write what you know and don’t know. Get beta readers. Find a critique group. Research editors in advance, get to know the person and their work before you hand them yours. Constantly learn and research your craft. Know your audience. Take advice with a grain of salt unless it resonates with you because there is always going to be contradicting information.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank you. You have no idea how much you mean to me. Without you, I would just be another author with another story, but you gave me a chance and for that I am eternally grateful. I wish I could hug each and every single one of you. Each time I read about the love of my books, it keeps me motivated to keep pushing out the words, even when the words seem too out of reach.

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Unfortunately, no. –big frowny face-

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

I think pretty much the normal things that makes anyone laugh and cry. It’s pretty awesome when I can do both at the same time though. Good times.

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

Michael Jackson. He was my idol when I was younger. I love his music. It moves me and has been one of my biggest crutches growing up. He was an awesome creative genius too.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

Hmm . . . Maybe, she lived many lives through her books, but none was greater than the one she shared with her loved ones.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

Crafts! I always try to do something special for each book. I’ve done things from bookmarks, book clips, jewelry, etc. My partner is actually going to open an Etsy shop with me.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Oh! The Walking Dead, Castle, Forever, Sleepy Hollow, Supernatural, Ancient Aliens, and Unsealed: Alien Files. I miss Almost Human, Dracula, Witches of East End, and Secret Circle.

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Italian (though I’m gluten and lactose intolerant). I love orange, purple, black, and blue. I’m eclectic when it comes to my tastes in music, but I tend to lean more toward rock and metal.

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Probably have been a teacher, singer, or actress like my dreams were when I was in school.

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

I do! Go here: http://bit.ly/1AgV5hg

 

IMG_3842.33

About the Author

A Kansas native, Samantha LaFantasie spends her free time with her spouse and three kids. Writing has always been a passion of hers, forgoing all other desires to devote to this one obsession, even though she often finds herself arguing with her characters through much of the process. She’s primarily a fantasy writer but often feels pulled to genres such as sci-fi, romance, and others.

Samantha became a bestselling author with the Pandora Boxed Set (which includes Made to Forget: Nepherium Novella series–Part One) on both Amazon and USA Today.

Samantha loves to take time to enjoy other activities such as photography and playing her favorite game of all time, Guild Wars 2.

 

Want more from Samantha? Keep up with her at any of her digital hangouts.

 

Goodreads

Facebook Fan Page

Author Central

Twitter

Google+

Pinterest

Booktropolous

Linkedin

Wattpad

Instagram

 

heartsongebookusatoday

Relena wants freedom, depending on herself and not having to answer to anyone, but a betrayal takes that away. The last thing she expected was the incredibly handsome Marren to free her.

The catch?

She has to fall in love with him, fulfill a prophecy involving their heart song, and rejoin the two realms.  But Jiren, the last Ancient of his kind, isn’t convinced and will stop at nothing to maintain his throne, even if it means breaking their most sacred law.

918Fbp36QzL._SL1500_

There’s something that lies within my memory. Hidden in the dark. Something that can kill me and those that I love. But I was in an accident, covered in mystery and deception. And my memory…was lost. There are those who want me to remember. I don’t trust them.  And those I do trust…are fighting for me to forget.

Elsabetha Ellery wants to get her memory back, even if it kills her.

After waking up in a hospital with no memory, Elsabetha quickly learns those who claim to be her friend are anything but. And those who are her true friends keep themselves unseen.

Stuck with piecing together her broken memories alone, Elsa struggles with having faith in those she trusts and heeding the warnings of the dangers in recovering her memory. Ignoring them, she faces heavy consequences. Ones she doesn’t see until it’s too late, and a life is lost.

81GSqi6jDwL._SL1500_

Traitor… Liar… That’s what they call me. No one believes me. Not even my team. I know it’s up to me to get the answers. To stop the corruption and unlock my memories. I’ll do anything to get them back. Even if my hands will be covered in blood.

Elsa’s every move is scrutinized. She’s labeled a traitor by those she sought for protection, and kept from her family and team. Regaining memories has been a slow process. Too slow for the Council’s liking, taking matters into their own hands.

The new captain has history with Elsa and operates with a hidden agenda. Even Elsa’s team reacts differently toward her. If only she could unlock her memories. Everything is playing right into Alexander’s hand, even amassing an army with unconventional methods, designed to annihilate the Nepherium—starting with Noah. Elsa will do anything to stop Alexander … even kill.

Forced to Remember — Coming July 2015

The exciting, anticipated conclusion of the Nepherium Novella Series is here!

The weight of the world feels heavy on my shoulders. Desperation touches everything. Memories forgotten, truths untold. Humanity is threatened. Their safety granted in exchange for me. But I won’t go without fight.

With strange occurrences taking place in the city, it’s up to Elsa and her team to discover why. But an odd encounter at an abandoned warehouse leaves the team with more questions than answers.  Just when the team least expects it, Alexander returns, and he’s not alone or without demands: the world’s safety in exchange for Elsa. They have only one week to decide while the world falls under Alexander’s wrath and his powerful army of followers. Avalon seeks help from every Nepherium that can be spared and hope it will be enough to stop Alexander.

 

