Name A.L. Davis, but you can call me Amanda

Age 37

Where are you from

Southern California

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc  

I’m married with two boys and a ginormous Lab named Kodi. I never could figure out what kind of career I wanted. I started working at a construction office out of high school as a secretary (where I met my husband). When they went out of business I found work with another construction office in the accounting department. Been there ever since.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

My debut book is now out and I’m working on book 2 to continue their story.


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I don’t know. I was really fascinated with storytelling (just ask my sister). And I liked writing things down so I just started writing all these ideas out.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I still don’t. LOL It all goes to my editor a hot mess. Seriously, though I guess when I first had someone read the story all the way through and say, ‘You wrote that?’


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

Strangely enough, it was while I was running on my treadmill staring at the wall with my music in my ears. I was listening to Paramore singing The Only Exception and I was paying attention to the words. Suddenly it all started to hit me and I had to write it down for fear of forgetting.


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

Hmmmm… I don’t know. I kind of fly by the seat of my pants and see where the characters take me. I let them tell the story. In fact, the ending of the first book was a complete surprise.


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

I liked the song title, so I wanted to use that. And once I knew the direction things were going and that it would be part of a series, I decided to name the first one appropriately Broken. Because, let’s face it, they aren’t exactly perfect in this first book.


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Um, well, there is a part of the book where the main female lead needs to conquer a major fear. Plus, she has to muster the courage to go after what she believes to be the right thing to do. Maybe the message is to let go and trust.


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic?

Well, I guess the premise of what happens could actually happen in real life. I don’t have any mystic beings or anything like that.


Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Only the main female lead’s fear. And I still, to this day, have this fear, but only in certain situations.


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

Oh, gosh. As cheesy as it sounds, Twilight helped refuel my love of reading and writing. I thought if she could do it, so could I. And then I found the fandom. Whoh! Mind blown. I found so many terrific authors there and thought, why aren’t they writing original stuff and publishing? Well, a few of them are now and I am so happy for their success. J.M. Darhower is one of them.


Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I’m afraid to admit that I’m not reading right now. With the holiday’s and publishing and promoting all on my own…I just haven’t found the time.


Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

I’m always interested in what T.M. Franklin is up to or S.L. Scott.


Fiona: What are your current projects?

Book two of the series. I’m about 9 chapters deep.


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

Friends. Whether it be on FB or in RL, they’ve been some of the biggest cheerleaders outside of family.


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

If I could find more time in the day, sure, but for now I’ll enjoy it as a hobby.


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I don’t think so.


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

Storytelling to my brother and sister.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

I’ll share something from my book that just came out:

“I thought you weren’t home,” he smirked.

“I’m not,” I said coolly. Realizing I was staring, I quickly took my eyes off his body and turned to close my apartment door. I locked it and started to walk away. “So you can go away now.”

I tried to repeat to myself that he was only here because he’d gotten my address without permission, which made him a stalker. I tried hard not to pay attention to his beautifully perfect features or the way the sun brought out the deep, dark hue of his hair. It was hard to stay focused on making him go away when I couldn’t stop looking into his attention-grabbing, caramel-colored eyes.

“Wow, not a great way to make new friends,” he shot back, trying to match my icy tone.

Against my better judgment, I turned back toward him and bluntly stated, “I’m not looking to make any friends.”

“Good. Me, neither,” he shot back and I tried to walk away again. “But it would be rude, to Lou, if I let you walk all the way to the laundromat with that heavy basket. He said to make sure I helped you out.”

“I don’t need your help.” I said, pausing. Then I turned sharply to him and added, “No, wait. I do need your help. It would help me out a ton if you would just leave. I won’t tell Lou, so you won’t get in trouble, and I’ll get my laundry done…in peace. It’s a win-win situation all around.”

“That’s not the point,” he started and unfolded his arms, starting toward me.

Why was he walking up here?

I placed a hand on my hip, trying hard to stand my ground. He took long, purposeful strides through the grass until we were face-to-face. The air around us came alive, a wave of goose bumps burst onto my skin.

I cleared my throat before asking, “What is the point, exactly?”

“Point is, I promised Lou I’d take care of you today. And I don’t break my promises.” He pointed to the car behind him. “Let me drive you.”

I froze. His offer made my feet feel like I was wearing fifty pound ankle weights and I couldn’t move. My mouth instantly went dry and my vision blurred for a second.


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Sometimes it’s just the writing itself. I get distracted easily, so if my phone is around or the internet is up, forget about it.


Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

You ask such hard questions! LOL I have to pick just one? I’d have to say that would be J.M. Darhower. Why? Because she captivated me with her fanfic turned realfic. I loved reading every moment of that work.


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

No travel yet. Maybe in the future?


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

James Price of AEP Book Covers

http://www.aepbookcovers.com/


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

When I’d get writers block and my characters wouldn’t talk to me for a while.


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

Perseverance wins out. I was determined to finish and now I’ve created this monster. I’m still determined to get the series complete.


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Keep writing. Even if it seems like its crap, keep writing. You can always go back and revise and polish it up. Heck, that’s what an editor is for. If you don’t write it down it will disappear.


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

I hope you enjoy the book and don’t kill me. Lol Seriously, I hope everyone likes it and is hungry for book two.  

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

The first one that stuck with me was a Dean Koontz book called Watchers. I’m not going to spoil it for you, go check it out.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Laugh: I love a good comedy. Watching a good stand-up comic show. Having a good sense of humor is a key to enjoying life.

Cry: Weird things make me cry since I’ve become a mom. A silly commercial with the Budweiser Clydesdales can come on and trigger it. I don’t like to see anybody or animals getting hurt either.

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

This is a tough question. I’m not sure how to answer this.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

Other than the typical things? Maybe dreamer

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

We off road a lot. Sometimes we go camping.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

TV shows is a long list. We were enjoying SOA, but now that’s gone. White Collar, Covert Affairs, Hawaii 5-0, football (when it’s the season), The Voice.

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Food: I have a few. Burgers, Mexican food, and sometimes pizza.

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

 I would just be raising my family, hanging with my hubby, and working. I mean, I still do all those things, but I just wouldn’t be writing

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

http://justagirlsramblings.wordpress.com

https://www.facebook.com/author.aldavis

https://twitter.com/aldaviswrites

http://aldaviswrites.weebly.com/

http://aldwritings.blogspot.com/

 

51HQ5zSTJlL._UY250_

http://www.amazon.com/dp/1500810207

 

 

