Name O.N. Stefan

Where are you from: I have lived in Sydney, Australia all my life.

A little about your self, ie your education Family life etc:   I have a diploma in IT and business and worked as an IT teacher for a number of years. Also, I’ve managed a pharmacy for many years.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

Currently, I am editing my next thriller which is scheduled for release in the early 2015.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I’ve always wanted to write and dabbled a little here and there but it wasn’t until a friend invited me to her writing group that I got serious with my passion.

 

 

 

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

 I only thought of myself as an author when I published my thriller The Deadly Caress early 2014 on kindle.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

The idea came to me while reading a newspaper article about daughters trying to find their birth mothers. I wondered if I could put a twist on that idea and The Deadly Caress was born.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I have been writing in third person close but more recently have tried first person which I find more immediate.

 

 


Fiona: How did you come up with the title? Titles pop into my head all the time. I let the title mature before I know if it can be used in a full length novel.

 

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

You can overcome a loss only if you let go of your self-sabotage.

 

 

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic?

The Deadly Caress is peppered with realism as I draw my characters and plot lines from world news and people I’ve known. Some people in passing and some all my life. Often I mix characterizations from known and hardly unknown people to develop a character which is unique.

 

 
Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

My car chase scenes and accidents are drawn from events I’ve witnessed.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most?

That’s a hard one. There are many books that have influenced me, including motivational and inspirational books, e.g. Anthony Robbins, Eckhart Tolle.

 

 


Fiona: If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a mentor?

Fay Weldon and Sidney Sheldon. Fay Weldon read an early draft of The Deadly Caress and offered me some great tips and suggestions.

 

 


Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I’ve just finished the latest Jodi Picoult.

 

 
Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

At the moment, I’m reading Fatal Affair: Book one of the Fatal Series by Marie Force.

 

 


Fiona: What are your current projects?

Currently I’m editing my next thriller which is scheduled for release in early 2015.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

My computer and my writing friends some online and others a phone call away.

 

 


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Absolutely. I’ve gone past being a hobby writer as it takes all of my free time and more.

 

 


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

You could keep changing a story in a never ending loop but at some point you have to say enough is enough.

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

My love of reading. Also some books I read where I thought that I could do better. I read many different genres but mainly thrillers, mystery/suspense, fantasy and sci fi.

 

 


Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

My current story is another mystery/thriller and its current title (which may change) is Sleep Then My Princess.

Blurb: While mourning the death of her husband and son, Senior Tissue Engineer, Stephani Robbins, is plagued by recurring visions of a child being locked up in a chicken coop. Meanwhile, photos that were taken without Stephani’s knowledge start showing up in the post. As more photos appear, the police suspect that Stephani has hired someone to take these photos.  She before she can convince the police to take her seriously she is kidnapped. While imprisoned she discovers why she has been having these visions and it is more chilling than she ever imagined. Can she make it out alive?

 

 

 

Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

My current work is set in the US and I often ask myself why I did this as it’s particularly challenging to get the dialogue to sound American as I’m an Australian.

 

 
Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I can’t say I have a favorite as there are many authors that I enjoy.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

For The Deadly Caress I travelled to California and Wollongong (Australia) to research the locations.

 

 

 

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I found a good designer on fiverr.com as I was on a budget. I was thrilled with the art work the designer had created for me.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

The hardest part was the editing.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I’m learning all the time. But what I gain from writing is a deeper understanding of the human psyche.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

The best advice I ever received was to keep your behind on that seat and write.

 

 


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

I love to interact with my readers and receive feedback and reviews.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

That would be Alice in Wonderland.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

All sorts of things can make me laugh…a good comedy, jokes and funny incidents. I can cry when I write a scene when my protagonist is in a dangerous situation.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person past or present you would meet and why?

I would like to meet P.D. James.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

I don’t know. That one is for my children to decide.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

I enjoy a good show, ballet, movies and gardening.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I don’t watch a lot of TV but I do like to catch an old episode of Some Mother’s Do Have Them and Everybody Loves Raymond and occasionally, CSI and Blacklist.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music?

Any seafood except oysters will be top of my list as well as mangos, cherries and apples. Music I like would have to be classic, jazz and rock.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I would have furthered my career in IT.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

Website: www.onstefan.com

Twitter: https://twitter.com/olgaolha

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Deadly-Caress/543137822419408

 

1

Link to my book: http://www.getBook.at/B00I0DI0MY

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

