10366084_667191626707935_8310388195052259933_n

Name:   Kim Thompson aka Sunnie Day

Age 54

Where are you from

Texas

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc

I am what you call a military brat, served a short stent in the Army and then married into the military. Having lived many places throughout the years, in the end, we ended up in Texas and that is where we now call home. I have four grown children and five beautiful grandchildren. I went to nursing school after my last child started school. It was such a blessing to serve others through the years. When I retired, as a school nurse, which is when I came into my writing career. Of course I really never thought I would have a career writing, but I do enjoy it with all my heart.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

With the help of my wonderful friend Sannel Larson, who is also an author and Illustrator, we have just published our first book together, “An Angel and a Pair of Shoes”. The proceeds will go to buying an adaptive swing for special needs children in the school system through our charity “Be An Angel” charity here in Texas.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I have always written songs, poetry, and stories since I was a young girl. It was not until I left nursing that I truly took it more seriously and began publishing some of my work. Writing is so therapeutic and gives me a chance to unload my heart and mind. Most of all, I wanted to inspire others and maybe bring a smile to their faces. I do not think there is anything that most of us have not shared at some time or the other in our lives. It provids a common bond.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

That took me awhile and I still struggle with calling myself an author. I guess after my second book was published and I saw my name on the book. I thought WOW, I wrote this! I mean I must have written it, my name is on the book! I must be a writer…lol

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

When I retired we bought some chicks. I became a chicken farmer! I named them all and they became my pets. I could have never eaten them. I wrote my first book called “Sunnie and her Peeps”.  I am very happy to report I have just bought my rites back and will be republishing it soon with Laurus Publishing. There will be a new title and new illustrations. It will finally be what I had hoped it to be.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I honestly do not think so. I write from my heart and I am not sure if there is a name I can put to it. I never knew I had such an imagination until I could make six chickens talk.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

For “An Angel and a Pair of Shoes” it was my hope that everyone knows their worth and it is not how much money you have or what you wear. Believe in yourself!

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic?

Most was from my imagination but the spirit of the book and the intended message was from the children that I had met along life’s way through my school nursing days. It did not matter if they were in rags; some children had a smile that could light up a room. They did not realize they were poor or disadvantaged. They appreciated the smallest of gestures. The lessons I learned from them was invaluable.

 

 
Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

In some of my other books, I think I pulled from people I have encountered or that have touched my life.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most?

I am going to have to say the Bible. I am a Christian. This book is the most fascinating book in the entire world. Not only does it tell you how to live your life but there is not one time I have not picked up this wonderful book that I did not find new treasures every time I read it.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a mentor?

I have a good friend who I have grown to love so much and respect. His name is Mike Friedman. He helped me so much when I started writing, being not only a great friend, but such a great mentor. He encouraged me to keep going. He is an awesome PR person, forever helping many in sharing their work. He never gets enough praise for all he does. I do hope he reads this.

 

 
Fiona: What book are you reading now?

CS Lewis

 

 
Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

I do love some romantic novels with mysteries….such as Diana Gabaldon Outlander Series

 

 
Fiona: What are your current projects?

I am waiting on “For the Love of Peeps” otherwise known as “Sunnie and Her Peeps” to make its debut soon thanks to Laurus Publishing.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

I have had so many but again I have to mention Mike Friedman, Ian Clark, Nadine, and many others who continued to support me in my early career and mentor me. I feel very blessed.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Sometimes I do and then sometimes I have to take a breather as it can consume me. The part of sharing my work and advertising myself is very hard for me. I am not the best in this area. If not for my lovely friends, I may have never got my work out. Family is always first and when life calls, the writing takes a back seat.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No there is not one thing I would change. I love it just the way it is!

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

It probably started from a broken heart of some boy back in the day. You know the first love where tears pour over some poem you wrote.

 

 
Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

At this time I am just waiting for the publishing of “For the Love of Peeps”. I am very excited to see it in print.

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

I usually take things from everyday life, and if everything is stagnant or kind of mundane, I may have a dry spell. Of course…I do not wish for bad things or even unmanageable days but it does give one something to write about.

 

 
Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I do love Diana Gabaldon. I think she is brilliant and her stories captivate me. There is so much research that goes into her book and how she brings it all together is amazing.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

No I do not travel at all. I really rely on the internet.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

The last book, my friend Sannel Larson did a beautiful job. Mike Friedman has done many covers for me and then Laurus Publishing has done a couple.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

I think the hardest thing for me is to know when to end the story or fill in gaps to make it richer. I have two books “When Delilah Smiles” and “Train to Nowhere” that I wish I had added more and kept the story going. They were short reads. We should always pay attention to our reviews as that was one comment that was noted. They loved the books thankfully, but wished the stories were longer.  I did listen and will take to heart next time.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I have learned so much. Take your time; it is not a race to see who publishes the most books. Do not base your writing on how much money you will earn or you will be sadly disappointed.  It is a tough writer’s world out there. If you do make some money, try to give back or pay a portion forward.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Be gentle with yourself. Slow down and enjoy those around you. Life is too short to keep your nose glued to the computer screen. The words will get there… just breath.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

I just want to say thank you so much for all the people who have supported my work and there are too many to mention one by one. Although… Deborah Langford recently hosted Sannel and I’s first Book Launch on FB for An Angel and a Pair of Shoes. Deborah, you are so wonderful and we thank you!

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

I think it was Box Car Children.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

What makes me laugh is when my 2 year old granddaughter tries to talk to me or my husband does something silly. I love to laugh. Joy is the one thing that makes this world shine. What makes me cry is if I feel I have hurt someone, or someone is hurting and I can’t fix it. I tend to be a self-appointed peacemaker and a fixer…

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

I would love to sit with Jesus. I have so much to ask him. This world is so confusing to me sometimes. I would want to tell him how very much I love him. I would want to look into his eyes and say thank you Lord for loving me.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

Kim Thompson, a loving mother, wife, sister, daughter, and friend.  Love is the one thing that matters. Without love, then we may as well hang it up and call it a day.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

I love to sing and I like to grow things.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I am not too much of a TV watcher. I do love romantic comedies, and musicals. My favorite of all time is The Sound of Music.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

My favorite food is Asian, Sushi especially. I love the color Teal, and I love old soft rock from the 1970’s.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I did it, nursing but we do own our own business so I am also a package and shipping person! I feel like I am quite good at too. I can pack pretty fast on a good day. LOL

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

http://www.sunniedaysgracefulintentions.com/

1656372_10152558371832772_6140270255422298297_n51qMbwGp8KL81pKHRE8bbL._SL1500_814K1cf2PyL._SL1500_

