10687052_1441586052747656_1736497325142705090_n

Name : Gabrielle Dela Cruz

Age : 24

Where are you from:
Manila, Philippines

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc

I studied Business Management because the slot of Mass Communication Arts was full (lucky me). I was a former copywriter for different websites and got tired of it since I really want to write stories. I’m a single girl living with my brother, mom, a cousin, a white poodle and countless adopted cats.

 

 
Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

My debut novella was just released and it’s the first volume of an annual YA series of novellas called A Halloween Romance, which will be released every month of October. The volume one’s title is Teenage Love Spell and it follows the life of fifteen year old redhead Caitlyn Cross, who has very strong powers as a witch which she is resisting to use against the kids who are constantly bullying her in school. Her only refuge is Angelo, her crush since fourth grade.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I began writing when I was eight years old, mostly short poems and was creating magazines and showing them to my mom. I realized my passion when I was about 10 years old and joined the school’s writers’ guild. I got my poem published in the school paper as a winner in a contest and I published silly little poems and short stories on FictionPress.com.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Hmmm, I guess that would be when I first got paid for my writing… when I was 22 years old.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

My first book is actually a novel and it’s on my editor Theg Arderner’s hands right now. My first release though is Teenage Love Spell. So anyway, going back to the question… the inspiration came from imagining two sisters being different from each other, complete parallelism. I wanted the good one to be very good and the bad one to be diabolic. Then I started thinking of how I can make it happen… so I gave them powers that completely oppose each other.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I guess every chapter on my books has an important event happening, since I don’t want to bore my readers with three chapters of a woman still in her house contemplating her life.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

My first novel (which I’m keeping secret for now.) was a series of writing down different words in my mind and piecing them together. Teenage Love Spell though, was harder to think of and was considered final after three days. The original title is supposed to be “He’s Under My Spell” but someone has it already.

 

 

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

For my novella, the message I want to tell the world, especially the kids who are being bullied or feeling like outcasts, is that all they have to be is themselves and they don’t have to impress other people. Real happiness can be found in just being yourself, being genuine, because at the end of the day, no matter how much you try to change yourself for others, you’ll always come back running to who you are and you’ll know who really loves and appreciates you for being you.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic?

The setting and emotions are realistic although the heroine has powers.

 

 
Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

It’s loosely based in my life because I too, was bullied in school. I’m a transgender woman who was studying in a Catholic school exclusive for boys, a kid bullied me but what’s worse was the teachers and Principal, were the ones who made my life a living hell. My dad even almost got to the point of suing the authorities because of how they treated me for being different.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most?

To be honest, a Pocahontas middle-grade book that my dad bought me when I was about eight.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a mentor?

Hmm.. that’s a really hard question because I read a lot of different genres but, I guess the writer I really connect with is Candace Bushnell.

 

 
Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I’m reading The Soulkeepers by G.P. Ching.

 

 
Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

There are plenty in Wattpad.com that I really enjoy.

 

 
Fiona: What are your current projects?

I’m currently writing a trilogy of novellas about a very handsome merman that every woman will fantasize about. (here’s hoping.)

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

I guess writers online. They’re a great support system.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

It’s my passion and I don’t see myself in any other career other than it.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

It just started, I have yet to think, maybe after some years. (I hope I don’t regret anything though.)

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I don’t really know how but my mom said that my dad is a frustrated writer but he ended up as a lawyer. Maybe I got it from him, who knows?

 

 
Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Hmmm, my current work will involve Bermuda Triangles, Atlantis and a whirlwind romance.

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

I think when I get writer’s block. It’s so hard to get out of it.

 

 
Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I guess Bushnell. I’m a huge fan of Sex and the City, both the series and the book.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Not really, although I use some of my trips to fill out and describe scenery.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

The cover of Teenage Love Spell: A Halloween Romance Vol. I was designed by a very good friend and upcoming brilliant artist named Sho Anabeza.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

The plot, I kept changing it. I think I scratched three outlines before finally having the final one.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I learned to experience how it feels to fall in love for the very first time again.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Hmm… some writers online asked me how I finished my book… I always tell them this, set yourself a deadline and a daily word count plus outline your books before writing it. It’s how it works for me.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

I dedicate this book to all the mini witches out there who, like me were bullied in school. (Trust me, I know how it feels to be made fun of and an outcast.). I also dedicate this to all the transgender women around the world, especially those who are still too young to understand, yet mature enough to find the courage to find themselves. I want all of you to keep dreaming; hold on to every imagination you have and never let any one, any thing and any time in the world stop you.
Channel your inspiration and let it compel you to do great things.

 

 
Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Tom Sawyer.

 

 
Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Laugh would be absolutely anything. (I’m very easy.) Cry… well that’s a little more complicated unless I guess, if I feel really hurt emotionally.

 

 
Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

I guess that would be Jesus Christ, I’m a devout Catholic.

 

 
Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

I seriously cringed after having this read. I guess it would be something like “The voice of bullied kids around the world.”

 

 
Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

I’m obsessed with watching films, doodling and eating chocolates.

 

 
Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

My favorite movies are The Godfather, Confessions of a Shopaholic, Breakfast At Tiffany’s, Charade and Angel-A (A French film.) TV Show, I only have one on repeat and that’s Sex and the City.

 

 
Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Even though I’m trained to like rice, I love American food and their junk food. (I’m a rebel.) Colors would be black or beige and sometimes teal. Music… absolutely everything except metal rock. (I don’t even know how that’s called.)

 

 
Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Maybe interior designing.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

My blog is www.gabrielledelacruzdaily.blogspot.com (Please feel free to follow)

Thank you so much for this lovely opportunity Fiona. More power to your website.

-Gabrielle

811Rt0-UacL._SL1500_zweet

