63373_435133509822_2726107_n
Name Carrie-Anne O’Driscoll
Age 35
Where are you from-
I‘ve actually lived all over the US. I was born in Irving Texas and we moved to Burkburnett Texas when I was young. Then we moved to California, Montana, Washington, Georgia, South Carolina and Virginia. In 2010, I came full circle and returned to Texas.
A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc
I am a domestic violence/sexual assault survivor. In 2010, I wrote my first book, The Worm Fiasco- A True Portrayal of Domestic Violence. My niece was murdered in 1999 at the age of 20 months and that is the focus of my second book, Last Kiss- The Life and Death of Ka’Tara Gallagher is based on her.
In 2011, I applied to the Panhandle Regional Law Enforcement Academy. Graduated in March of 2011. Have been a peace officer since that time.
I am happily married. Jim and I celebrated our 10th anniversary this past St. Patrick’s day. We have two tween sons, Chandler and Liam.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?
Latest news? I earned my National Speaking accreditation last month at the Wisconsin Victim’s of Crime Conference. Since that engagement, I’ve been requested to speak in several radio interviews, and at several conferences.

 

 

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?
I began writing poetry in high school. I had a teacher, Mrs. Lemley-Quilico who encouraged me to write. She said I had “an impressive command of the language.” I wrote steadily until October of 1999. I wrote my niece’s eulogy and didn’t write again until 2010. That turned into The Worm Fiasco.

 

 

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

To be honest, I can’t say I am comfortable with the term “writer.” I am many things. I am a cop, an educator, a survivor, a person who writes to educate others, a stellar fundraiser, and a total clown. However, when NYT Bestselling author James Rollins acknowledged me as a writer, I think it sunk in a bit.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?
My attempted murder and the attempted murder of my oldest son when I was six weeks pregnant with him. It was a horrific case of domestic violence and the only time he’d hit me. Once I mended physically and spiritually, I decided that I had to do something positive with all of my pain. I needed to warn others. I need to speak up and be heard!

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?
I do. It’s graphic. It’s blunt. It’s horrifically descriptive and it’s me. I‘m told that The Worm Fiasco is a difficult read because it’s so illustrative and real.

 

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

The Worm Fiasco is a funny story. I had gotten to the point that I didn’t even like to say my batterer’s name. So I quit. I began calling him “Worm.” Why? Because men that hit are spineless and low to the ground. Seriously.
Last Kiss is a more painful choice. My niece, Ka’Tara, was 20 months old when she was killed by child abuse. Her real mother was 16 when she was born and she left because she couldn’t handle the responsibility. My mom and I cared for her and she grew to be like my daughter. In early October of 1999, we took a trip to Billings, Montana to see other family. While we were there, I’d taken K.T. to the mall. We bought the Benefit for the Kosovar refugees on a CD. Pearl Jam’s version of Last Kiss was on it. She LOVED that song. Ironically, the words of the song are, “She’s gone to Heaven so I’ve got to be good, so I can see my baby when I leave this world.” Gave her the Last Kiss on October 31, 1999. She was an angel that Halloween.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?
Both books tell of true nightmares that I lived through. One was the abuse and death of my niece and the other was the abuse of me. I tell these stories in the hopes that readers will think about their current relationships. Am I being controlled? Are my children being hurt? Where did that bruise come from?
I simply want people to learn from my mistakes and live happier and healthier lives.
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic?

 

 

 

I changed the names and the locations in The Worm Fiasco to ensure that Worm got no money off of it. I believe I’ve given him enough.
Last Kiss is 100% true but I have changed the juvenile names to protect their privacy.

 

 
Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

It’s all me and my family. Every step. Every tear.

 

 

Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most?
Oddly enough, I’ve researched the Kennedy assassination since I was 8. Mark Lane’s Rush to Judgment was pivotal in that. I was also fascinated by The Talisman by Stephen King. When I was pregnant after The Worm Fiasco occurred, I was on bed rest. Mom used to bring me books. One of them was Subterranean by James Rollins. I’ve been hooked ever since.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a mentor?

I really respect Rebecca Cantrell. Her writing is extraordinary and so unique. Her Hannah Vogel series does a magnificent job of capturing what it was like to be a woman of learning and notoriety in Nazi Berlin. It really showcases the struggle of women back then. Her Joe Tesla series weaves American history with Nazi Berlin in an awesome way. I won’t even go into the Sanguine series she’s written with Rollins.

 

 
Fiona: What book are you reading now?
I am RE-reading Sandstorm by James Rollins. I think it’s the third time I’ve re-read the Sigma series.

 

 

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?
Actually, I’m not a huge romance reader but Kerrigan Byrne and Tiffinie Helmer have managed to keep me interested. Kerrigan writes about my Celtic fascination and Tiffinie’s take place in Alaska. I miss Montana and that’s close enough!

 

 

 

Fiona: What are your current projects?
I’ve been fundraising for our local volunteer fire department. I am also co-writing a book about a 20 year old cold case in the UK from 1994. A six year old boy was murdered. Hs mother was tried and acquitted and they’ve never looked for another suspect. The mother enlisted my help back in April.

 

 

 

Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.
My “adopted” GrandPa Jim. He is the detective who was handcuffed to Lee Harvey Oswald when he was shot by Jack Ruby. I met him in 1994 and he’s always been a huge influence in my life. He took late night phone calls when Ka’Tara was killed and again when Worm appeared. We stopped talking about the Kennedy assassination around 2000 and we’ve just been “family” since. He supported and encouraged my decision to become a cop. He was one for 25 years so he knew what was getting into.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?
No. I see writing as a calling much like the call I received to be a cop. It’s what I am supposed to do.

 

 

 

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?
Nope. Can’t say that I would.

 

 

Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?
It was an outlet for my moody teenage personality.

 

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?
Yes. It’s on the murder of 6 year old Rikki Neave of Peterborough UK. A horrendous case of child abuse allegation, black magic and murder. It’s intense.

 

 

Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Honestly, no. I’ve written a novel and I am scared to death to publish it. That’s ALL me. MY ideas. MY creativity. That frightens me. Yet, I have NO problem telling the world that I was beaten and raped by my ex –husband in graphic detail. Who knew?

 

 

Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?
I love Edgar Allen Poe. He’s so dark and macabre. Thomas Moore, the Irish poet, is phenomenal. Brad Thor is very up to date on current political concerns so I read everything he’s written. Of course, James Rollins, Rebecca Cantrell, and tack Grant Blackwood onto that stream as well. He co-wrote The Kill Switch with Rollins and it’s amazing!

 

 

Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?
I’ve been all over Texas speaking and recently branched out nationwide.

 

 

Fiona: Who designed the covers?
The Worm Fiasco was designed by the publisher. I don’t care for it but it does the job.
Last Kiss was designed by a Spokane, Washington artist named Jeremy Vermillion. His talent is unparalleled. He certainly did my niece justice. He’s on facebook if your interested.

 

 

Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?
The Worm Fiasco was hard reliving the abuse and torture. The degradation.
Last Kiss was a challenge because I wrote it from the case files. That meant going through autopsy pictures and seeing what was done to that little girl. That was the hardest journey I’ve ever taken.

 

 

Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?
Yes! People NEED to hear these stories and they appreciate the fact that I’ve told them. I’ve shared these horrible incidents in my life to prevent them from going through it in theirs.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?
Write what you know and love. It allows you to be passionate about the project.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?
Yes! Buy the books and NAPSTER them. Share them again and again and again. If I could donate copes to every library on Earth, I would. These messages are that important. I’ve never been in this for money or fame. I just want my story known.

 

 
Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?
Yes. Who Shot Abraham Lincoln. I was 6. Yes. I was a nerd!

 

 
Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?
Auto correct makes me laugh until I cry.

 

 
Fiona: Is there one person past or present you would to meet and why?
Actually there are two. Queen Elizabeth the second because she is by all given rights the prime example of the “independent woman.” Secondly, Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis because she too survived more tragedy that anyone should and she still came out a winner. I really respect that.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?
I enjoy photography. Our Palo Duro Canyon has kept me enthralled for four years! I also enjoy shooting. Tool of the trade.

 

 
Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?
I don’t watch much TV at all. When I do, it’s Hell’s Kitchen. Movies? There are simply too many to name. Suffice it to say that if John Cusack, Liam Neeson, Ewan McGregor or Gerard Butler on it… I am on it!

 

 
Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music
I love Mexican and Greek cuisine I know. Odd combo. My favorite color is forest green. I listen to all music except Rap. I’m convinced the “C” in Rap is silent.

 

 
Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?
Well, I am a cop and certified crisis advocate in the state of Texas. Not sure what else I could do.

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?
My website is http://www.thewormfiasco.com
I am on Goodreads.
My Twitter name is DeputyDriscoll
Facebook fan page is C.A. O’Driscoll
I have Youtube videos on each book by title.

Books can be bought from me by searching: The Worm Fiasco and Last Kiss Special 2 for $30. Will ship internationally. (Special promo from the Publisher for the Wisconsin Conference.)

batdepmeme-300x268scan0006_crop3-199x300

