10250060_455917361220314_1565870829661597679_n

 
Name Meredith Wild
Age 32
Where are you from

I grew up in the Midwest, but I now reside in New Hampshire with my husband and three children.
A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc

I’m a thirty-something mother of three. I’ve spent the past decade running various Internet businesses. I refer to these as my “day job.” I hold a bachelor’s in English from a quintessential New England college, and I am horrified daily by my inability to find my own typos. My days consist of begging to sleep in, then launching myself into a flurry of kid-related obligations and day job work. My nights consist of spending time with my real life hero and figuring out how to create more hours in the day to write!

I prefer beaches to mountains, chocolate to vanilla, and Internet to TV. That said, Trueblood, Shameless, and Game of Thrones give my life purpose. In my spare time, of which I have none, I like to do absolutely nothing, preferably on a pool raft with a refreshing adult beverage in hand.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I’m in the process of writing Hard Limit which is due to release before the end of the year.

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?
I began writing fiction in January of 2013. After reading quite a bit in the romance genre, I decided to pen my own story—one I would want to read.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I got the idea for Hardwired after seeking out a high profile tech CEO for professional advice on one of my recent startups. I was a nervous wreck leading up to the call, but once we got talking, I was shocked at how approachable and helpful he was considering all of his success. He also had a really sexy phone voice. A few days later, inspiration struck and I started writing again. Hardwired began after a false start with another story that I’d shelved a couple months prior.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

I understand that women read in this genre in large part for the fantasy aspect, but I enjoy building on that fantasy by portraying heroines who are modern, successful, sexually aware, and not so easily swept away. I’m always tackling other themes too, like gender roles, power play, and healing. I think these keep the relationships a little more interesting and the struggles more real. I hope that my readers walk away feeling empowered and aroused.

 

 

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic?

There are bits and pieces of my soul in the heroes, the heroines and even the bad guys of my stories. That said, at the end of the day my characters are purely fictional, imbued with physical or personality traits that might be inspired by any number of people or experiences that have come into my life. Rarely is a character or a situation a representation of a single person or experience.

 

 

Fiona: If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a mentor?

I’ve never really had a mentor, but rather tend to find myself in mentoring roles. Those relationships hold a set of lessons all their own. I look up to many of the authors of our time who have made a life of writing great fiction—Stephen King, Anne Rice, Sylvia Day, and countless others.

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone

 

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Helen Hardt, Ella Frank, and Mia Sheridan are a few of my current favorites.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Absolutely. I’m very lucky to be able to support myself and my family with my writing.

 

 

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No. I could reread and pick it apart, but at some point you have to let the story go, put it out into the world, and move forward.

 

 

Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Writing in the first person through an entire series is a challenge. I try hard to keep Erica’s internal dialogue fresh and relatable. Dual perspectives is much easier, I feel.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?
Not much, but I do occasionally take an afternoon trip to different places around Boston to scout out locations for scenes for The Hacker Series.

 

 

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I design all of my own covers.

 

 

Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Finishing it under a soul-crushing deadline. I love to write, but writing under intense pressure has its pros and cons. The book was finished, but I probably took a couple years off my life to make it happen.

 

 

Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

Don’t publicize any more soul-crushing deadlines.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?
If writing is a dream you have, fight for it. Let the laundry pile up. Give your kids candy for breakfast if it gives you an hour to write. Carve out the time for yourself, because no one else will. If I had known what serious writing would do for me, I would have started fighting for it a lot sooner than I did. I think the first step to success is believing that you can do it, and that you deserve the space and time to do it. Make time, even if you aren’t convinced you deserve it. Get the story out, at all costs! Tell the demons to STFU and just write.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?
I LOVE my readers! They keep me going, and they make this wonderful journey all the more exciting with their encouragement and support. I can’t wait to share more stories with you! 😀

 

 
Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

I make jewelry and of course I am an avid reader! I also really love graphic design and tinkering with websites.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Trueblood, Game of Thrones, House Hunters International

 

 
Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Fried Chicken / Green / Alternative

 

 
Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Probably teach English or creative writing.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

http://www.meredithwild.com

 

HardWired_548x800HardPressed_548x800HardLine_548x800