Name  Ruth Cardello

Age: I’ll be 29 again this year!

~~~

Where are you from: Northern RI

~~~~

A little about your self `ie your education Family life ect :

 I’ve lived in Paris, I’ve lived in New York and I have lived in Orlando, FL.  Although I went far away, I ended up one town over from where I was born.  I received my masters in education right before I left the field to pursue writing full time.  I live on a small farm in Northern RI with my husband, 3 children, 2 horses, 2 dogs and 2 cats.  I couldn’t ask for a happier place on Earth.

 ~~~~

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I just released Breaching the Billionaire: Alethea’s Redemption which is book 6 in the Legacy Collection.  I thought I could end the Legacy Collection with six books, but I’m leaving the door open for more. I have outlines of novellas I’d like to add to the series and I get requests for more characters to find love. I am working on a spin-off series about the Andrade Family.  I’m hoping to release book 1 in late March/early April 

You can find a link to all of my books on Amazon by visiting my Author central page here:

http://www.amazon.com/Ruth-Cardello/e/B005HZXDKW/

~~~~

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I have always written for the pleasure.  I don’t remember a time when I wasn’t dreaming about characters and the lives they would live.

~~~~~~~~~~

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I have always considered myself a writer but it was only after my stories started selling that I considered myself an author. 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

Maid for the Billionaire was born on a dare.  I was waist deep in a sci-fi romance whose plot was melting my brain when a friend of mine asked me if that was the type of romance I preferred to read. I told her that I’m much more cheese-tastic than that. Give me a rich, hot man in an exotic place any day. She dared me to write three chapters of my dream alpha man and Dominic was born.

~~~~~

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

When I read, I prefer romance and escapism—so writing in this genre was a natural fit for me.

~~~~

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

I thought Maid for the Billionaire was kind of humorous and at the same time kind of sexy

~~~~~

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

My stories include a strong family theme and often address characters who need to learn to forgive themselves and each other.

~~~~~~~~

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic?

My stories are over-the-top, escapism romantic reads with high drama, fun dialogue, and just enough sex to satisfy. All of my books portray confident, sometimes arrogant, billionaires.  In Maid For the Billionaire, Dominic Corisi is your classic, alpha male who sweeps Abby Dartley off her feet and takes her on a wild adventure in China.

 

Each book is a separate romance that is set in the same “world” but is told through the perspective of the main couple. Readers say that they love the characters, hate them, want to shake them and eventually laugh and cry along with them – all the while rooting for them to find a happy ending.

 

~~~~~~~~~
Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

All of the characters have elements of people I know. I try to take one or two characteristics that I admire and then I put them into a larger than life character.

Dominic has a bit of my husband in him.  I am married to a retired Marine.  I find strong men who are gentle with women and children to be incredibly sexy.

~~~~~~~~~~

Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most?

I grew up hiding Harlequin romances within my school book. They gave me the love of dynamic characters finding happy endings. To this day, I am a sucker for a good happy ending.

~~~~~~~~~~
Fiona: If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a mentor?

Annette Blair

~~~~~~~~
Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Finding Freedom – Book 4 of the Piper Anderson Series by Danielle Stewart

~~~~~~~~
Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

There are too many new and wonderful authors for my Kindle to be able to handle.  My one-click finger is over worked and luckily my husband doesn’t see my credit card.

~~~~~~~~~~~

Fiona: What are your current projects?

Currently, I am working on Book 1 of the Andrade Series.  If all goes as planned, I am hoping for a late-March / early-April release.  You’ll also see glimpses of the characters from the Legacy Collection in my new series.  

~~~~~~~~~

Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

RIRW is my local chapter and it has filled my life with many wonderful authors.  I have also connected online with some amazing, supportive authors. I wouldn’t even know where to begin because there are so many supportive author groups.

~~~~~~~ 

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I was lucky to be able to quit my old job as a teacher in 2012 and have been writing full time ever since.  

~~~~~

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I would not change a single thing.  I had so much fun writing Alethea’s Story.  Marc Stone was the perfect hero for her.  I love the characters in my Legacy Collection and being able to bring them all together, resolving old issues, and redeeming Alethea were the exact elements I wanted in this book.

~~~~~~~~

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

I am currently writing book 1 of my new series based on the Andrade family.  I am almost finished with it and  I hope to have an excerpt ready to share soon!  

~~~~~~

Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

When I get stuck in a point in my book, I will go back and read it from the beginning.  Or I will call a friend and talk out the scene that I am working on – that usually helps me see what is or isn’t working.  Sometimes it is just a minor change, like what the character is doing with their hands. 

~~~~~~~

Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I don’t have one single favorite author but I do admire Danielle Stewart.  Not only is she my niece, she is also a great author.

I also love Sable Hunter – She’s spicy and gives a fun read.

I have too many more to mention here but if you drop by my Facebook page, Ruthie Recommends, I try to give a shout out to all of the new authors that I discover and fall in love with. 

~~~~~~~~~~~
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Having a very busy writing schedule keeps me home quite a bit.  I do try to attend at least 1 -2 book events per year. This year I’ll be at:

North Shore Author Signing on April 12th in Peabody, MA

http://northshoreauthorsigning.wordpress.com/

RT Booklovers Convention on May 13th-18th in New Orleans

https://www.rtconvention.com/

Romance Writers of America 34th Annual Convention on July 23rd-26th in San Antonio

http://www.rwa.org/conference

~~~~~~~~~~~
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I made my very first cover myself and received constructive criticism from at least three continents.  Calista Taylor very kindly stepped forward and re-did my cover for me and I loved it.  I used her for all of the covers in my Legacy Collection. 

Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

The hardest part about writing my book is closing my laptop at 4PM everyday.  I have a family and young children and it is important to me to balance my life but sometimes the story is going so well that I wish I could write until 2am.  When I started this adventure I promised my husband and my family that our time together wouldn’t change.  And luckily, it hasn’t changed too much– the only changes are wonderful ones.

~~~~

Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

Each book requires a certain amount of research and I love learning about technology and some of the characters in my books are actual people.  In Bedding the Billionaire, Carmen Sonnes is a real artist and in Saving the Sheikh, Caroline Thelemaque is a real woman who advocates for the empowerment and education of women in Haiti and around the world.  Both women were inspiring to work with.

~~~~

Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Don’t forget that your best promotion is that next book that you’re writing. You worked hard to gain your reader base, to keep them you have to put out new works on a regular basis. Keep learning. Keep writing. Keep reaching.

~~~~~~~~
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

I am so grateful every day to my wonderful readers.  Without them, none of this would be possible.  Their support, feedback, and enthusiasm mean the world to me. 

~~~~~~~~

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies

I used to say riding my horses before I adopted my youngest. Now most of my free time revolves around her. However, during those rare times when I have time to myself and I’m not writing – being outside with the horses is still one of my favorite places to be.

~~~~~~

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching

I enjoy watching Through the Worm Hole, Strip the City, and How It’s Made – I’m a closet science geek.  I also watch the Colbert Report and Jon Stewart regularly.

~~~~~~~~

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Chinese/Green/Country

~~~~~

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done ?

If I weren’t writing full time, I would probably still be a kindergarten teacher. 

~~~~~~

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? if so what is it?

Website: http://www.Ruthcardello.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ruthcardello

 

Twitter: @RuthieCardello

