Name: James Glass

Age: old enough to creak in the morning

Where are you from: New York City

A little about your self `ie your education Family life ect :

James: I spend much time commuting back and forth between central Pennsylvania and the city. Amtrak is the closest thing I have to extended family at this point.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

James: The release of The Dispossessed: book 2 of the Metatron Mysteries

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

James: I began writing decades ago, I believe because I was tricked into it if memory serves.

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

James: I still don’t consider myself a writer.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

James: The story sprang into my head one day and wrote itself, more or less.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

James: Neo-noir hardboiled paranormal mystery. I made that up.

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

James: I have a terrible habit of thinking up excellent story titles and writing them down, then forgetting them until years later. In this case the title popped back into my head when I began writing the story, so the usual process was skipped.

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

James: There are elements of this world we cannot see, nor do we truly want to see.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic?

James: Not too much, I fear. The places are real enough, the supernatural elements I can neither confirm nor deny except to say no angels were killed in the process of writing the story.

Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

James: The various travels of the main characters are very real – to an extent. I have fictionalized places, such as the diner in NYC, etc. for sanity’s sake. Other places I left intact in the hopes tourism will bring them more customers.

Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most?

James: Liber Null & Psychonaut by Peter J. Carroll and The Sandman comics by Neil Gaiman

Fiona: If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a mentor?

James: A very difficult question, as most writers I know are already wonderful mentors to one another. I feel blessed in knowing so many and being able to ask questions as they surface.

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

James: Re-reading, actually. The Tower by Suzi M.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

James: Quite a few. Jaime Johnesee, Allison M. Dickson, Patrick Greene, Armand Rosamilia, Bryan Hall, to name a very few.

Fiona: What are your current projects?

James: The third book of the Metatron Mysteries: The Resurrectionist, as well as a collaboration with another author on a horror story.

Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

James: An entity? I dare not speak the name, lest I summon it unnecessarily.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

James: I enjoy my day job, so writing might be a night job career.

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

James: Nothing at all.

Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

James: It just always was there, lurking in the recesses of my mind.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

James: Here you are, a passage from The Dispossessed (book 2 of the Metatron Mysteries):

Today was Cherry’s day off, unfortunately, and Smith was hungover. It was a bad day all around, and the sudden request to meet with him from out of the blue did not bode well for any chance of an improvement to the day or Smith’s mood. The door jingled as it opened and a dark shape entered the diner.

Koth slid into the booth, taking the seat across from him and Smith glanced at his watch then stared at the demon. He was early. One thing Smith had learned about angels and demons, they were always exactly on time. Smith became suspicious and took in the demon’s appearance.

It still took some getting used to, even though Koth was one of the more ‘normal’ looking of Hell’s minions… for what that was worth. Most of the demons sent topside tended to resemble a 1940’s hardboiled detective thanks to Hell’s use of old black and white Noir films as a training device for getting the demons to ‘fit in’.

“Buddy, you look rough,” said the demon by way of a greeting.

“Yeah, thanks. It was a long night.”

Koth stared at his clawed pale gray hands and fidgeted.

“You’re early. Why?” Smith asked, irritation creeping into his voice.

Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

James: Keeping the characters on point. Many times they like to stray.

Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

James: It is impossible to choose just one author. My preferences change from day to day – sometimes minute to minute, so it would be a disservice to try to choose just one. What I like is a story that grabs me from the first page and carries me over the threshold to the end.

Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

James: Not yet. Most of my travel is for my day job.

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

James: Robert Cook of Norot Art.

Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

James: Making the story that was in my head translate into the written page so that others might also understand it.

Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

James: I learned that a great editor is more valuable than gold.

Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

James: Keep your day jobs, this will ensure the story you write is because it is the story you want to write, rather than a story you think someone else wants to read. Write the story and readers will find it.

Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

James: Thank you very much for reading my work, and an extra special thank you to those who took the time to write an honest review.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies

James: Many, but none I would mention publicly. (Grin)

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching

James: American Horror Story, X-Files, Sleepy Hollow, Community, Haven, and Eureka

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

James: Foods: too many to list, Colors: Indigo and black, Music: industrial and classical.

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done ?

James: I am already doing it, and for that I am most fortunate.

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? if so what is it?

James: Yes, you can find me here: http://sekhmetpress.wordpress.com/the-authors/james-glasssuzi-m/

 

