Name Suzi M

Age: old enough

Where are you from: New York City

A little about your self `ie your education Family life ect

Suzi lives with her husband, son, and house panther in the wilds of Pennsylvania. When not writing she enjoys reading, spinning yarn, and knitting lace. She has also released several stories and novellas under the names Xircon and James Glass.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?
Suzi: Working on several new projects, one is the next installment of the Murdered Metatron. The most recent works are ‘The Vampire of Plum Run’ written as James Glass, and my story ‘Blood in the Water’ was just released in the Wrapped in Red vampire anthology.

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?
Suzi: I started writing in high school. Come to think of it, I wrote NEMESIS, the first book in my Immortal War series, in my senior year. My writing came about as a side effect of my English teacher trying to coax me to use a new technology: a laptop. Man, that makes me feel old as hell.

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?
Suzi: When it became clear that calling myself an ‘epic storyteller’ left people confused.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?
Suzi: My 12th grade English teacher, though I have to admit my intention was not to write an entire novel at the time.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?
Suzi: I have several specific writing styles, it just depends what name I’m writing under at the time.

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?
Suzi: Going with the main character’s name for the title seemed like a good way to go.

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?
Suzi: Yes and no. Depending on the story, sometimes it’s just a story. Since I have several novels and novellas, it’s hard to choose just one and say ‘This is the message’ because each reader will infer his or her own meaning from the work, regardless of what I might say. If someone contacts me to discuss my work, I’m happy to discuss their interpretation versus how I felt about it, but I won’t spoonfeed my readers.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic?
Suzi: Again, depends on which book or novella we’re talking about. For example, my post-apocalyptic novella ‘The Lazarus Stone’ (written as Xircon) was very much realistic. I put a lot (maybe too much) research into it to the point I have a pretty decent description of how to build a functioning fallout shelter. My vampire novels feature formerly real places in New York, but it was a landscape that existed well over a decade ago. A lot has changed since then.

Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?
Suzi: I never kiss and tell.

Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most?
Suzi: Wuthering Heights is one of my all-time favorite books. I’m also a huge fan of old Gothic literature. The Monk and Castle of Otranto are fantastic.

Fiona: If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a mentor?
Suzi: I don’t know if I would consider anyone a mentor, per se, but as far as influences go I would rate Stephen King, Ann Radcliffe, The Bronte Sisters, HP Lovecraft, and Edgar Allan Poe all in the top spots.

Fiona: What book are you reading now?
Suzi: I’m reading a few. Monster in the Box, and A Guilty Thing Surprised – both by Ruth Rendell, re-reading Liber Null & Psychonaut by Peter J. Carroll, Dr. Sleep by Stephen King, and The Rise and Fall of the Nephilim by Scott Alan Roberts

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?
Suzi: Quite a few, actually. Jaime Johnesee, Kat Yares, Armand Rosamilia, Cherie Priest, and Patrick Greene, just to name a few.

Fiona: What are your current projects?
Suzi: So many projects! The new installment of The Murdered Metatron series is in progress, the next volume of Second-Hand Sarah, edits to a new novella, and the mumblings of a third installment of The Murdered Metatron series.

Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.
Suzi: Nemesis.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?
Suzi: It would be nice, but I’ll keep my day job, too. It’s not everyone who gets to do something they love.

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?
Suzi: That would be The Murdered Metatron, and I would have specifically dedicated it to my mother.

Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?
Suzi: It started as writing a journal, then notes in class, and finally novels and stories in the evenings.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?
Suzi: It’s still in first draft form, so unfortunately it’s not ready for human consumption just yet.

Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?
Suzi: Writer’s block. It’s horrible.

Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?
Suzi: That’s a tough one. I can’t pick just one. I enjoy authors who bring more to the table than just doom and gloom, I like a little depth, a little comedy, and some horror. I’m not a big fan of everyday kinds of horror, however. I prefer it to be fantastical rather than something that CAN actually happen.

Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?
Suzi: I don’t get out much.

Fiona: Who designed the covers?
Suzi: I have had the pleasure of working with several excellent cover artists, as well as designing some of my own covers here and there. The artists I have worked with are Shawn Conn, Robert W. Cook, and Jeffrey Kosh.

Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?
Suzi: Depends on the book. In the Immortal War series books, it was a lot of exorcising my inner demons. In The Lazarus Stone it was doing the research and writing about the very realistic threat of a nuclear apocalypse. I think the hardest part of The Murdered Metatron  was figuring out the best walking routes to places using Google Maps and my own memories of places (then discovering how much those places had changed since last I saw them).

Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?
Suzi: I learned during the writing of The Lazarus Stone how to build a working fallout shelter, how close I live to a giant target, and that if there is a nuclear assault I don’t think I actually want to be a survivor.

Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?
Suzi: You need to love writing and not jump into it because you think you’re going to be the next big thing. If you go into it with the idea that you’ll make a fortune, you picked the wrong creative outlet.

Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?
Suzi: If you have questions, feel free to ask. Other than that, thank you for reading. Be sure to leave a review (and this isn’t just for my work, but for anyone’s work you read). Believe it or not, I do read the reviews and take thoughtful, constructive criticism to heart.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies
Suzi: I spin yarn – literally. I knit and crochet, and I love to read to my son.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching
Suzi: Adventure Time, American Dad, Ghost Mine, Paranormal Witness, Sleepy Hollow, American Horror Story, and Duck Dynasty.

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music
Suzi: As far as food goes, it depends on my mood. A good penne a la vodka or eggplant parm is pretty much heavenly, though. My favorite color is indigo, and my favorite style of music is industro-goth.

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?
Suzi: I’d have liked to have worked in the film industry in some capacity, be it set building/painting, audio production, or makeup artist.

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? if so what is it?
Suzi: Sure do. The blog is at http://suzi.typepad.com and I’ll list the Amazon Author pages below:

Suzi M Amazon Author Page: http://www.amazon.com/Suzi-M/e/B003TTLGP2/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_pop_1

James Glass Amazon Author Page: http://www.amazon.com/James-Glass/e/B009K6RSG4/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_pop_3

Xircon Amazon Author Page: http://www.amazon.com/Xircon-Z/e/B005N099QS/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1383102350&sr=1-1

