Name Colin R. Parsons

Age 51

Where are you from: The Rhondda Valley in South Wales UK.

A little about yourself `ie your education Family life ect

I’m married to Janice Parsons for 27 years in January 2012 and have two sons; Kristoffer and Ryan. I work a full-time job, which I hate. I have my own publishing company in which I publish my own work only. Tallyberry Publishing.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I write this Q&A with a fractured wrist which I did on a book-signing weekend December 17th 2011. I signed 70 books in Waterstones bookshop Basingstoke UK and came back a day later to Wales where I went straight to hospital and literally got plastered. I’m hoping to release my sixth book in 2012 ‘Crank Tech One – Destination: DESTRUCTION.

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I was in my early thirties when I picked up a pen and started writing short stories.  Time just melted away when I really got into it and nothing before that or since has had the same effect.

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

In 2003 I sent a short story to an online publisher called Crystal Serenades Publications (now defunked) and they loved it and published it on the net. It was the first thing I had reviews on, and at that point I knew I was a writer. I wrote another 26 stories and they were all put online. They later produced an anthology book and one of my short stories was included.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

My wife and I were called into my son Ryan’s Primary School.  His English teacher told of her concern that Ryan was slipping behind in his English. She’d read all my short stories and suggested I write a book that my son would read and I did, a book on wizards.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I think every writer has a specific style. Mine is easy flowing and not too difficult for challenged readers of all ages. It’s also enjoyable, exciting, fast paced and intricate.

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

I simply tapped in Wizards Kingdom into google and looked at the results. There wasn’t a book at the time called that. There were variations, but not precisely the same.

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

No, not really, just read and enjoy fantasy.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic?

None of it, I’m a fantasy author.

Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

No.

Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most?

Lucky Man – A biography of Michael J. Fox (the actor). The Fry Chronicles – A biography of Stephen Fry (the everything)

Fiona: If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a mentor?

Kenneth Oppel, a Canadian author of fantasy fiction.

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Skulduggery Pleasant by Derek Landy.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Neil Gaiman, Alex Scarrow.

Fiona: What are your current projects?

A steampunk novel – a supernatural novel and a sci-fi novel.

Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

Mrs Hall the primary English teacher that read my stories and pushed me to write my first book.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yes, definitely, but in this current recession of 2011-2012 and so on, it must be viable.

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No, the feedback of my recent series and my successful book-signings tell me that.

Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

Writing competitions at primary school. They took me to another world and that’s where I want to stay.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

It’s a secluded house that once you’re inside, you can’t escape. It’s filled with trap doors and clock-work devices and filled with excitement.

Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

The tedious task of going over and over my work until it is as polished as it can be.

Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Kenneth Oppel has an imagination that has no boundaries. His work is fascinating and yet thrilling and exciting.

Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Yes; up and down the UK in bookstores, libraries, schools and institutes.

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Derek Jones, a fantastic artist from South Wales in the UK.

Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Always the hardest task for me is finishing my work. The ending is always a mystery, until I come across the solution of finishing the adventure.

Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

Enjoy the writing as much as the reader enjoys the reading.

Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Write what you want to write and don’t be swayed into writing what’s on the market. I learned that from Philip Pullman (an interview he once did).

Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

The only reason I write is because I still enjoy it. I hope my readers still enjoy reading my adventures and I’ll continue writing until I can’t.

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done ?

Oh, the tricky question, I think an artist if I were any good.

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? if so what is it?

www.colinrparsons.com (being upgraded)

www.facebook.com/colin.r.parsons

http://www.twitter.com/colinrparsons

