Steve Christie.

48

Aberdeen.

Originally from Aberdeen.Moved to Edinburgh about 18 years ago.Attended Jewel and Esk Valley College where I studied Applied Consumer Studies.Married with 2 kids and a Border Collie.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I have the book launch for my first novel Good Deed coming up on the 4th of October in Glasgow.

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I used to write short stories for my kids many years ago, but this is my first full length novel.

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Probably when I saw my book advertised on my publishers website.Strange seeing your name on the actual cover.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

After many years of thinking about it an Idea suddenly came to me, I started writing, it grew legs and just took off from there.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I write crime fiction with lots of action scenes thrown in.I have loads of sub plots going on that you might think I’ve forgotten about but they all tie up in the end.

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

I saw a saying written somewhere.”No Good Deed Goes Unpunished”.It certainly doesn’t for one of the characters in the book.

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Some people never give up.Never assume they will.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic?

Its all entirely realistic.Its set in Aberdeen, Glasgow and Edinburgh and many places in between.Real places, believable characters and highly plausible crimes taking place.

Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Not any particular ones but I do know of some people who have found themselves in similar situations.They know who they are.lol

Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most?

From a writing point of view.Probably The First Chronicles Of Thomas Covenant by Stephen Donaldson,He took the fantasy genre and turned it on its head.The main Character, the hero just didn’t want to be there, It showed me that if writing in a particular genre you don’t have to stick to the rules

Fiona: If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a mentor?

Hard to say.Its Scottish crime fiction so obviously Ian Rankin would be up there.Ive always enjoyed his novels and like the way he almost makes Edinburgh as much a character in his novels as Rebus himself.

 Fiona: What book are you reading now?

The latest Jack Reacher novel by Lee Child.A Wanted Man.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Not lately as I have been busy on my second novel.It takes up a lot of my time.

Fiona: What are your current projects?

I’m currently working on the second D I Buchanan novel.Working title Cold Shot.It takes place In a particularly harsh winter in the weeks leading up to Christmas in Aberdeen.

Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members

Obviously my publishers, Ringwood Publishing for taking a chance on a new author.Particularly Sandy Jamieson the MD and my Editor Joanne Durning.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I hope so! But untill the royalties come in I still have to work elsewhere.

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Nope! Im very proud of what I,ve accomplished.Ask me again in a few years when I have some more books under my belt.lol

Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I,ve always had a great fondness for reading.I got that from my father, he always had his nose stuck in a book.Somewhere along the line I thought, Im going to have a go at that, and I did.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Joe put on his gloves and went to work, Buchanan watched him hover over the dried husk of the body poking and prodding with various instruments from his case, occasionally with a puzzled look on his face, sometimes with a knowing nod to himself.

Buchanan knew not to rush him, so he stood back and lit a cigarette, tapping the ash now and again into the portable ashtray he kept in his pocket. He always used it at a crime scene, the last thing he needed was to drop the dog end on the ground, only for it to be collected as evidence, and lead to wasted resources chasing up a saliva sample that belonged to him.

Joe finally stopped leaning over the boot, stretched his back with a sigh and looked at his pocket watch.

Looks like he’s finished, thought Buchanan.

Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Im not too hot on grammar and spelling.Thank goodness for editors.

Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Hard to pick one.At the moment its Lee Child.Love the action scenes.I read an interview with him lately where he said he loved writing his character into corners and then figuring out how to get him out of there.I like doing that myself.

Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

I will have to soon.Cant give away too much info though.

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

It was my idea for the front and back then it got polished off by the designer.

Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Finding the time to actually write.I work a lot of hours.When an Idea hits me I take note of it right away but then I have to find the time to type it into the manuscript.

Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

If the Idea and story is good then its not as hard to write a novel as you may think.

Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Never give up.If you think things are going nowhere fast, take a breather.Once you give yourself time to think things over I find that things becomes a lot clearer.

Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Buy the book.I guarantee you wont be disappointed.

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done ?

Run an animal sanctuary.

Fiona: Do you have a website/blog if so what is it?

I do have a blog where you can read my first three chapters.

http://stevechristieauthor.blogspot.co.uk/

